We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Fabulous Weekend” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Bowery Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Bowery Hotel
Ranked #141 of 477 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Fabulous Weekend”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for a long weekend. Fabulous location. Staff very polite and helpful. Has a great atmosphere in the busy bar area. Only downside was the room was a little on the small side, but very well appointed.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank James O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

582 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    407
    127
    27
    5
    16
See reviews for
58
270
69
112
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2014

I live in NY but booked a night here for a really important celebration with my girlfriend. The hotel is beautiful, super cool, great location, and having told them about a surprise I planned before checking in, the entire staff made sure everything went smoothly. A great stay for a very special night!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JonBKNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2014

Just stayed in this fantastic hotel. Rooms were spotless and to a very high standard. The Staff throughout the hotel were always very pleasant and helpful. Had room service a few evenings as well and again the staff dealing with requests...over the telephone or bringing it to the room were always happy to help and very pleasant. Loved my stay and would recommend. Hope to go back one day.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank may r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leeds
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2014

We stayed here for 4 nights in early October as part of a New York/Brooklyn trip.
Initial impressions were great - its laid back but decadent. We had a corner King room with lovely floor to ceiling windows on two walls, I'd really recommend asking for one on a high floor if you can to enhance your visit.
It's certainly a hotel with personality - the rooms are old school glamour and really charming. It was the main selling point for us really.

Breakfast next door was lovely - I'd highly recommend the baked eggs and pancakes.

Location is great - walking distance to Broadway and all of the East Village charms - we'd def stay there again

Room Tip: Def get a corner King room on a high floor for great views. If you book with Mr and Mrs Smith, you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NAT_LEEDS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
72 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2014

Very very disappointed with this hotel.

On checking in the women at the front desk was very rude. We were stood for 3 minutes before she even acknowledged us. Then once she had she didn’t even bother to ask us any friendly questions, such as how we were, if we had been to the hotel before (standard for a hotel such as the Bowery). When she stared to check us in, one of her friends walked in and she started to talk to her – totally ignoring us and was talking about her Friday night and what she was planning to do with it. She gave us our key and didn’t even explain to us how to get to the room, so I had to ask her and she just looked at me like I was a idiot and said go to the elevators. NOT a good first experience…

Once we had got to the room the Maid was still cleaning and didn’t leave for another 5 minutes which was vey awkward. She then hovered for a tip… which we didn’t give as she should have cleaned the room hours before we arrived. Have in mind we arrived at 9pm.

We stayed for one night and one night was enough. On checking out I called down to ask for the bill to be prepared and that I was paying by cash. We went down 30 minutes later and I said that we would be paying by cash and she said no one had told her and that she would need to go upstairs to check the mini bar arrggghhhhhh!!!!!

I heard so many good things about this hotel but I will never be going back.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank AlexinaGraham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2014 via mobile

I stayed here for business in July 2013. The Bowery is a really interesting place to stay. The room I stayed in was on the 6th floor and faced north of Bowery. I liked my room which, like the rest of the hotel, is styled to be a 1920s looking place (although built recently in the mid 2000s). The bathroom room was really the best part with a giant tub! I also like that my room had a Jawbone Bluetooth Jambox to play my music while taking a shower.

I think the place may be haunted; like probably for real. I'll leave it up to you, the reader, to ask around about this.

Great hip hotel. I really enjoyed my week long stay in SoHo.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Collin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SC
Level Contributor
102 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2014

Our 3-night stay was nearly flawless. This small hotel was just as I hoped – low key and laid back but not to extent the service was lacking. I was with my young son and we felt very welcome. I just read a review about staff attitude which we did not experience –everyone, from front desk staff to gentleman who delivered our breakfasts, was friendly and approachable.

Our king room was cozy (for 2 people max) and well-appointed. The design details were stunning - this is no cookie-cutter chain hotel. I loved the stained glass and beadboard ceilings. The floor-to-ceiling windows help to give room feeling of spaciousness (we could see the ESB beautifully lit up at night). There was small table w/ two chairs and oriental rugs over wood floors. The marble bathroom was beautiful with massive tub (tub only, not a separate shower – you get either/or). Okay, I just remembered one issue – not enough hot water on a Sunday morning. The water was fine the rest of our stay. The towels and robe were good quality. Our room faced Bowery Street so, of course, we heard a little street noise. If you want quiet, request a rear-facing room. We never heard anyone in the hallway or had to wait long for elevators. Housekeeping ladies were very good and serviced room twice daily w/out fail. The petite cookies they left at turn down were delicious.

No, they do not have coffee makers in room BUT will deliver good coffee to you within minutes of phoning room service. We ordered various breakfast items and everything was good. I always appreciate wine (and champagne) glasses in room. There is quite good Warehouse Wine & Spirits on Broadway a short walk away.

There was no closet in our room, only a small armoire plus one luggage stand. This was not major issue for us but I can imagine it would be for some of you.

The hotel does not have a traditional lobby but a flowing lounge area past reception. If you are looking for a party bar with loud music, this is not the place. This is a quiet lounge where you can hold a conversation. There is small bar area at back with handful of bar stools and also outdoor patio. Guests can eat from room service menu which we did one evening. We had issue with our dinner but lovely manager went above and beyond rectifying (thank you, quite unexpected). We did not eat in restaurant but it appeared busy at dinner which is good sign – think we just had bad luck.

We hated to leave and will return.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Melwyjak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
East Village
The Standard, East Village
The Standard, East Village
#135 of 477 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 617 reviews
Lower East Side
The Ludlow New York City
The Ludlow New York City
#95 of 477 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 567 reviews
SoHo
SIXTY SoHo
SIXTY SoHo
#60 of 477 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 614 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lower East Side
Hotel Indigo Lower East Side New York
Hotel Indigo Lower East Side New...
#101 of 477 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 405 reviews
Hyatt Union Square New York
#93 of 477 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,433 reviews
SoHo
Crosby Street Hotel
Crosby Street Hotel
#5 of 477 in New York City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 708 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bowery Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bowery Hotel

Property: The Bowery Hotel
Address: 335 Bowery, New York City, NY 10003-7138
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > East Village , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#59 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#78 Business Hotel in New York City
#108 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#155 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bowery Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bowery Hotel, a delightfully atmospheric luxury hotel in downtown Manhattan has opened its doors on the historic Bowery ushering in a new era of hospitality in one of New York's most exciting and desirable areas. Room types range from standard rooms to one-bedroom terrace suites, all of which boast hardwood floors, floor to ceiling factory windows and sweeping views of NYC. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, MrandMrsSmith, Odigeo, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your The Bowery Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bowery Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing