We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“Perfect for certain folks” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Bowery Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Bowery Hotel
Ranked #89 of 478 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
92 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Perfect for certain folks”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2014

This hotel is simply amazing. The bell hops, front desk, bartender, anyone who works there is simply superb and could be at any other 5 star hotel. The difference is that this hotel is small, feels very European and is located in an edgy neighborhood. If you're looking for the typical high end hotel in Midtown this ain't for you. If you like a neighborhood on the fringe within walking distance of art, great food, amazing design this is the spot.
Some would find the room small, it was perfectly done for us. Every detail is in the room.
Beautiful lounge, bar and outdoor space.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kiwig14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

571 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    400
    126
    25
    5
    15
See reviews for
56
266
67
111
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

From the friendly welcome by the bell hops as soon as they greet you from your taxi you know that this hotel is going to make you feel at home with fantastic service. The rooms are large, beautifully clean bathroom with powerful shower and the beds incredibly comfortable. And an amazingly quiet room so I got the perfect night's sleep which so often isn't the case in a big city. Location is easy, and felt safe to me, to walk round in at night alone. Close walk to two subways that can get you up or downtown but so many bars and restaurants close by you'll be spoilt for choice as to what to eat or drink. I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

Room Tip: I asked for a quiet room and certainly got one. However for all I know all the rooms could be quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sueholidaylondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
107 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014 via mobile

this is a fantastic hotel in a very fun area of NY. The rooms were nice, the location is perfect and the service is first class. everyone loves NY but if you want to take your trip to the next level this is where you need to stay.

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank momo11Brisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Brunswick, New Jersey
Level Contributor
168 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

Great NYC location. In the heart of the lower east side, surrounded by Chinatown, Greenwich Village, Little Italy, SOHO. Wonderful renovated property. I was born on the LES in the early 50's.
This is an authentic throwback, with all of the modern amenities. Luxury bedding. Opt for the king room, as it is larger than the queen room.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travler153
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

My review is 18 months old, but felt the need to post my fantastic experience at this hotel.
We stayed here for 3 nights. 1 of which were spent in the corner room and 2 in the suite.
The rooms are very tastefully designed and offer a high luxury feel.
I proposed to my wife their, and the hotel couldn't have been more helpful in helping to arrange everything.
The location is great, the staff are excellent.
This will always be my first choice hotel when staying in New York.

Sam & Anneli Bush

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
129 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

My husband and I stayed at the hotel for a purely fun weekend getaway, and the Bowery Hotel was perfect! The lobby--dark, book-lined, and cozy--was lovely for a drink before starting an evening out (and there are tables reserved for hotel guests). The bar itself gets a bit crowded at night--seems a bit on trend--but it was still a nice place to have a nightcap after the evening out.

The room had spectacular views. The dark wood was cozy, the Bowery bear on the bed charming, and the 1930s vibe was fun. There was a treat waiting for us when we arrived, and at night, a bottle of water and a plate of cookies appear for you. The staff is friendly and had great recommendations on where to go out to eat.

I need to comment on the bathroom: Normally hotel bathtubs gross me out, but the bathtub at the Bowery was so spectacular, I had to indulge with the provided Bigelow bubble bath. The view from the tub was of lower Manhattan and you could really sink into the bath--it's a huge marble tub.

There is a fitness room but we were there for a fun weekend so I didn't even peek in. The wifi was a little slow, but it is free for guests. Plenty of plugs in the room for charging electronics and an iPod docking station as well. There's a list of games you can borrow from the front desk and movies you can watch, but you're in New York, right on the edge of the East Village. Go out and enjoy yourself! You'll be happy you're coming home to sleep at the Bowery Hotel

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jbrown68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

I enjoyed The Bowery and its contrasting features. The public areas are dark and mysterious while my corner room, although small, was very bright with huge windows.The terrace is a sociable area where food and drinks are available - met some interesting people there.The staff were mainly great and fellow guests were largely young creative types (unlike myself) who brought a vibrant energy to the place.
The Bowery is for those who like something a bit different in a neighbourhood that is in the process of transformation but not quite there yet although there are lots of interesting bars, restaurants and shops nearby.

Room Tip: The corner rooms are light with good views
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sagittarius_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
East Village
The Standard, East Village
The Standard, East Village
#141 of 478 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 578 reviews
SoHo
SIXTY SoHo
SIXTY SoHo
#62 of 478 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 532 reviews
Lower East Side
The Ludlow New York City
The Ludlow New York City
#115 of 478 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 535 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lower East Side
Hotel Indigo Lower East Side New York
Hotel Indigo Lower East Side New...
#87 of 478 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 344 reviews
Nolita
The Nolitan Hotel
The Nolitan Hotel
#73 of 478 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 885 reviews
Greenwich Village
The Marlton Hotel
The Marlton Hotel
#108 of 478 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bowery Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bowery Hotel

Property: The Bowery Hotel
Address: 335 Bowery, New York City, NY 10003-7138
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > East Village , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#59 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#68 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#78 Business Hotel in New York City
#155 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bowery Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bowery Hotel, a delightfully atmospheric luxury hotel in downtown Manhattan has opened its doors on the historic Bowery ushering in a new era of hospitality in one of New York's most exciting and desirable areas. Room types range from standard rooms to one-bedroom terrace suites, all of which boast hardwood floors, floor to ceiling factory windows and sweeping views of NYC. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, MrandMrsSmith, Priceline, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your The Bowery Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bowery Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing