We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New York's New Gem!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
citizenM New York Times Square
Ranked #23 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 7, 2014

citizenM hotels is a perfect blend of modern, chic and comfortable. You can check youself in which saves a ton of time and all of their staff is super friendly. Hotel is very clean and beautifully decorated. There is a really big living room space where guests can work or relax. The breakfast is phenomenal and I love how "family style" everything is. The rooms are just big enough (each room is the same size) and hold everything you need. Plus there is the added bonus of having a tablet that controls literally everything in the room from lighting to shades to tv. Very cool hotel. I would recommend it to anyone who is looking for a comfortable stay at the heart of manhattan for an unbeatable price!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dasseraf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
citizenDiego, Manager at citizenM New York Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2014

Dear Dasseraf,

We love to hear from fellow New Yorkers. This is our first US hotel and your reaction was what we hoped for. Appreciate that you took the time to write about your stay.

Even though you live here, don’t be a stranger.

Lance

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,904)
There are newer reviews for citizenM New York Times Square
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,065 - 2,071 of 2,905 reviews

Reviewed April 7, 2014

Hotel was very futuristic. Room was very compact but bed was very large and very comfortable. Hotel might be better for younger generation as everything is controlled on a tablet. Staff was great! If you are coming into town for Broadway shows, I would definitely recommend!

Room Tip: higher floor, better view!
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Taryn34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
citizenDiego, Manager at citizenM New York Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2014

Dear Taryn34,

Thanks for the recommendation. Being in Times Square has a lot of plusses for our guests including Broadway but also great public transportation options. We hope the hotel appeals to all generations, but know that our in-room tablet which controls everything is not right for everyone. Again, appreciate the positive review.

Lance

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2014

I stayed one night at CitizenM. It is nice to know that the minute you enter the beautiful lobby, you are greeted friendly by the staff. They explain all features of the hotel, which came very handy when we got to the room. Overall, the service is unbeatable. They invite you when warm smiles and treat you like family. Additionally, stay for the drinks. They have great mixes. Only thing is I wish the rooftop was open!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Erica C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
citizenLance, Manager at citizenM New York Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2014

Hello Erica C,

Thanks for your nice review. And special thanks for mentioning the team. The roof top will be open on your next visit and we hope to see you there.

citizenLance

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2014

We absolutely loved staying at citizenM. The unisex shampoo scented/branded shampoo was fantastic. We absolutely loved how it had little "citizenM says:" things everywhere. The branded is such a neat detail. If getting a ledge in the bathroom to set your stuff on while you do our business is possible, that'd be fantastic. The shower was a very cool experience with the mood pad's ability to change the color, but it was a bit slippery.

The mood/moon pad itself had a lot of cool features but was a little janky. By this I mean it crashed on me a couple of times and I had to tap multiple times before it would respond/catch up. It was a little frustrating. Very cool idea, but the tool itself needs a bit more precision.

Also, being by Times Square is convenient to get to, but means we can hear horns and drunk tourists through the window, Maybe a white noise machine would do some good at this location.

Of course, thank you, thank you, thank you for the test sleep!!!

Room Tip: Anything near the ground floor as the bar downstairs is bangin'.
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlyssaStamets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2014

A hotel I recommend in NYC.

Main room - Open space with different areas, each of which has very distinct furniture, lighting and atmosphere. Yet you feel you could have a drink, work, relax or read a book anywhere. The outside space is silent and beautiful.

Rooms - The rooms are very conveniently designed and arranged. The king size mattress is very comfortable. The shower is large. The various mood options with lights adds fun and comfort. My wife and I literally went 'wow' when the alarm clock went on and the rooms lighted up slowly.

Staff - Young, helpful, friendly and very happy to be here. Guillemette is a star.

Food - We experienced the breakfast buffet and were pleased with the choice and quality. 16 bucks for all you want of french pastries, the american standards of eggs, bacon and alike, juices and hot beverages, and healthy yogurts and so. Lots of options for dinner outside the hotel, it's ny and you are midtown, get out.

Lifts - Fast. No time to chit chat. That's a good thing.

Roof top - The roof top has a nice view and a large outdoor space. The bar is made out of 1 piece of wood. It is intimate, relaxed and trendy at the same time. Loved it.

My wife and I stayed on a week day to take a break from our manhattan routine and enjoyed the hotel very much. We recommend it for tourists, businessmen and couples on a short stay in the city.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alkisvalentin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2014

Citizen M is just what I need: amazing bed, modern and inspiring interior, cool lobby/lounge/restaurant, fair price. Best deal! I loved the view from our bed, right in the heart of Manhattan. Breakfast was great though a bit pricey... but worth it.

Room Tip: I'd go as high as possible to have a nice view.
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank newrafael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2014

The hotel is located just around the corner from Times Square, which is a great area to base yourself in NYC. Lots of restaurants in and around Time Square, but also only a short walk to more local places in Hells Kitchen. The rooms were of course spotless as the hotel is brand new. Excellent lobby and bar, very hip and modern design. I loved the computer check in/out terminals, it was so smooth and easy. Staff were incredibly friendly and enthusiastic. The tablet in the room that controls everything was surprising trouble free, and really intuitive. Heaps of tv channels and on-demand movies was a great bonus. Only small gripes - automatic doors in the lobby are slow as someone else mentioned, my sister and I both walked into the still opening door.... also people with no tech skills might struggle with the mood pad.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JoeyjoejoeshabadooJr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Pearl Hotel
The Pearl Hotel
#27 of 468 in New York City
2,394 reviews
Midtown
The Time New York
The Time New York
#78 of 468 in New York City
411 reviews
Midtown
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
#13 of 468 in New York City
1,037 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Michelangelo Hotel
The Michelangelo Hotel
#46 of 468 in New York City
3,584 reviews
Midtown
Archer Hotel New York
Archer Hotel New York
#17 of 468 in New York City
3,028 reviews
Midtown
Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to citizenM New York Times Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about citizenM New York Times Square

Address: 218 West 50th Street, New York City, NY 10019-6702
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Price Range: $219 - $514 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — citizenM New York Times Square 4*
Number of rooms: 230
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in iconic Times Square, just off the corner of Broadway & 50th, citizenM New York offers 230 boutique rooms in the heart of the theater district. Come for a piece of cultural notoriety and stay for the anti-jet lag rain showers and free Wi-Fi, free movies, hi-tech MoodPad tablet to control every detail of your room, super chic lobby spaces designed as Vitra living rooms, an on-site MENDO library for perusing or purchasing, 24/7 dining and cocktailing at canteenM, a quiet mezzanine terrace, fully-equipped gym and yoga terrace, and the skyline showstopper: an exclusive rooftop bar, cloudbar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your citizenM New York Times Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing