We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Awesome Trendy Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of citizenM New York Times Square

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
citizenM New York Times Square
Ranked #28 of 479 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Awesome Trendy Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

We were very excited to stay here for three nights on our journey back from London and a Paris. My husband had never been to New York, I couldn't have picked a better hotel. Reasonbly priced for such a great location in Times Square. It is away from major busy traffic of people. Bed was very comfortable, loved being able to close our window curtain by tablet ( made room dark and helped us snooze off our jet lag) loved the overhead rain shower and changing led colors of shower. Room is very small, recommend two people per room along with small luggage. Hotel itself is fun with all it's citizenM saying around hotel and outstanding waiting "lobby" area. Staff is extremely helpful and welcoming. Highly recommend this hotel and we will be back!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kayla T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
citizenLance, Manager at citizenM New York Times Square, responded to this review, June 15, 2014
Hi Kayla T,

Thanks for sharing your experience with others on Tripadvisor. I hope you saw the big, oversized drawer under the bed to help store your luggage. If not, our bad! We should have left it a jar for you to find. Thanks also for reviewing your impressions in such detail.

We look forward to having you back soon.

PS – we have hotels in London & Paris too…maybe on your next trip.

citizenLance
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,058 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,477
    464
    77
    28
    12
See reviews for
239
1,124
185
218
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (335)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014 via mobile

Liked : the email before you arrive with useful tips location,weather and other info and confirming booking
High speed free internet for multiple devices eg smartphone ,iPad etc in the room and throughout the hotel
Great breakfast self serve lots of it ,hearty good value.
Very good value for NY
Location excellent steps from subway entry
High geek value with in room smart Samsung control for room functions such as temp,entertainment ,v cool music choices (or your own just plug it in)
Perfect for the solo or couple traveller (s) moving fast. (Channel George Clooney "Up in the Air" Jason Reitman quality make of Walter Kim novel made in 2009)
What's not to like... A little offhand if you are a boomer used to obsequious hotel attendees however Gen X and Y won't even notice.....overall very good and would stay again if travelling solo.

Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
3 Thank Matthew P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
citizenLance, Manager at citizenM New York Times Square, responded to this review, June 15, 2014
Hello Matthew P,

Thanks for sharing your experience with others. Excited to read you would return. Our design concept is not intended to target a specific generation. We are trying to appeal to what we see are the growing desires of today’s traveler. You spoke about the Wi-Fi and the good values which we find are of paramount importance. We have also placed a priority on design and art. We have put this in place in response to countless amounts of feedback we here from travelers all over the world.

citizenLance
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014 via mobile

Overall- can't wait to stay here again. As a hospitality designer, I've followed CitizenM for a while and was so excited to stay at your first NY location. Her is some constructive feedback:

- Having no hair conditioner (was confused by the two different shampoo types), lotion, q-tips, and ironing capabilities is super annoying. As a women who travels, I try to pack all my beauty essentials, but I consistently rely on the basics above.
- Mood Pad was not sensitive enough to touch- was sometimes difficult to wake up from "sleep" mode
- found it difficult to put on a "normal" tone of lighting without having a multicolored atmosphere (which is not good for putting makeup on)
- Could not believe that there was no "grab and go" items, fruit, or to-go breakfast containers available. I thought that's what CitizenM was known for! After prepaying for the hefty $16 breakfast, I checked out at 7:45 and needed to meet with a client shortly afterwards. I felt like an idiot when the staff told me all they had to offer me was a plastic bag to accommodate my "on the run" need (which definitely couldn't hold anything that was offered at the buffet). Major inconvenience...
-Menu boards in the morning reflected dinner offerings from the night before, which was strange and a little unappetizing
- I was asked for my credit card a total of 3 times- when booking online, when checking in, and when checking out. I didn't have any additional charges to worry about and thought it was inconvenient to physically take my card out that many times.

Overall I love the design and hope it stays up to the heavy wear +tear well. Really liked the integrated sink unit!

Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
4 Thank LawSF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
citizenDiego, at citizenM New York Times Square, responded to this review, May 2, 2014
Hi "LawSF",

Thank you for taking the time in sharing your experience with fellow travelers on TripAdvisor. I appreciate that you have been following our brand and finally made it to staying with us here in New York City.

Your feedback is very welcome, New York is a milestone for us and we can only succeed by having an open communication with guests staying here, in addition to great service, beautiful space and of course no hidden costs. We are here to bring an alternative to the overpriced hotels in Times Square with style, but also substance. Luxury where it counts is our motto.

- In each room you will find citizenAM & citizenPM shower gels, specially developed by the 'nose' who was also responsible for creations by Comme des Garçons, Viktor & Rolf and Helmut Lang. Most often travelers bring own lotion and conditioner to their preferences while we offer them downstairs for sale if needed. A great iron is available upon request, which we can bring to your room.

- The moodpad is designed to be responsive and intuitive but is still being tweaked, for which we are very sorry if it did not live up to your expectations. The moodpad offers an option to turn off the moodlights, so that you have a more natural white lighting. Although tests were made, we understand we need to make the controls more intuitive. An alternative is to use the regular wall switches.

- You are absolutely right about the breakfast, it's a valid point which our F&B team is taking onboard. Same for the menu boards, which should reflect the relevant information for each time of the day.

- As regarding the payment process, it's our bad, you should have not been asked at check-out if you did not have any additional room charges. We do understand the inconvenience of asking the credit card multiple times, and we are working on a solution to make a seamless process.

All that said, I'm very happy that you still enjoyed your experience overall. Be assured that we took your feedback seriously, to improve the service we offer.

Wish you safe travels and all the best!

Diego
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

The hotel is very eeasy to find and the lobby is very cool. The hotel uses technology really well and check in was very easy! The Room is small - you certainly wont be doing aerobics in there but was more than ample for what I needed and the location is great - very central and easy to walk everywhere. Times Square is really busy and touristy so I would recommend getting away from there! The room is spotless and the bed is really comfy and it is nice to relax and watch a bit of TV on it (although the view is of the building opposite). I rang reception to ask for an iron which arrived promptly and the rest of the service was to a high standard. The idea of having the tablet to control everything is nice and modern. All in all a very good experience and I would certainly return!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sixtoedcal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
citizenLance, Manager at citizenM New York Times Square, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Hey Sixtoedcal

Thanks for sharing your experience with us & others. Appreciate the comments about the cleanliness & service. Those are staff driven and the team works hard. Thanks for recognizing them.

See you soon.

citizenLance
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014 via mobile

Stayed for three nights. Clean and comfortable. Rooms are small but modern and with a huge window. The best is the rain shower. Another traveler said the room reminded her of a spaceship. I thought of a hotel in Japan or a small cabin in a cruise. The internet is fast and the food is healthy and reasonably priced. It is almost next door from the subway line 1. Location is excellent. Close to theaters, and a few blocks to Columbus Circle and Central Park. Privacy in the bathroom can be an issue .

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank JaxLatino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
citizenLance, Manager at citizenM New York Times Square, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Hello JaxLatino,

Thanks for your nice review. Glad you enjoyed the room and especially the shower. Between that and the large king sized bed and wall to wall window, we hope the room worked for you, size notwithstanding.

See you back soon.

citizenLance
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunbury, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
82 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

lets cut to the chase. beds huge, comfortable. rooms small, and I mean small (we didn't visit to live in room though) location (if you are a tourist) excellent. Metro (subway) right outside the hotel. Dunkin Donuts and Subway right outside hotel (convenient for coffee, which rooms didn't have). Only on demand movies we could pull up were porn (reported problem). Staff friendly. if you like the theater district and times square, this is good. if you like larger rooms with more room amenities, look elsewhere. bottom line, comfort of bed, price and location will have us back.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gary f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
citizenLance, Manager at citizenM New York Times Square, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Hello gary f,

Thanks for sharing your stay and so glad to hear you will be coming back. You described things very well and happy you appreciate our pricing philosophy. Our goal is to provide an affordable luxury experience...hope we succeeded.

See you again,

citizenLance
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

First of all, from a tourist point of view, the hotel is in a great location.
Secondly, the rooms are being controlled by a single tablet, which is easy and fun to use.
The lights and music are all controlled and there are great playlists to enjoy.
My girlfriend and I had an amazing time there!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
5 Thank Ido C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
citizenLance, Manager at citizenM New York Times Square, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Hi Ido C,

Thanks for taking a moment to share your stay with us and other readers. Really happy you had a good time and hope you tell all your friends!

citizenLance
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Pearl Hotel
The Pearl Hotel
#17 of 479 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 2,142 reviews
Midtown
Sanctuary Hotel New York
Sanctuary Hotel New York
#45 of 479 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 3,689 reviews
Midtown
The Michelangelo Hotel
The Michelangelo Hotel
#43 of 479 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 2,772 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
#11 of 479 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 578 reviews
Midtown
Casablanca Hotel Times Square
Casablanca Hotel Times Square
#4 of 479 in New York City
5.0 of 5 stars 5,023 reviews
Midtown
Archer Hotel New York
Archer Hotel New York
#21 of 479 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 2,191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to citizenM New York Times Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about citizenM New York Times Square

Property: citizenM New York Times Square
Address: 218 West 50th Street, New York City, NY 10019-6702
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 479 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — citizenM New York Times Square 4*
Number of rooms: 230
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in iconic Times Square, just off the corner of Broadway & 50th, citizenM New York offers 230 boutique rooms in the heart of the theater district. Come for a piece of cultural notoriety and stay for the anti-jet lag rain showers and free Wi-Fi, free movies, hi-tech MoodPad tablet to control every detail of your room, super chic lobby spaces designed as Vitra living rooms, an on-site MENDO library for perusing or purchasing, 24/7 dining and cocktailing at canteenM, a quiet mezzanine terrace, fully-equipped gym and yoga terrace, and the skyline showstopper: an exclusive rooftop bar, cloudbar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your citizenM New York Times Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing