We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply superb”
Review of The Bowery Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Bowery Hotel
Ranked #189 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Simply superb”
Reviewed August 9, 2013

Love this place. Great beds (honestly, supremely comfortable) and great location. Easy access to mid-town and Soho. Great bar (especially the garden out the back). Highlight though were the staff - couldn't have been more helpful (see the photo of the chap hailing us a cab in the middle of the heaviest rain I've seen in years). Will defintely stay again. Recommeded without hesitation.

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room. My only criticim is the normal rooms are on the small side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BentSpoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

626 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    440
    134
    29
    5
    18
See reviews for
61
293
73
119
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is the first hotel I have ever stayed in that I didn't have one complaint. Not one. The room service was better than most of the restaurants I ate at around here, the Internet was included and very fast. The attention to every little detail was a welcomed change in a very cookie cutter world of traveling and living out of hotels. I would recommend this hotel to everyone and will now use this to compare other hotels I stay at.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Zackdft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2013

I have stayed at The Bowery multiple times, but recently stayed a few nights ago & had another absolutely amazing stay!!- the hotel is incredible & my favorite hotel in downtown New York!

I stayed in 909 for this stay & my room was so amazing! It's on the corner, with 2 walls of Floor-to-Ceiling factory style glass windows with an amazing view of the city, including the stunning new Freedom Tower- awesome view & really stunning at all hours, especially at night! On one side, I could also see the Empire State Building! The details at this hotel are what makes the place really special:

-the CO Bigelow bath amenities that smell of Lavender & Mint, including Bubble bath.
-the little tube of Marvis toothpaste in the bathroom.
the absolutely amazing soaking tub with incredible rain fall shower with insane pressure!!
-the well-stocked mini bar
-cool wooden floors
-lovely rugs that are soft to the touch.
-the little tray of cookies given at turndown service that are really delicious!:)
-the soft sheets & amazing bed
-the cool ceiling fan
-the lovely design details in the room
-sleek Flat Screen Samsung TV that worked very well
-windows that open for Fresh air
-original keys that you can leave with the Front Desk when popping out for the day
etc, etc......

I just love this hotel- the vibe is incredibly chill, with a hip, yet homey vibe. Cool people work in the hotel including extremely charming doormen who are super cool, lovely Front Desk agents, very nice room service servers, sweet housekeeping attendants- everyone is so nice! In particular, Ross is an amazing bellman & super nice! & Abbey & Gigi at the Front Desk are lovely; there was also another young boy who was working the PM shift on 7/24 at the front desk...I didn't get his name, but he was very gracious & kind & also was very nice to give me a 1pm checkout. Dan in reservations is awesome! He typically makes my reservations & makes the process so smooth! Everyone here rocks!!

The food is amazing including an absolutely amazing Roasted Chicken from Room Service, delicious Paninis from the Lobby bar for Lunch, fantastic Hazelnut Gelato, amazing Freshly pressed Orange Juice for Breakfast, & a really fantastic Arugula Salad with Fresh Parmesan- I had amazing meals while staying!

If you want to be in the area of New York, I'd strongly recommend staying at The Bowery! It's incredibly unique & so different from any corporate chain hotel. This is my second home in NYC, even though I live here.....it's my favorite place in New York!

Best,
Patrick Winkler

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank patrickwNewYork_NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2013

I absolutely love this hotel. I've stayed in dozens of hotels in NYC and after staying here one night last week, this is my absolute favorite. Even over the Plaza. It's a gorgeous historic hotel in a trendy area near all sorts of great bars and restaurants. The service is top notch and unassuming. But the rooms are what really stand out and shine. I upgraded to a King room w/ bathtub and I honestly didn't want to leave my room! It was fantastic. Great space, charming details, amazing view, quiet and all around perfect. They had great small touches such as soft bed linens, wireless ipod speakers, free cookies, thick towels and bathrobes, and even bubble bath for the gigantic marble bath with a window view. I cannot wait to stay here again, it is definitely my hotel of choice now.

Room Tip: Not all rooms have bathtubs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alison E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2013

We had been to NYC numerous times, but had never stayed around Houston St. A friend had recommended this hotel to us, so we gave it a shot. Stepping through the front door is like stepping back in time to 1920's London. IT WAS AWESOME!!! As soon as you walk in, the atmosphere and décor grabs your full attention.
We were quickly checked in and directed to our room on the 12th floor. The décor and atmosphere continued every step of the way. We had a king room that was on a corner. The floor-to-ceiling windows on both outside walls allowed for expansive views of Noho, Soho, the Freedom Tower and the Empire State Building. The bed was great and adorned with a Teddy Bear, dressed in British attire adorned with the hotel's name and logo, which was a cute touch.
The best part of the room was the bathroom. The bathroom had a large window right above the tub/shower. The sheers could be pulled over the window for privacy, or left open for views of the Empire State Building. I don't know of any other hotel in NYC that gives you a view of the Empire State Building from the tub/shower. Very cool that they incorporated this feature into the room design. The amenities were great and having a Bluetooth enabled Jawbone Jambox on the nightstand was a nice touch.

The lobby bar is a great place to sit, mingle and relax. Great décor, a wood-burning fireplace and plenty of seating.

The maids were great and the doormen were super nice and helpful in pointing out directions and things to see. All very professional. Some of the front desk staff were a little cold at times, but for the most part they were helpful and efficient.

Just an outstanding property and experience. We'll definitely be back.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank all121star
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
palm springs
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Lived up to the hype!
Fantastic, professional front desk (a touch pretentious at first but warmed up)
Rooms were sweet, full of character and well appointed.
Linens were very very good
Overall, very cool vibe, didnt have to deal with too many douchy I-bankers like the other hipster boutique hotels.
Also, to get to my room, I didnt have to parade through a grand lobby to see and be seen which made for a very efficient and homey stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank taruccia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2013 via mobile

Ideally located for exploring new York. Hotel is modern but with lots of vintage style and character. Ideal for romantic weekend break. Good Italian restaurant and nice hotel bar- all quite hip and popular.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Tim K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
East Village
The Standard, East Village
The Standard, East Village
#171 of 467 in New York City
692 reviews
Greenwich Village
The Marlton Hotel
The Marlton Hotel
#112 of 467 in New York City
597 reviews
Lower East Side
The Ludlow New York City
The Ludlow New York City
#79 of 467 in New York City
653 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
SoHo
Crosby Street Hotel
Crosby Street Hotel
#5 of 467 in New York City
774 reviews
SoHo
The Mercer Hotel
The Mercer Hotel
#342 of 467 in New York City
293 reviews
SoHo
11 Howard
11 Howard
#61 of 467 in New York City
497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bowery Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bowery Hotel

Property: The Bowery Hotel
Address: 335 Bowery, New York City, NY 10003-7138
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > East Village , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#58 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#78 Business Hotel in New York City
#142 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#151 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Bowery Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bowery Hotel, a delightfully atmospheric luxury hotel in downtown Manhattan has opened its doors on the historic Bowery ushering in a new era of hospitality in one of New York's most exciting and desirable areas. Room types range from standard rooms to one-bedroom terrace suites, all of which boast hardwood floors, floor to ceiling factory windows and sweeping views of NYC. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, MrandMrsSmith, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your The Bowery Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bowery Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing