We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hip, fun hotel”
Review of The Bowery Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Bowery Hotel
Ranked #186 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Hip, fun hotel”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

We very much enjoyed our stay at The Bowery Hotel. This property is very authentic and full of charm, and staff is very welcoming and accommodating. We stayed in a corner King room as recommended in a review I read. The room was spacious and the view was fantastic. You have to request a corner king and the staff at the front desk lets you know upon check in if a corner king is available. We were celebrating our anniversary, so I was thrilled that it worked for us to have a corner room.

Room Tip: Definitely request a corner king room. They are more spacious and the view can't be beat!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TPL1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

617 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    434
    132
    28
    5
    18
See reviews for
59
290
72
118
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2014

So it's a hot day, and you decide to pop in to the Lobby Bar at the Bowery Hotel for a drink. You still want to be outside, so you head to the back and sit at an empty table. About to order a drink before the door man (or host) comes to advise that all seats in the lobby bar are reserved for people staying at the hotel. I question where we could drink, and told at the bar.

Looking around, the lobby bar was about 10-20% full on a Sunday afternoon. There's an abundance of empty seats. Was I not dressed right? Blazer, shirt, dark jeans and shoes. Did I not greet the staff as I walked in? yep I did, with a smile and ask how they were. Did I not look right? who knows. One thing is for sure, the attitude of the staff, especially the bald guy with the beard said I didn't want to be spending any money here. Sunday afternoon, in an empty bar and you can't have a sit and a drink because you want to appear an ultra-cool Bar ?

The décor of the hotel is nice, it just a shame about the Pretentious Staff

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank benabouttown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 20, 2014

I've stayed here three times, and each visit gets more and more awesome. The Bowery Hotel oozes with old school charm. For a special treat, try to book a room on one of the upper floors to chill in one of the bathtubs. Great magazine selection in the rooms. Only downside is the confusing set up for plugging anything into the wall. I hope you like working from bed and setting your curling iron on the toilet. Also, the keys with the tassels offer a nice touch, but I mostly leave the tassels in the room so I don't lose them as they are VERY expensive to replace!

The front desk staff were more than charming and let us store our luggage while we did some running around St Mark's Place and teleworking in the lobby. As far as food goes, Gemma is DELICIOUS. I try to save room for their affogato every time I visit. The lobby is cozy and ideal for splitting a bottle of sparkling water. It IS pricey, so best leave your lobby scotch tastings to company tabs only!

Room Tip: Higher levels have bathtubs
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank danaisagirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Coast
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2014

Your wants and needs are quickly met from the time you arrive at the curb. Exceptionally professional staff. Luxurious amenities. We had a corner room with amazing, ever changing views from sundown, through the night and sun rise. One of my favorite NYC hotels.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cloverd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2014

We stayed for 5 nights as part of our honeymoon and everything was 5 star - food, drinks and most notably the service. They are the most professional staff I have encountered in the States. Will be coming back next year!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank terrythetourist1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
59 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2014

Service, accommodation, restaurant, beds, view, location - ALL FIVE STAR. It snowed during my first night there so I woke up to the most wonderful view. The hotel is within walking distance of lots of interesting shops (shopaholic heaven, especially is you like small quirky stores) and easy access to buses or the Subway if you want to go Uptown. I'd stay there again in a heart beat, except I'd never be able to afford it because my son used to work there and got me a very very special deal.

Room Tip: I always have a window open at night, even in the depths of winter, so even though the windows are d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tzanee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wicklow, Ireland
Level Contributor
60 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2014

This was our second time staying here. Essentially I used to live in the neighbourhood, some time ago, so I feel comfortable here. NY has changed a lot but this area not so much, except the block I used to live on has been demolished. However, the hotel has really nice, friendly staff and the lounge and conservatory are lovely. Whilst the rooms are smallish, though they all are in NYC, the large windows make them airy and comfortable. Beds are good, as are bathrooms. There are so many things to do in this area and it is well placed for SOHO, Lower East Side, West Village, East Village , Nolita etc that it is great to have a place you can wander in and out of.
We had a room overlooking a lovely little park/historical cemetery and the light was lovely for Spring. If I was staying in Summer however I would probably opt for a room above the Bowery or facing Uptown just to limit the sun! Would want to stay here again next time in NY.

Room Tip: HIgher floors are quiet and great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sparklehorse11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
East Village
The Standard, East Village
The Standard, East Village
#189 of 468 in New York City
674 reviews
Greenwich Village
The Marlton Hotel
The Marlton Hotel
#111 of 468 in New York City
582 reviews
Lower East Side
The Ludlow New York City
The Ludlow New York City
#92 of 468 in New York City
638 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
SoHo
Crosby Street Hotel
Crosby Street Hotel
#5 of 468 in New York City
763 reviews
Hyatt Union Square New York
#118 of 468 in New York City
1,632 reviews
SoHo
SIXTY SoHo
SIXTY SoHo
#84 of 468 in New York City
846 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bowery Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bowery Hotel

Property: The Bowery Hotel
Address: 335 Bowery, New York City, NY 10003-7138
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > East Village , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#58 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#78 Business Hotel in New York City
#136 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#154 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Bowery Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bowery Hotel, a delightfully atmospheric luxury hotel in downtown Manhattan has opened its doors on the historic Bowery ushering in a new era of hospitality in one of New York's most exciting and desirable areas. Room types range from standard rooms to one-bedroom terrace suites, all of which boast hardwood floors, floor to ceiling factory windows and sweeping views of NYC. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, MrandMrsSmith, Priceline, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Bowery Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bowery Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing