We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Friendly place to stay in New York” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Bowery Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Bowery Hotel
Ranked #108 of 475 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
West Sussex
Level Contributor
52 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Friendly place to stay in New York”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

Just back from a 4 night stay at the Bowery, a very pleasant experience with friendly and helpful staff especially the doormen. The décor is reminiscent of an old English country hotel with a fire in the lounge which offered various refreshments and most importantly comfortable seating where visitors can rest their weary feet after a day's sightseeing in New York.

The restaurant called Gemma's coped with all our needs and served an excellent breakfast. There are also some great little eating places nearby on E7th which are worth exploring

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LindsaywWestSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

566 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    396
    125
    25
    5
    15
See reviews for
55
264
66
111
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

We stayed at the Bowery for 2 nights in January for my 40th Birthday. We arrived late in the evening and very tired after a difficult journey in the middle of a snow storm. The staff were fantastic, getting us checked in very quickly and reserving as table in the restaurant for dinner.

There was champagne in our room on arrival as well as nibbles. The room was very comfortable and spacious (we were in a King).

The lounge was warm and cozy and the cocktails were fantastic. The food in Gemma the hotel restaurant was also excellent.

All the staff were so very helpful and polite and we have just booked a return trip for December.

Room Tip: The corner rooms have the best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EmmyJJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

The Bowery Hotel offers a rare mix of hip hotel and welcoming staff. We spent a night at the Bowery close to home on a staycation in NYC, so we know NYC, its hotels and bars and restaurants quite well, and there was nothing about the Bowery Hotel that didn't exceed our expectations. The desk staff, room service and bellmen were all friendly and welcoming. We had a very large suite with a very large deep bathtub. This is the first hotel I've stayed at where the iHome dock has a built in lightning connector, which showed a surprising attention to detail. It was too cold to go out so we ate at Gemma, the in-house restaurant which hasn't always received the best reviews, and we were pleasantly surprised at the friendly service and very good food. The location is great for access to great restaurants and bars and boutiques without lots of tourists and crowds.

Room Tip: The splurge for a suite is worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BruceLA_NYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for a long weekend. Fabulous location. Staff very polite and helpful. Has a great atmosphere in the busy bar area. Only downside was the room was a little on the small side, but very well appointed.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank James O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014

I live in NY but booked a night here for a really important celebration with my girlfriend. The hotel is beautiful, super cool, great location, and having told them about a surprise I planned before checking in, the entire staff made sure everything went smoothly. A great stay for a very special night!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JonBKNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

Just stayed in this fantastic hotel. Rooms were spotless and to a very high standard. The Staff throughout the hotel were always very pleasant and helpful. Had room service a few evenings as well and again the staff dealing with requests...over the telephone or bringing it to the room were always happy to help and very pleasant. Loved my stay and would recommend. Hope to go back one day.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank may r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leeds
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

We stayed here for 4 nights in early October as part of a New York/Brooklyn trip.
Initial impressions were great - its laid back but decadent. We had a corner King room with lovely floor to ceiling windows on two walls, I'd really recommend asking for one on a high floor if you can to enhance your visit.
It's certainly a hotel with personality - the rooms are old school glamour and really charming. It was the main selling point for us really.

Breakfast next door was lovely - I'd highly recommend the baked eggs and pancakes.

Location is great - walking distance to Broadway and all of the East Village charms - we'd def stay there again

Room Tip: Def get a corner King room on a high floor for great views. If you book with Mr and Mrs Smith, you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NAT_LEEDS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
East Village
The Standard, East Village
The Standard, East Village
#157 of 475 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 565 reviews
Greenwich Village
The Marlton Hotel
The Marlton Hotel
#111 of 475 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 475 reviews
SoHo
SIXTY SoHo
SIXTY SoHo
#76 of 475 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lower East Side
The Ludlow New York City
The Ludlow New York City
#112 of 475 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 515 reviews
Hyatt Union Square New York
#97 of 475 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 1,301 reviews
SoHo
Crosby Street Hotel
Crosby Street Hotel
#6 of 475 in New York City
5.0 of 5 stars 680 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bowery Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bowery Hotel

Property: The Bowery Hotel
Address: 335 Bowery, New York City, NY 10003-7138
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > East Village , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#59 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#78 Business Hotel in New York City
#84 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#155 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bowery Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bowery Hotel, a delightfully atmospheric luxury hotel in downtown Manhattan has opened its doors on the historic Bowery ushering in a new era of hospitality in one of New York's most exciting and desirable areas. Room types range from standard rooms to one-bedroom terrace suites, all of which boast hardwood floors, floor to ceiling factory windows and sweeping views of NYC. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, MrandMrsSmith, Priceline, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Bowery Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bowery Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing