We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Luxury, Hip Spot and Location, location, location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Bowery Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Bowery Hotel
Ranked #107 of 475 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Columbus, OH
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Luxury, Hip Spot and Location, location, location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

Absolutely lovely hotel. The lobby is very inviting and comfortable for drinks or coffee or breakfast. Imagine a fine living room with couches, chairs, coffee tables and a fire. Make sure you let them know that you are staying in the hotel and they pretty much guarantee you a sitting area. The covered sun porch is a great spot for lazying after a day in the busy city. The hotel is connected to the restaurant Gemma which compliments the decor of the hotel and has an awesome breakfast with service to match. We were told the hotel is relatively new but is decorated to look like an English country estate. The beds are dreamy, so very comfortable. The mini-bar refreshment center is filled with unusual goodies; good goodies. My only fault I could find was that the shower could have been a little better in that the steam was not adjustable but it really wasn't a bother. I would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: As there were several of us in different rooms it appeared that the rooms on the 3rd floor were slig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank plc38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

566 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    396
    125
    25
    5
    15
See reviews for
55
264
66
111
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

We were pretty happy with our 5 night stay here. The location was perfect for us with close proximity to our favourite areas. We upgraded to a King and the bed was utterly divine! And the shower just fantastic. But what to do with my folded clothes and why was I on my hands and knees trying to find what we'd put in the safe? Apart from some hanging space and one tiny shelf which we shared with the iron and hairdryer, there were no drawers in the room in which to put our t-shirts, smalls, jerseys etc. So we lived out of our suitcase. Irritating really, trying to sort through a jumble in a suitcase every morning. Then there was the pleasure of getting things into and out of the safe which was in a cupboard at floor level. Not recommended for the less than flexible as you will have to get your face pretty close to the floor to view the contents within. If you're happy using your suitcase as a draw unit and you're up for a bit of gymnastics to work the safe, you'll be very happy with your stay in this spotless hotel that offers excellent service, a great view of New York, a really handy location and superb room service in the morning. A big plus for us also was being able to open a window for some fresh air.

Room Tip: Great views from a corner room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Juno78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 8 nights just over a week ago; I can't see myself staying at a different hotel any time soon when I visit NYC again, it was a great hotel that ticked all the boxes.
Reading the suggestions on this site I requested a corner room in advance and got it, it was great with views to the financial district & being on the 11th floor we didn't get too much street noise (only the occasional loud fire truck).
The location is perfect as you're only a block from Bleecker St subway station and can walk to the Greenwich Village etc easily.
The staff are great, no pretensions or "too cool" attitude whatsoever.
Gemma (the hotel restaurant) does very good breakfast and the lobby is very nice for pre dinner drinks with a big fireplace and comfortable couches- superb ambience.
Being NYC the room wasn't going to be Vegas size, but was definitely adequate with very comfortable bed & good sized bathroom.
Can't wait to visit again!

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Jamesz684
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

I stayed at the Bowery Hotel for two nights last week. On the first night I was there the entire cast of Mad Men was eating in the hotel restaurant. (Except for the actress who plays Megan Draper. Didn't see her.) No one was bothering them and everyone who worked there was really chill. Evidently they get a lot of celebs and trendy folks both dining and staying there. You might think that this would be the exact sort of hotel where you would get a "too cool for school" attitude from the people who work there but this could not be further from the truth. Everyone from the front desk personnel to the waitstaff could not have been more friendly and accommodating. It reminded me of the Maritime Hotel which I also like. The room was big enough and the bed was super comfy. The water pressure and shower flow were fantastic. This hotel had a high percentage of attractive people working there and staying there. When they are also nice and helpful and the room is great, what's not too like? Highly recommend.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Undrgdtrvlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
usa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

From the moment, my sister Lorraine and I arrived for a overnight getaway-We KNEW we made a perfect choice in the Bowery Hotel.
It has all the extra's you look for in a hotel in NYC
a quick super friendly check in & check out and the room was lovely and clean . I loved the details put into everything you see in the hotel and especially within the rooms ; dimming lights, beautiful full city view windows and a nice mini bar with surprisingly classy touches . The room was perfect for us , great linens, a cool shower and a wonderful bed .The energy of the hotel was young but very easy to hangout in . It was a breeze to eat and drink at the bar / lounge area because we were staying at the hotel we could sit in great seats in the reserved section. That was so amazing because after going to many "cool" local bars we made our way back to the hotel to stay and have cocktails for the rest of the night ! It was a the absolute best choice . It definitely was a place to seen and be seen but not pretentious .
The staff we met from the bellman to the managers could not have been more knowledgable , helpful and just the " coolest" people to deal with. I want to go back just to see my "new found friends "that is how the staff made us feel and made our night memorable ; a huge thanks to Jamie( hottie server ) Monica (beautiful & lovely sever ) Mike ( front door ) Jose ( best bartender we have met yet) and Omega who was the manager and the coolest guy I have seen in charge in a hotel- A huge thanks to you all. I will be coming back to stay soon !!!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank keemart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
48 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this fabulous hotel! The rooms are quite spacious- we had a corner king and the floor to ceiling windows gave us a marvelous view! The marble bathrooms are great-absolutely LOVED the toiletries and made a trip to C.O. Bigelow to buy them! Big comfy robes and a Jambox in the room to hear your music. There was a small table and 2 chairs so you could kick your feet up after a big day in NYC.
The hotel staff was exceptional- everyone from the doormen to the front desk to housekeeping! They were very friendly and helpful. The doormen gave us countless tips regarding getting around the city, etc.
The lobby area and the lounge are so welcoming-there is a beautiful seating area where you can read a book, have a drink, or just rest after a long day. I agree with a previous reviewer--it is definitely "reminiscent of an old English country hotel."
The location was perfect for us- wanted to see many spots in Soho and surrounding areas.
We will DEFINITELY be returning!

Room Tip: We requested a room on the highest level available for a view. The Bowery King room afforded plenty...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank postcardgrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sussex
Level Contributor
52 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

Just back from a 4 night stay at the Bowery, a very pleasant experience with friendly and helpful staff especially the doormen. The décor is reminiscent of an old English country hotel with a fire in the lounge which offered various refreshments and most importantly comfortable seating where visitors can rest their weary feet after a day's sightseeing in New York.

The restaurant called Gemma's coped with all our needs and served an excellent breakfast. There are also some great little eating places nearby on E7th which are worth exploring

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LindsaywWestSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
East Village
The Standard, East Village
The Standard, East Village
#160 of 475 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 564 reviews
Greenwich Village
The Marlton Hotel
The Marlton Hotel
#112 of 475 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 473 reviews
SoHo
SIXTY SoHo
SIXTY SoHo
#77 of 475 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lower East Side
The Ludlow New York City
The Ludlow New York City
#113 of 475 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 514 reviews
Hyatt Union Square New York
#96 of 475 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 1,299 reviews
SoHo
Crosby Street Hotel
Crosby Street Hotel
#6 of 475 in New York City
5.0 of 5 stars 680 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bowery Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bowery Hotel

Property: The Bowery Hotel
Address: 335 Bowery, New York City, NY 10003-7138
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > East Village , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#59 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#78 Business Hotel in New York City
#83 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#155 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bowery Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bowery Hotel, a delightfully atmospheric luxury hotel in downtown Manhattan has opened its doors on the historic Bowery ushering in a new era of hospitality in one of New York's most exciting and desirable areas. Room types range from standard rooms to one-bedroom terrace suites, all of which boast hardwood floors, floor to ceiling factory windows and sweeping views of NYC. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Odigeo, MrandMrsSmith, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Bowery Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bowery Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing