We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Top of My Favorites List” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Bowery Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Bowery Hotel
Ranked #96 of 479 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
58 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Top of My Favorites List”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

I love everything about this hotel: the charm and sophistication combined with one of the best locations in the city. The staff here consistently go above and beyond to make your stay top notch. While it is on the pricey side, the experience is definitely worth it! I will be back for sure, and can not get back soon enough! : ]

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bootyp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

572 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    401
    126
    25
    5
    15
See reviews for
56
267
67
111
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Memphis
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

My fiancée and I got married in New York in late May. We decided to splurge and stay at the Bowery, a hotel that would typically be out of our price range. it was one of the best decisions we made. The front desk staff could not have been nicer. Every time we walked through the lobby someone offered their congratulations. The manager sent a complementary bottle of champagne to the room. The room itself was fantastic with a great tub for long hot soaks and an amazing view of the Empire State Building. We only had one meal - breakfast -at the on site restaurant but it was good and there are many wonderful restaurants nearby. We were very pleased with our stay and hope to return.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vimercate, Italy
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for a long week end. The location was great with walking distance to many restaurants and shops. The atmosphere was relaxing and authentic, the staff where always helpful and the room we had (corner king with bath tub) was good! The bicycles at the hotel were perfect to explore Manhattan and Williamsburg.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Kristofer F F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
362 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

A very interesting night indeed ! - as I mentioned previously the lovely man on the door welcomed us with open arms (almost - but he hadn't a problem with our non residency of the Bowery Hotel anyway) . We ordered our drinks at the bar just off the lounge area (M and myself couldn't decide on a cocktail from their list but he was happy to put together a cocktail of anything we liked-so we chose amaretto and ginger - I did also request pear but he didn't have any) . Oh my - this was one of the loveliest cocktails I've tasted (and as you know I've tasted a few, and that's just this week !) even better he topped it with 3 blueberries , so I guess that's made up my 5 a day rule for today.

We noticed that there was some space on one of the plush sofas in the lobby lounge area, so we and took a seat to enjoy our drinks - a minute or two later a door/security guy came over to ask if we were residents etc and we explained what his colleague had said, and he was okay with that and told us to enjoy our drinks.

Well no more than 5 minutes after this, I noticed another younger door guy watching us and he kept looking over, he then came over and asked us the same thing and we explained what both his colleagues had said - he joined his colleague near to where we were sitting (door guy no2) and argued the toss with him for a good 15 minutes !! - as we listened to their conversation it was obvious that the 3rd guy was the "trainee" or newest member of staff who was obviously trying to earn his stripes by saying how it was not hotel policy and DG2 was saying it was good customer relations and as the lounge wasn't busy and there were plenty of places to sit and we were just having the one drink it wasn't a problem - but OMG young "walk before he could run "really had a problem with it !! - We can well understand the non residency thing of course , one should have priority if you are staying there - but the door guy arguing about it in front of us all wasn't very professional and potential customer friendly at all - it did amuse us though , he was almost stamping his feet/spitting out his dummy in protest. Everything else about our time in the Bowery tho was fab , and it was fun going out for the evening in the East village as I love seeing the different "nabes" at differing times of day.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shalovesny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlantic City, New Jersey
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

I love this hotel's lobby, which has beautiful antique cement tiles, velvet sofas and an extravagant fireplace. It was a great place to have meetings while I was in town, and was cozy, sophisticated and comfortable.

The location was great! I was doing a lot of meeting downtown and was able to get around easily. The room was modest, but not too small by New York standards. Some people have called this hotel dark and depressing, but I would say that it is mysterious and elegant!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MinisterofC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

I had a great two night stay at the Bowery, it wasn't my first choice of hotel but it will be now! I love the decor, I had a great room with wonderful views of the city. The staff were friendly and helpful. No complaints at all although there was some noise from another room down the hall where a party was in full swing but the management dealt with this.

Room Tip: I had corner room on the 7th floor which had great views. Its a small room but typical of New York.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank californiablue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

Loved this hotel . Hope i have the luck and can get back . The best bed i ever sleept in
Cozy restaurant Gemma in the hotel , excellent breakfast
Perfect location ❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️

I Loved everthing

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank josephine39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
East Village
The Standard, East Village
The Standard, East Village
#141 of 479 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 581 reviews
SoHo
SIXTY SoHo
SIXTY SoHo
#63 of 479 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 537 reviews
Lower East Side
The Ludlow New York City
The Ludlow New York City
#116 of 479 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lower East Side
Hotel Indigo Lower East Side New York
Hotel Indigo Lower East Side New...
#87 of 479 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 347 reviews
Nolita
The Nolitan Hotel
The Nolitan Hotel
#73 of 479 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 886 reviews
Hyatt Union Square New York
#102 of 479 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 1,357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bowery Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bowery Hotel

Property: The Bowery Hotel
Address: 335 Bowery, New York City, NY 10003-7138
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > East Village , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#59 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#74 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#78 Business Hotel in New York City
#155 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bowery Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bowery Hotel, a delightfully atmospheric luxury hotel in downtown Manhattan has opened its doors on the historic Bowery ushering in a new era of hospitality in one of New York's most exciting and desirable areas. Room types range from standard rooms to one-bedroom terrace suites, all of which boast hardwood floors, floor to ceiling factory windows and sweeping views of NYC. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo, Travelocity and MrandMrsSmith so you can book your The Bowery Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bowery Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing