We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Excellent third stay this year” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Bowery Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Bowery Hotel
Ranked #93 of 479 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
London, UK
Level Contributor
44 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Excellent third stay this year”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Once again had an extremely enjoyable stay here, this time in a corner suite which we can highly recommend. Though not cheap, the room and bathroom were both lovely, with the usual great windows and views. Helpful and friednly service as before. Still a favourite spot.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Londoner_Chris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

573 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    401
    126
    26
    5
    15
See reviews for
56
267
67
111
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington
Level Contributor
74 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

My wife and I just retuned from a quick overnight trip to NYC to celebrate a friend's birthday. We were wonderfully surprised with our stay at the Bowery Hotel. From the moment the taxi door opened, the retro attired doormen welcomed us with smiles and NY efficiency! Registration was also efficient and welcoming. We were shown our way to Room 403- a queen room. Room was not overly spacious but gave a sense of area and comfort. Every touchpoint of the place would make you believe you were steeping back in time (only with today's high standards of functionality and design). Loved the well stocked minibar selection which could compete with most small hotel gift shops.

Bed and linens were luxurious. Bathroom with walk in shower had great water pressure and Bigelow bath products- loved the Marvis toothpaste! Technology was appreciated with flat screen TV, jawbone Bluetooth speaker for music and ihome clock radio dock.

I didn't expect to have such a quiet experience- but design and soundproofing were excellent.

Lobby bar on Saturday night was the place to be seen with hostess most accommodating to hotel residents. Looking forward to returning soon!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GeneDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

Mine was a 2 day stay here while I was on business in USA. The best thing about it is its location as it’s in a quiet neighborhood so it’s quite peaceful here. One can work in peace (as it’s far from Times Square). The place has a beautiful and chic interior, quite elegant I must say with a serene ambiance. My room was spacious and the big windows held a beautiful view of the city along with a mini bar too. They provided high speed internet at no additional cost which was great and came in handy for me. The hotel has its own restaurant, Gemma so I did not need to venture out much for food during my very short stay here. It was a very comfortable stay and I think that Bowery is ideal for business stays.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Diego C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

We had a fantastic time here and if we went back to New York we would not stay anywhere else. The rooms were decorated beautifully and the attention to detail was very good- even the toiletries in the room were from the local independent high quality apothecary which demonstrated how they go teh extra mile.

I also forgot a transformer for my hair straighteners and was able to borrow one which was a life saver! The rooms are slightly smaller than expected but I guess that is to be expected in central New York. The location is fantastic and we used the hotel recommendations for restaurants which were spot on so we recommend that you do this too.

Staff were fantastic and the bar is also very good for a lovely glass of wine.

Room Tip: We got a free bottle of champagne as it was my birthday
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Great rooms, smallish (as they should be in NY) but well laid out, immaculate. Hotel has character, dark woods, heavy rugs in common areas. Cozy atmosphere for cool evenings. Gemma's is great for breakfast.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

We stayed here in August 2013.

The room was incredible. It had floor to ceiling windows with a great view over the city. The bathroom was clean and well equipped, with full walk in shower. It did not feel like a traditional corporate hotel, it was quirky and had interesting features in both the room and lobby/bar area.

They offered a wide selection of products in the mini bar, and also a Bluetooth speaker available for free use in the room (also for purchase).

Staff were very friendly and helpful. They took delivery of a package prior to our arrival and had it ready for me as soon as we checked in. It has a very relaxed feel with plenty of people available to help or open doors for you when falling out of a taxi with many bags.

The hotel was well located for experiencing the East Village.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jamesy45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

I recently stayed at The Bowery Hotel for 6 days for Fashion Week. I stayed in a standard queen on the 11th floor. It was really lovely, the rugs are pretty, the lighting is great and the views were stunning. It really was a pleasure getting back to my room everyday. I had everything I needed and even though it was small I was very happy. The bar is one of my favorites and even though it is buzzing downstairs, the room was quiet. I couldn't have enjoyed it more!
I don't think the queen would be good for two people. I would definitely recommend this hotel over the Soho Grand, Dream Downtown and Standard. There is no comparison really.
I would definitely stay there again. Also the mini bar is very well stocked for the modern traveler.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
East Village
The Standard, East Village
The Standard, East Village
#152 of 479 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 584 reviews
SoHo
SIXTY SoHo
SIXTY SoHo
#60 of 479 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 539 reviews
Lower East Side
The Ludlow New York City
The Ludlow New York City
#113 of 479 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 539 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lower East Side
Hotel Indigo Lower East Side New York
Hotel Indigo Lower East Side New...
#87 of 479 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 348 reviews
Nolita
The Nolitan Hotel
The Nolitan Hotel
#72 of 479 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 887 reviews
Hyatt Union Square New York
#98 of 479 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 1,362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bowery Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bowery Hotel

Property: The Bowery Hotel
Address: 335 Bowery, New York City, NY 10003-7138
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > East Village , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#59 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#72 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#78 Business Hotel in New York City
#155 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bowery Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bowery Hotel, a delightfully atmospheric luxury hotel in downtown Manhattan has opened its doors on the historic Bowery ushering in a new era of hospitality in one of New York's most exciting and desirable areas. Room types range from standard rooms to one-bedroom terrace suites, all of which boast hardwood floors, floor to ceiling factory windows and sweeping views of NYC. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, MrandMrsSmith, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Bowery Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bowery Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing