We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Truly Amazing!!"”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
citizenM New York Times Square
Ranked #22 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Nashville, Tennessee
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“"Truly Amazing!!"”
Reviewed June 26, 2014

From the moment we walked into citizenM to the time we left, our stay was unbelievably fantastic. We entered the hotel and were greeted by extremely friendly employees. They stored our luggage while we went to City Hall to obtain a marriage license. When we returned the room was ready and we were escorted to the room that is so contemporary (which we love). In the room, we were presented with a bottle of wine, sweets, and a message congratulating us on our marriage. We later had drinks at the lobby bar and met many of the employees. We shared stories and were made to feel that we were part of the citizenM family. As our trip progressed, everyday the amazing staff greeted us with "good morning," " enjoy your day," and "welcome back." A special thank you goes to Mohammad, Abel, Christina, Leah, Zack, and Stephanie. You guys rock. We will definitely stay at citizenM again. Hopefully soon! Simply said, "Amazing, Fantastic, Wonderful!"
Phillip and Harry Nashville

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Harry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
citizenLance, Manager at citizenM New York Times Square, responded to this review, June 27, 2014
Hello Harry M,

Thanks for writing about us. I remember your visit and when you & Phillip shared your wedding cake with everyone here (it was delicious by the way). I so much appreciate you recognizing the team members who make this special occasion so memorable.

You are absolutely a member of the citizenM family. See you on your next visit.

citizenLance
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,781 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,035
    602
    95
    32
    17
See reviews for
352
1,535
240
299
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (404)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 26, 2014

We recently spent 6 nights at Citizen M as we celebrated my 50 th Birthday in NY.
This hotel was totally First Class. Bright, airy , modern and totally chilled - that's the staff, the lobby, the bedrooms and the atmosphere ! Young , energetic , knowledgeable helpful staff who literally never sat down ! These young guys & girls are constantly on their feet helping people , giving advice etc. The check-in procedure is a breeze, as is checking out. This hotel and its ethos is a breath of fresh air compared to older stale traditional hotel chains.
The location is perfect. The bedrooms are not enormous but having been on numerous cruises we know that its quality not quantity that matters and this hotel is Quality. My wife and I would definitely recommend this hotel to all our friends and relations and would certainly stay here again.

Room Tip: All rooms identical. Only difference is front or back. We were at back on 17th floor and had a great...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jcsjohnny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
citizenLance, Manager at citizenM New York Times Square, responded to this review, June 27, 2014
Hello jcsjohnny,

Thanks for your review. citizenM has found that many of today's guests are looking for something new. Not just different for the sake of being different, but offering an experience that fits how we live today. I am glad to see our concept connected & resonated with you.

Look forward to seeing you on your next trip.

citizenLance
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2014

We stayed here for 6 nights, and absolutely loved it! Greeted with a warm welcome as soon as we arrived, the hotel/rooms are extremely modernised, all the room functions are controlled by a hand held device pad, very easy to use. very clean room, more than enough space, comfy bed. as you can expect times square is extremely crowded, right in the heart of it, and within walking distance to everything. did not hear a thing once we was inside the room, so don't be put off because of noise levels. surrounded by restaurants and shops, can be pricey for food, but what city isn't?! overall a fantastic experience, cannot wait to go back!

Room Tip: use the computer and printer in the hotel to print of maps of your chosen destination
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank matthew789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
citizenLance, Manager at citizenM New York Times Square, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
Hi matthew789,

Very kind of you to take some time to write a review and share it with us and other readers. Especially happy that you enjoyed your citizenM experience. Next year, we will be opening a fantastic new citizenM at Tower Hill in your home town. Hope you get a chance to visit there.

Look forward to seeing you on your next visit to New York.

citizenLance
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2014

We stayed at this hotel for 6 nights Last week, i can honestly say it's a fun and modern hotel within the heart of New York. Located just off times square it makes the perfect place to experience the city that literally never sleeps. The rooms are compact, modern and full of everything you need. All room accessories such as lights, tv and air conditioning are controlled using a small samsung tablet device, which is great and interactive. You can set lights to your desired mood, and change the art work on the walls.

The hotel has a small reading area on the ground floor, a gym, Mac computer suite and rooftop bar. There is bar located on the ground floor with a lounge area to watch tv if you wish and a small canteen. The staff at the hotel are always there to help, they take notice of every guest entering and leaving the hotel, always wishing you a good day in the city.

Location wise you couldn't ask for more, there are theatres and restaurants everywhere and your very close to the Rockefeller centre, central park, 5th avenue, empire sate and many more attractions. There is a subway located just next to the hotel, which will take your direct to downtown, where you will find the ground zero memorial/museum and the statue of liberty ferry port (south ferry).

I would highly recommend this hotel if your looking to be in a busy and fun part of new york!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jade e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
citizenLance, Manager at citizenM New York Times Square, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
Hi jade e,

Thanks your review. It's important to know how we are doing. So glad you enjoyed your stay. We are very fortunate that not only does our location offer so much, but it is so easy to get to other places from here too. Your recommendation is valued & appreciated. Thanks.

citizenLance
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2014

We just spent 4 nights at the Citizen M. From the moment we walked in, we felt comfortable and pleased. The staff were all wonderful whether at the desk, at the breakfast counters or the rooftop bar. I told the waitress I didn't like a lot of liquor in my drink and it was perfect! By the way, we got a voucher for 2 free drinks upon our arrival. The bed was huge and very comfortable. I loved the pouffy duvet and puffy pillows. The room was small but it didn't matter. Location was great! Walking distance to everywhere. Close enough to Times Square to enjoy and far enough to have a quiet sleep. My only "complaints" are that the shelves for our clothes etc. were all open. I would have preferred closed drawers. Also, the only amenities were soap and shampoo. I would have liked some conditioner, body lotion, shower cap and Q-tips. But, we definitely recommend this hotel and would stay here again. It is a fun place and the staff were all terrific.

Room Tip: We had a room at the back so it was quiet. The view wasn't great but it didn't matter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank skymark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
citizenLance, Manager at citizenM New York Times Square, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Hi skymark,

Thanks for giving your feedback to us & others about your visit. Sounds like you enjoyed your time here and that's great. Thanks too for the nice compliment about the team.

Look forward to seeing you next trip.

citizenLance
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
1 review
Reviewed June 24, 2014

We stayed for 6 nights at the hotel. The location is very good with convenient transportation close.
The rooms are small, but very nice and clean and with a good use of the space.
The best is the big and extremely comfortable bed. And the rooms is well sound isolated.
A practical small refrigerator in the room, with fresh water each day.
A nice sky bar during summer.
The price is of course high, but not compared to rest of Manhattan.
Would definitely stay here again if we return to New York.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank H L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
citizenLance, Manager at citizenM New York Times Square, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Hello H L,

Thanks for your review. Your feedback is so important. Glad you enjoyed your week here and so happy you felt we are a good value. New York is an expensive city. We price ourselves so we can honor our creed of "affordable luxury". As you noted, though the prices are high compared to other destinations, we are generally positioned well (price) compared to our neighboring hotels.

See you back soon

citizenLance
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London UK
Level 5 Contributor
96 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2014

Firstly good things- Comfortable bed- huge built in bed, lovely big room and lovely big shower.
Great roof top bar although wasted on my husband who is afraid of heights. Bar is quiet as it is residents only.
Great impression as you walk in the Lobby- airy and cool with a mezzanine floor.
Staff were poorly trained and inexperienced. We asked one how far FAO Schwarz, the famous toy shop was as we wanted to pick up some presents for our kids back home- he had no idea what it even was! Husband met the Cocktail Consultant (Mark?!) and he was very knowledgeable and totally helpful- the rest of the staff seemed like children compared to him!
However, if you don't want to be in tourist central and surrounded by crowds and fast food joints and hustlers offering tours etc, don't stay in Times Square! We hated the area and just wanted to be either in Brooklyn or in Chelsea/Tribeca/the West Side the whole time.
It had a feel of a kind of sex hotel overall (not that I have ever stayed in one!). The red and black colour scheme, garish nylon carpets, the anonymous service and the 'mood lighting'. When we clicked on 'Movie' on our mood lighting page on the tablet room controls, the blinds closed and about 8 different porn films came up on the Wall mounted TV- with graphic pictures. We are not prudes in any way, but this wasn't what we expected for our romantic weekend in New York at $780 for 2 nights. We also had breakfast one day- it was GROSS. The frittatas were okay, but the 'Applewood Chicken Sausages' were a complete insult- dry, synthetic and horrible. Overall, this place is like a slightly cooler version of a hostel, not at all budget luxe as billed. We will be returning to NYC in a few months but would rather spend a bit more if necessary and stay somewhere like the Standard in Chelsea or the Wythe in Williamsburg and be in a neighbourhood where we could just walk out and grab a drink or dinner somewhere cool rather than having to Uber or subway everywhere. Incidentally Uber is an amazing way to get round NYC.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SMCLT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
citizenLance, Manager at citizenM New York Times Square, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Hello Maudey,

Thanks for taking some time to share your experience with us. I am very sorry that you didn't feel comfortable while staying here. We are not a sex hotel. Yes, there is a bit of irreverence in our art & decor and we do tend to poke fun at the hotel industry's norms sometimes. But we never intended to offend and if we did, our apologies.

One of the great things about New York City is that each neighborhood has a particular character. Times Square is busy and bustling with shoppers and theater goers, as well as business people and tourists. Our location on West 50th is a block or two up from the heart of the area. Many guests find our location desirable as you can take advantage of what the area offers, without walking out the door and being inundated. But it is not what everyone wants. We are building a 2nd New York citizenM in the Bowery/Lower East Side and that experience will be influenced by that community.

Maybe you will stop by there if your travels bring you back to the area.

citizenLance
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Pearl Hotel
The Pearl Hotel
#21 of 467 in New York City
2,359 reviews
Midtown
Archer Hotel New York
Archer Hotel New York
#19 of 467 in New York City
2,914 reviews
Midtown
The Time New York
The Time New York
#76 of 467 in New York City
357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Michelangelo Hotel
The Michelangelo Hotel
#37 of 467 in New York City
3,465 reviews
Midtown
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
#13 of 467 in New York City
964 reviews
Midtown
Sanctuary Hotel New York
Sanctuary Hotel New York
#72 of 467 in New York City
4,001 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to citizenM New York Times Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about citizenM New York Times Square

Property: citizenM New York Times Square
Address: 218 West 50th Street, New York City, NY 10019-6702
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — citizenM New York Times Square 4*
Number of rooms: 230
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in iconic Times Square, just off the corner of Broadway & 50th, citizenM New York offers 230 boutique rooms in the heart of the theater district. Come for a piece of cultural notoriety and stay for the anti-jet lag rain showers and free Wi-Fi, free movies, hi-tech MoodPad tablet to control every detail of your room, super chic lobby spaces designed as Vitra living rooms, an on-site MENDO library for perusing or purchasing, 24/7 dining and cocktailing at canteenM, a quiet mezzanine terrace, fully-equipped gym and yoga terrace, and the skyline showstopper: an exclusive rooftop bar, cloudbar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Agoda, Cancelon and HotelsClick so you can book your citizenM New York Times Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing