We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Loved it” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Bowery Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Bowery Hotel
Ranked #90 of 478 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Loved it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2008

Stayed 5 nights in a King room with double aspect windows in bedroom and full window behind bath. Fantastic place. Complimentary bottle of wine on arrival which is a nice touch. Very happy just to stay in the room one night when too tired to go out for another meal. Great interiors and detailing. Wonderfully comfortable bed. Had a great nights sleep every night and no trouble with street noise.
Will stay here on every visit to NY.

  • Liked — Comfort & style
  • Disliked — Leaving
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank 100pc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

565 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    395
    125
    25
    5
    15
See reviews for
55
263
66
111
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2008

I will never go back to The Bowery Hotel,. They ruined what should have been a lovely weekend break for my 40th. We only had 3 nights there. All was going well. Nice decor etc (but nothing too special).
One our second night I was woken by the night manager phoning the room at 3am. 3AM!
He said the security guy had noticed the room door was open.. Why didn't he just close the door, I asked. He didn't want to disturb me. But it's OK for the manager to wake me up?
So I got out of bed to close the door. It was already closed. By now I was wide awake, it being 8am in the UK.
So I went down in my dressing gown to talk to the night manager, because I'd have thought it was an absolutely last resort to wake a sleeping guest. and anyway, my door had been closed.
He was pretty unapologetic, and insisted that my door had indeed been open. Then ensued a lot of back and forth with the manager and the guy on the front door, who clearly thought I was lying. It was my word against the security guard. At one point when I was explaining how precious a good night;'s sleep is to me, given that I only have a break away from the kids once a year, he actually rolled his eyes! That did it for me, I left in disgust. No resolution, no offer of free bottle of wine...nothing.

I noticed when I got back that the door, although locked, did in fact look ajar. There was a fault. Straight back to the manager, still no genuine apology. I never did get back to sleep.
Only the next afternoon, after complaining to 2 more managers, did someone offer me a free bottle of wine and $100 off the room rate for that night. I felt I'd really had to dig my heels in because the hotel clearly did not value a good night's sleep. It wasn't about the money, it was about someone sympathising, and seeing that I had been in the right.

Look, it's probably OK if nothing goes wrong. But if it does, you may not get satisfaction.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Night manager's attitude
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank LondonRMc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2008

We had a fantastic 5 nights at the Bowery. A beautiful hotel in a very cool location, excellent for all the independent boho shops and boutiques in nolita and the surrounding area.
What really sets the hotel apart are the staff who were all incredibly helpful.
We stayed in a King Deluxe room which had a fantastic bath & massive floor to ceiling windows.
Do visit the ground zero museum, which is a tiny museum you will find on the web, very much a highlight of our stay.

  • Liked — The sheets & pillows!
  • Disliked — n/a
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank LondonMarkC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
61 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2008

Two of us stayed at the hotel for nearly a week. From check in to departure, it was a great experience. The hotel is extremely well run and manages to obtain a boutique feeling despite its size of 140 rooms. Unlike other boutique hotels I have stayed in in NY all of the staff - and I mean all - were extremely helpful and friendly. In particular the girls on the front desk were wonderful. Their restaurant recommendations were always spot - on, and nothing we asked for was too much trouble.
The rooms are of a very high standard- with views which is unusual for New York. The bed was very comfortable and the bedding and pillows first class. The bathroom was well thought through with high quality toiletries and a great shower.
Off the lobby is the attractive lounge area where you can while away time next to the fire or sit out on the terrace. The hotel restaurant is first class too.
This hotel will be my first choice next time in NY.

  • Liked — The staff
  • Disliked — It was a bit pricey
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Lapidus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2008

Great stay - even with young children. They made up a fabulous bed in our suite for the kids which they loved. The roomy lobby bar meant adults could enjoy a drink while the children played in the garden area. We all loved the ambience, the courteous and consistently attentive staff and brilliant location. We enjoyed star-spotting too...and felt special too.
We stayed after a nightmare few days at the Hotel Gansevoort and this stood head and shoulders above that poor experience.

  • Liked — great service and location
  • Disliked — small bathroom
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank UKLondonReviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2008

We stayed for 4 nights at the Bowery and found it to be an exceptional hotel in every regard.
From the moment we were greeted by the uber-cool door staff, and the exceptionally friendly and helpful receptionist, it was clear that our hotel choice was not one to regret.
The staff provided great advice on hot-spots to visit, bars and restaurants to try out authentic NY delights, and the best shopping areas.
The room , a king deluxe, was of good size and included tub and shower in a funky decor. What shocked me beyond my expectations was that it was so very very quiet. Noise was locked out, and I'd been told not too expect such a luxury in this mega-city.

I'd had asked in advance for a balcony/terrace room (apparently the Bowery is recognized as having some of the best in NYC), and I was not in the slightest disappointed. It was massive!! Big enough for a small party.

The bar/lounge is excellent, and popular among non-residents - though there were always reserved spaces for hotel guests.

We had a great holiday, and this hotel played a significant part in achieving that. It ain't cheap, but then again, it really shouldn't be.

  • Liked — staff, location , style, decor, staff & staff
  • Disliked — the receptionist told me she was responsible for the rain :)
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank raycongo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, MA
Level Contributor
27 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2008

Want a hotel that will remind you of your first apartment in NYC? Everything in the rooms -- from the white paint on the walls to the furniture that could have come from your grandmother's house -- will remind you of the days of your youth.

But now that you're a grown up, you can avoid the discomforts that came with that first apartment. Yes, the rooms are still small, but you'll have:
1. Privacy and quiet (we never heard anyone else, or much street noise, for that matter),
2. Excellent plumbing (bathroom was tiny, but with a marvelous glassed-in shower),
3. Terrific advice from the front desk on restaurants (we ended up at Mercat, which we loved),
4. A beautiful and comfortable lounge downstairs when you're in the mood for a drink and
5. Room service (delicious and promptly delivered).

What could be better? The decor in the restaurant was odd: trying to be retro, but ending up looking Disney-esque. This didn't take away from the great food, though.

I'll be back.

  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank theresama40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
East Village
The Standard, East Village
The Standard, East Village
#175 of 478 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 563 reviews
Greenwich Village
The Marlton Hotel
The Marlton Hotel
#114 of 478 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 471 reviews
SoHo
SIXTY SoHo
SIXTY SoHo
#75 of 478 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lower East Side
The Ludlow New York City
The Ludlow New York City
#115 of 478 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 510 reviews
Hyatt Union Square New York
#100 of 478 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 1,296 reviews
SoHo
Crosby Street Hotel
Crosby Street Hotel
#6 of 478 in New York City
5.0 of 5 stars 678 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bowery Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bowery Hotel

Property: The Bowery Hotel
Address: 335 Bowery, New York City, NY 10003-7138
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > East Village , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#59 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#71 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#78 Business Hotel in New York City
#155 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bowery Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bowery Hotel, a delightfully atmospheric luxury hotel in downtown Manhattan has opened its doors on the historic Bowery ushering in a new era of hospitality in one of New York's most exciting and desirable areas. Room types range from standard rooms to one-bedroom terrace suites, all of which boast hardwood floors, floor to ceiling factory windows and sweeping views of NYC. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, MrandMrsSmith, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your The Bowery Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bowery Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing