We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Looking for a spicy rice fix”
Review of Saigon 48 - CLOSED

Saigon 48
Cuisines: Vietnamese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Neighborhood: Midtown
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Looking for a spicy rice fix”
Reviewed November 19, 2012 via mobile

After 3 days of "typical" US fayre... Burgers, pizza etc, I wanted something spicy. Accosted by a street hawker we took his menu and visited the Saigon 48. Just what the doctor ordered. Just round the corner from the hotel. Nice selection. Good food. One criticism... Adding the service charge to the bill. I hate that. Would reccommend.

Helpful?
Thank Lollypop53
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

148 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    52
    23
    11
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Greater Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great food at great prices”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

The service was fast and friendly, the food was hot and tasted great and was also happy with the price charged.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jhaynes55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LA
Level Contributor
209 reviews
159 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Not worth going to”
Reviewed August 5, 2012

Friendly service and helpful staff but the food is mediocre and you really get the feeling this is a place for tourists who stop by once without ever having coming to come back. Beef and broccoli was oily and salty, spring rolls were awfully dry. The noodles were ok.
On the interior, I havent been to a restaurant where the tables are more sticky than a pub in England! Pass for me, for sure.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank onep39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trondheim, Norway
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“Nice place, good food and great service!”
Reviewed July 22, 2012

This restaurant was located next door to our hotel, and that was the reason why we tryed it out in the first place. It turned out to be a really good choice. We got a great personal service, tasteful food, and reasonable prices though it is located quite near the pulsing Times Square. I highly recommend it!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Miapb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Luis Obispo
Level Contributor
38 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“GREAT food and service a short walk from Times Square!”
Reviewed June 28, 2012

We were in NYC over the Father's Day weekend to see a friend in "Priscilla Queen of the Desert." After the matinee we went to grab a bite a couple of blocks away from Times Square (to get away from the crowd) - and WOW ... the food here was amazing! The fresh vegetables stir fry looked incredible, and my Vietnamese shrimp and veggies in a white beer sauce was to die for!

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank slorev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Saigon 48 also viewed

 
New York City, NY
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing