We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Location, Location Location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of citizenM New York Times Square

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
citizenM New York Times Square
Ranked #23 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Mississauga, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Location, Location Location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2014

The best hotel location ever! the best break fast EVER! The hotel is so good you really feel like home. a Walking distance from the times Square and lots of other attractions.
I liked their very small room, It's sort of a representation of Scandinavian space management.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Asem A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
citizenDiego, at citizenM New York Times Square, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Hi "Asem A",

Loved reading your review, it helps us to keep going with motivation and enthusiasm.

I look forward to welcome you back soon.

Diego
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,508 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,818
    555
    90
    30
    15
See reviews for
303
1,387
217
269
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (382)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kiev, Ukraine
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2014

I highly recommend the hotel for its excellent location and friendly service. The hotel is near the Broadway theaters and walking distance from art museums and NY Central Park. The only minus is that the room is two small for two people, but was just ok for me alone.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Zhanna123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
citizenDiego, at citizenM New York Times Square, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Hello "Zhanna123",

Awesome, thanks for spending your time in New York staying with us. We did use our budget of what could be huge room on the biggest bed, free wi-fi, amazing shower, contemporary living room and a great rooftop, our cloudbar.

Looking forward to welcoming you again soon.

Diego
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2014

The people at CitizenM are on to something with their take on "affordable luxury". I stayed for 3 nights with a friend and we had a very positive experience.

Staff are mostly young, friendly and very accommodating (ie. the lounge upstairs was just closing when we arrived - a staff member suggested we go to the downstairs bar, where we were comped drinks (we didn't find this out until later - nice). The service is prompt, but with a laid-back atmosphere (almost like being in someone's home - smart, CitizenM).

Upsides: 1. pay the $16 USD a day for the breakfast option - hot and cold food options, and incredible lattes to order - really worth the price to fuel up for the day. 2. super-groovy design inside 3. centrally located (although Times Square is far from my favourite place in NYC, I can't argue with being mid-town, and within a 1 min. walk of 2 subway stations 4. the staff: happy, happy! (everyone we talked to truly loved working there, which really comes through in how they treat their guests) 5. loved the fun features in the room - the mood pad, pod washroom & super-comfy XL King bed

Not-so-upsides: 1. Stepping over someone to go to the bathroom in the middle of the night (the beds are right under the window, cruise-ship style) 2. Lack of privacy in the room - as cool as it is, it is super small....

So if you and your snuggle partner are in no need of privacy, or you're travelling as a single - do not hesitate! Become a Citizen!

Room Tip: nothing - they are all the same
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tvl_14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
citizenDiego, at citizenM New York Times Square, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Hello "tvl_14",

Thank you so much for sharing your citizenM experience with fellow travelers on TripAdvisor.

How you described about our Ambassadors is exactly our intent, which is to bring a genuine friendly atmosphere that you would have at a friend's house, this is the New York extension of your home. The coffee? No breakfast is breakfast without a great barista made Latte, happy you liked it.

I understand your comments regarding the room, and respect them. While many find them a refreshingly nice & fun, we all have different preferences, not everyone will appreciate the layout.

Hope to see you back, and that you become a citizen.

All the best!

Diego
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2014

Hotel is very modern and has a gym, launderette and an amazing roof top bar. The advantages are very comfortable king size beds in the rooms, nice interior, easy to use tablet control of all room needs (temperature, TV, etc.) and the rooftop bar with an amazing view and a perfect location. The disadvantages are that the rooms are quite small, the hotel does not provide breakfast, but you can easily go to any restaurant in times square; and that the roof top bar closes at midnight. Other than that, I would highly recommend this hotel, the staff is also very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kyskulia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
citizenDiego, at citizenM New York Times Square, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Hello "kyskulia",

What's New York without a beautiful rooftop view? Happy you enjoyed it. Our rooms are indeed smaller than traditional hotels but considering the premium price for the space in Times Square, we gave back in functionality and comfort, offering a rate that's more affordable than other hotels in the area. So just like in our houses, the citizenM living rooms have enough space to lounge, work & eat, with style. Breakfast option can be added to your reservation or choose a la carte each morning, whatever time is your morning. canteenM is open 24/7.

Wish you safe travels!!

Diego
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Godalming, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2014

Couldn't have wished for a better location to stay in New York. Everywhere was within walking distance or the metro. Staff was extremely helpful and very friendly. the room was clean and had free wifi.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sonja S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
citizenDiego, at citizenM New York Times Square, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Hi "Sonja S",

It makes us extra proud to read your review, thanks for staying with us and sharing your experience. Hope to be welcoming you back here in New York City soon, or closer to you at citizenM London or other European cities.

Safe travels!

Diego
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoffman Estates, Illinois
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2014

Excellent location, just a few minutes walking to times square, Roquefeller Center, subway stations, etc.; It has a super modern decor. The room was the smallest room I have ever been but you have everything you need in that small space. The technology it has (you control everything with a tablet) the super modern decoration and excellent service compensates the size of the room. It has a roof top bar and tables and chairs outside. Great view from there!.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Esbeidi G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
citizenLance, Manager at citizenM New York Times Square, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Hello Esbeidi G,

I appreciate you took a moment to review and us. And very happy to read you had a good time with us. So glad you got to experience the roof top bar. We are fortunate to have so much outdoor space and those views.

Hope you will return soon.

citizenLance
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudson, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2014

Having traveled and stayed in many hotels and motels this was one of my favorites. The staff went above and beyond to see that we had a great stay. I would recommend it to anyone who wants to venture to New York. We felt safe staying out til way after dark here. A short walk to the subway, theaters, restaurants and Times Square.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheryl2858
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
citizenLance, Manager at citizenM New York Times Square, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Hello Sheryl2858,

So happy to hear you liked citizenM New York Times Square. I am especially glad to hear that the team made your visit even better. We are excited that you would recommend us and hope you will be coming back to see us soon.

citizenLance
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Pearl Hotel
The Pearl Hotel
#15 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,286 reviews
Midtown
The Michelangelo Hotel
The Michelangelo Hotel
#37 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,244 reviews
Midtown
Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Sanctuary Hotel New York
Sanctuary Hotel New York
#60 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,864 reviews
Midtown
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
#13 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 817 reviews
Midtown
The French Quarters Guest Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to citizenM New York Times Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about citizenM New York Times Square

Property: citizenM New York Times Square
Address: 218 West 50th Street, New York City, NY 10019-6702
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — citizenM New York Times Square 4*
Number of rooms: 230
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in iconic Times Square, just off the corner of Broadway & 50th, citizenM New York offers 230 boutique rooms in the heart of the theater district. Come for a piece of cultural notoriety and stay for the anti-jet lag rain showers and free Wi-Fi, free movies, hi-tech MoodPad tablet to control every detail of your room, super chic lobby spaces designed as Vitra living rooms, an on-site MENDO library for perusing or purchasing, 24/7 dining and cocktailing at canteenM, a quiet mezzanine terrace, fully-equipped gym and yoga terrace, and the skyline showstopper: an exclusive rooftop bar, cloudbar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your citizenM New York Times Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing