We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“quirky boutique hotel in great location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Bowery Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Bowery Hotel
Ranked #77 of 479 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
63 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“quirky boutique hotel in great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013 via mobile

Ideally located for exploring new York. Hotel is modern but with lots of vintage style and character. Ideal for romantic weekend break. Good Italian restaurant and nice hotel bar- all quite hip and popular.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Tim K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

572 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    401
    126
    25
    5
    15
See reviews for
56
267
67
111
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, UK
Level Contributor
44 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

The Bowery is a very nice hotel in a great location close to everything the East Village, Soho, and downtown in general has to offer.
Despite being an obvious "hipster" hangout (rich hipsters anyway!) the staff are charming and helpful.
Another very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Londoner_Chris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

If you're looking for a cool hotel in New York with something a bit different and special then this is the place for you.

My boyfriend and I stayed here last August and absolutely loved it. The staff were brilliant, super friendly and very cool!

We loved the location of the hotel in the LES. Nice and close to Soho, Brookly Bridge, etc - but further away from Times Square (which is exactly what we wanted).

Overall, nice vibe, great staff, lovely room with the best bed I think I've ever slept in. Their restaurant, Gemma, next door was lovely too.

We'd most definitely stay here again. Without a doubt.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Laney1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Great boutique hotel that is well located no matter what direction you are headed. First of all the corner room I had was wonderful with huge floor to ceiling casement windows. Very little street noise. While the room was on the small side, the view more than made up for it and the bathroom was large. I took room service for breakfast, and promptly arrived at the requested time. Great coffee. As far as the location you can easily walk to Greenwich village or Soho. The number 6 is just 2 blocks from the hotel and takes you right to midtown. I will definitely make a return trip.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank colnagogirl5400
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

This is by far the best hotel I have ever stayed at in Manhattan! My husband and I stayed at The Bowery for 4 nights and and loved everything about the hotel. Our room (1002) was extremely spacious and had a fantastic view! The king size bed was very comfortable and the washroom was bigger and fancier than our bathroom at home (waterworks bathroom accessories, and COBieglow amenities). The restaurant (Gemma) was actually very good. We were suprised considering a lot of hotel restuarants can be a bit 'meh', but we thought the food was very tasty and reasonably priced considering the brunch place down the corner charges similar prices for half of the portion sizes. If you are staying at the hotel you will not have a problem getting a table at the restaurant of the lobby bar. We hung out at the lobby bar each night - either before or after going out. It's got a great vibe and is awesome for people watching! Oh - all of the staff at hotel were also very helpful and not prententious whatsover. The rooms are pricey - but since we were in NYC to celebrate my husbands 40th bday we wanted to splurge a little. We also got a complementary bottle of wine to celebrated my husbands bday, which was a nice touch! The hotel is a 5-10 min walk to Soho, Little Italy, Chinatown, and about 15 mins from Washington Square Park. There is also a Whole Foods only a couple blocks away - which is so handy if you want to pick up some food for the room. I would recommend this hotel to anyone. My husband and I can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: email the hotel and request a room on a higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ewisniewski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ny
Level Contributor
62 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

This is a different type of hotel. It is small and has the feeling of "Old New York City". The rooms are decorated in the 1920's but everything is brand new. The bedroom was pretty, clean and nicely decorated but on the smaller side. It had a very comfortable bed and nice amenities.

The lobby bar is very happening in the evening. Despite being crowded, t the staff managed to find us a place to sit. I would definitely recommend The Bowery Hotel. We enjoyed it because it was different than the usual hotel. Fun location too!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dgely
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

I've enjoyed all my stays at The Bowery. It's tastefully done, very sophisticated but not overly stuffy. I like staying downtown and like the location. Easy spot to get taxi if going uptown. A winner but expensive.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shannon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
East Village
The Standard, East Village
The Standard, East Village
#142 of 479 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 579 reviews
SoHo
SIXTY SoHo
SIXTY SoHo
#62 of 479 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 533 reviews
Lower East Side
The Ludlow New York City
The Ludlow New York City
#116 of 479 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lower East Side
Hotel Indigo Lower East Side New York
Hotel Indigo Lower East Side New...
#85 of 479 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 346 reviews
Nolita
The Nolitan Hotel
The Nolitan Hotel
#73 of 479 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 886 reviews
Greenwich Village
The Marlton Hotel
The Marlton Hotel
#106 of 479 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bowery Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bowery Hotel

Property: The Bowery Hotel
Address: 335 Bowery, New York City, NY 10003-7138
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > East Village , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#59 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#61 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#78 Business Hotel in New York City
#155 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bowery Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bowery Hotel, a delightfully atmospheric luxury hotel in downtown Manhattan has opened its doors on the historic Bowery ushering in a new era of hospitality in one of New York's most exciting and desirable areas. Room types range from standard rooms to one-bedroom terrace suites, all of which boast hardwood floors, floor to ceiling factory windows and sweeping views of NYC. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, MrandMrsSmith and Odigeo so you can book your The Bowery Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bowery Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing