We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, Interesting Main Rooms”
Review of The Bowery Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Bowery Hotel
Ranked #145 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 14, 2014

The location was perfect for us. Just a couple of blocks from Soho and the East Village, moving around was really easy. The main room was so interesting with the last century style furniture, low lights, rubbed wood and fireplaces. It was dark, romantic and cool in the summer heat. They were also so nice to provide seating in the restaurant and main lobby for hotel guest during peak hours. The rooms were a bit of a disappointment. I'm not sure what they are going for with the silly teddy bear and the aged woolen blanket on the bed. It just felt used and second hand. The tall ceilings with wooden panels were nice and the bathrooms five star marble and tile. It is very expensive. A little pricey at 455 a night before taxes, but I suppose it's the location. The Standard down the street seemed to have a huge nightlife crowd. The Bowerys restaurant was really good.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank calaway354
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (641)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

248 - 254 of 641 reviews

Reviewed July 11, 2014

My only previous time in NYC I stayed in Mid-Town (business), and I have to say that I saw the scale and the greatness of New York up there, but opting to stay downtown really opened my eyes to the spirit and history of the city. The long history of the this city is much more evident in the crooked streets, old buildings and varied scenery of the Lower East Side, Greenwich Village, etc.The neighborhood has so many young people, so many accessible restaurants and bars, and numerous public spaces used to great effect.

That introduction to the area around the Bowery Hotel is my way of suggesting the primary reason for staying at this hotel - location. The location is not for everyone, but we were very happy with it. After you pick this hotel for its location, you will be quite pleased with the wonderfully textured neo-olde worlde charm of the hotel, with its lobby bar and its terrace facing a 19th Century cemetery in the middle of the block. You will also enjoy the personal scale of a 130-room hotel that is not set amidst giant skyscrapers. The restaurant is just fine, with breakfast a good bit cheaper than found at most midwestern business hotels. The rooms are charming and big enough, if you are used to urban travel (Europe, etc.)

The service level of the hotel, along with the location, stands out. The doormen are very welcoming and the front desk is ready to help with anything. The host of the lobby bar was almost too eager to make sure we were comfortable. A couple of stand-outs on the service front. When we would call for something to be sent up (pillows, etc.), the person who took the call would follow up later to confirm that our request was delivered. And even after we checked out, we were treated as valued guests. We thought we left some items in the room and called from the airport. Security promptly checked the room, checked with housekeeping, even checked the garbage (!) before calling us back to confirm that we had not left the item (which we found in our luggage a few hours later.) Bravo!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BaronVonH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2014

the bowery is a perfect combination between class and relaxation. the staff is amazing, location one of the bests and and rooms are just perfect. a drink at the bar close to the small and charmy "cemitery" bring me good memories

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank celinhovidal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2014

I love everything about this hotel: the charm and sophistication combined with one of the best locations in the city. The staff here consistently go above and beyond to make your stay top notch. While it is on the pricey side, the experience is definitely worth it! I will be back for sure, and can not get back soon enough! : ]

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bootyp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2014

My fiancée and I got married in New York in late May. We decided to splurge and stay at the Bowery, a hotel that would typically be out of our price range. it was one of the best decisions we made. The front desk staff could not have been nicer. Every time we walked through the lobby someone offered their congratulations. The manager sent a complementary bottle of champagne to the room. The room itself was fantastic with a great tub for long hot soaks and an amazing view of the Empire State Building. We only had one meal - breakfast -at the on site restaurant but it was good and there are many wonderful restaurants nearby. We were very pleased with our stay and hope to return.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2014

We stayed here for a long week end. The location was great with walking distance to many restaurants and shops. The atmosphere was relaxing and authentic, the staff where always helpful and the room we had (corner king with bath tub) was good! The bicycles at the hotel were perfect to explore Manhattan and Williamsburg.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Kristofer F F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2014

A very interesting night indeed ! - as I mentioned previously the lovely man on the door welcomed us with open arms (almost - but he hadn't a problem with our non residency of the Bowery Hotel anyway) . We ordered our drinks at the bar just off the lounge area (M and myself couldn't decide on a cocktail from their list but he was happy to put together a cocktail of anything we liked-so we chose amaretto and ginger - I did also request pear but he didn't have any) . Oh my - this was one of the loveliest cocktails I've tasted (and as you know I've tasted a few, and that's just this week !) even better he topped it with 3 blueberries , so I guess that's made up my 5 a day rule for today.

We noticed that there was some space on one of the plush sofas in the lobby lounge area, so we and took a seat to enjoy our drinks - a minute or two later a door/security guy came over to ask if we were residents etc and we explained what his colleague had said, and he was okay with that and told us to enjoy our drinks.

Well no more than 5 minutes after this, I noticed another younger door guy watching us and he kept looking over, he then came over and asked us the same thing and we explained what both his colleagues had said - he joined his colleague near to where we were sitting (door guy no2) and argued the toss with him for a good 15 minutes !! - as we listened to their conversation it was obvious that the 3rd guy was the "trainee" or newest member of staff who was obviously trying to earn his stripes by saying how it was not hotel policy and DG2 was saying it was good customer relations and as the lounge wasn't busy and there were plenty of places to sit and we were just having the one drink it wasn't a problem - but OMG young "walk before he could run "really had a problem with it !! - We can well understand the non residency thing of course , one should have priority if you are staying there - but the door guy arguing about it in front of us all wasn't very professional and potential customer friendly at all - it did amuse us though , he was almost stamping his feet/spitting out his dummy in protest. Everything else about our time in the Bowery tho was fab , and it was fun going out for the evening in the East village as I love seeing the different "nabes" at differing times of day.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shalovesny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
East Village
The Standard, East Village
The Standard, East Village
#191 of 469 in New York City
707 reviews
Greenwich Village
The Marlton Hotel
The Marlton Hotel
#121 of 469 in New York City
613 reviews
Lower East Side
The Ludlow New York City
The Ludlow New York City
#81 of 469 in New York City
673 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
SoHo
The Mercer Hotel
The Mercer Hotel
#356 of 469 in New York City
298 reviews
Hyatt Union Square New York
#112 of 469 in New York City
1,706 reviews
SoHo
SIXTY SoHo
SIXTY SoHo
#90 of 469 in New York City
966 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bowery Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bowery Hotel

Address: 335 Bowery, New York City, NY 10003-7138
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > East Village , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#58 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#78 Business Hotel in New York City
#113 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#150 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $419 - $663 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bowery Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bowery Hotel, a delightfully atmospheric luxury hotel in downtown Manhattan has opened its doors on the historic Bowery ushering in a new era of hospitality in one of New York's most exciting and desirable areas. Room types range from standard rooms to one-bedroom terrace suites, all of which boast hardwood floors, floor to ceiling factory windows and sweeping views of NYC. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Bowery Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bowery Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing