We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Nice hotel in good location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Bowery Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Bowery Hotel
Ranked #131 of 464 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Nice hotel in good location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2012

Apart from some confusion at checkin (they were expecting me the following night, even though my confirmation email from the hotel booking site was correct), I enjoyed staying at this hotel. It's in an interesting location, close to some good restaurants but near some homeless shelters, so not quite as sanitised as nearby SoHo.

My "Bowery Queen" room was small, but still felt like it had plenty of space, with a desk along one side wall and a small table with two chairs for sitting at. The bed and pillows were comfortable, with a teddy bear dressed in Bowery Hotel uniform as a nice touch. WiFi was free (always a pleasant surprise) and a little Bluetooth speaker box was provided (and it actually worked). Some other nice little touches included plugs on each side of the bed for charging mobile devices and a tube of Marvis toothpaste also provided. I'll certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carlton79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

596 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    418
    130
    27
    5
    16
See reviews for
58
278
71
115
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Providence, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
149 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2012

We wanted to enjoy a splurge during the weekend of a family wedding, and this hotel's $500/night turned out to be just what we wanted. We chose the Bowery Hotel after knowledgable New Yorkers told us that "The Bowery is what the Mercer [which cost $100 more] used to be," and it proved a very good choice — interesting location in an area North of SoHo that is what SoHo and Tribeca were before all the big money and cutsey boutiques moved in, which means that galleries and restaurants appear with bunches of kitchen supply stores. The elevators with their dark carved wooden paneling make one believe that this is a very old building, but one of the desk clerks told us that NYU had built it as a dormitory before finding out that it could not obtain required permits, so the building was purchased and rebuilt. As that anecdote suggests, the desk and lobby staff was consistently cheerful, friendly, helpful, and informative. The bedroom was very comfortable with one of the most comfortable, luxurious duvets ever, and the bathroom and shower was excellent. My only complaint/suggestions involve clothes storage. The few drawers were too shallow for much, and the closet, was certainly one of the smallest in the civilized world -- so small in fact that there was literally no room for coats and other outerwear after we had hung up a pair of trousers, jacket, a few shirts, and two dresses. Moreover, although the household staff was as friendly and helpful as the lobby staff — asking for some ice, we received in in a very few minutes —  the service was not what one might expect for $500/night: after the first night the maid took but did not replace our 2 wash clothes and one towel (though we still had 3 thick bath towels), and although she placed little cloths on the rug along with slippers — sign of a European-style luxury hotel —  after the first night the cloths mysteriously disappeared. The room also had 3-4 luxury magazines, but someone had torn out weird strips from every other page, and no one on the staff had checked. None of these observations detracted much from our enjoyable stay, and I would not mention them is somewhat less expensive hotel, but a hotel at this price and with such a nice staff should not have such glitches, however minor they are. My wife says to add that the excellent cookies delivered each evening in a little three-compartment ceramic tray were wonderful.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank George L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level Contributor
44 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2012

Stayed at The Bowery Hotel for 5 nights in mid-November. Our corner King room (1202) had fantastic views of Lower Manhattan, and I was pleasantly surprised by the size of the room and the incredibly large and comfy bed. The bathroom was decorated in lovely old school white tile and brass, and the shower was lovely and powerful.
Staff were extremely friendly and willing to help, room service arrived within 20 minutes of ordering, and our meal in the hotel restaurant - Gemma - was fantastic.
The hotel is on a busy main road and 100 yards from a Fire Station, but we were rarely bothered by street noise. In fact the location is perfect, being just 5 minutes walk from 2 main subway lines as well as right in the middle of a neighbourhood full of busy bars, restaurants and independent shops.
At $500 (plus tax) per night it is not a cheap stay, but for someone looking to spend their time in New York in hip, comfortable luxury, this is the place to come.

Room Tip: Email hotel, or when booking through hotel website put in a 'special request' for a high cor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tarff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
80 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2012

Rooms are small and old school, but the scene and ambience are the best... Very cool scene in the bar - always good people and celeb watching... The concierge can get you in to any place with little notice .. Great area...

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sean M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2012 via mobile

For those who have a hefty budget and would like to stay in a young, hip Neighborhood, Bowery Hotel will make you very happy while visiting NYC. It is situated between Soho and the East Village - close to fabulous restaurants and public transportation to get to all parts of the city. The lobby and lounge area are abuzz with young, hip people. The rooms are small, but they do have high ceilings and tall windows which allow in lots of light - and they are very quiet, a big plus. The bed was extremely comfortable, complete with luxurious duvet and pillows. I was disappointed that the bathroom did not have a tub, only a shower. My bill for a one night stay was $600 for their least expensive room.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank graciela082
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint James, New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2012

The Bowery Hotel is the perfect location if you want to visit Soho and the Villages. Check in was quick and the front desk staff very nice. The King corner room was small but very cozy. We had a spectacular view of the new Freedom Tower from the floor to ceiling windows. The main level has a large sitting area with working fireplace which was cozy, inviting and beautiful! The restaurant Gemma serves delicious food. The wait staff for dinner on Friday night very attentive and helpful with menu and wine selection. We also had breakfast on Sunday morning which was also very good. But unfortunately we were ignored by our waiter for most of the meal. I had to actually get up and get things from other tables. I would definitely stay here again if given the
opportunity.

Room Tip: I sleep very light and the room we had, although great for view, was subjected to loud late night st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NYCHotelLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

We booked the Bowery for our recent trip to NYC because we like the location, within walking distance of Soho and the East Village. We also like the homey decor, big windows and large rooms.
When the hurricane hit New York on Monday, we were having dinner in Gemma, the restaurant downstairs. All of a sudden the lights went out. The restaurant and hotel staff were not fazed. Additional candles were lit and we were all served a complimentary glass of champagne.
From then on, for the rest of our elongated stay due to flight cancellations, staff went above and beyond to make the best of a less than ideal situation, including making sure all the guests were fed by offering buffet meals at breakfast, lunch and dinner.
Thanks and kudos to all.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
East Village
The Standard, East Village
The Standard, East Village
#156 of 464 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 637 reviews
Lower East Side
The Ludlow New York City
The Ludlow New York City
#90 of 464 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 601 reviews
Greenwich Village
The Marlton Hotel
The Marlton Hotel
#96 of 464 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
SoHo
SIXTY SoHo
SIXTY SoHo
#63 of 464 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 696 reviews
SoHo
The James New York
The James New York
#152 of 464 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,329 reviews
SoHo
Crosby Street Hotel
Crosby Street Hotel
#5 of 464 in New York City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 736 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bowery Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bowery Hotel

Property: The Bowery Hotel
Address: 335 Bowery, New York City, NY 10003-7138
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > East Village , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#59 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#78 Business Hotel in New York City
#105 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#155 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Bowery Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bowery Hotel, a delightfully atmospheric luxury hotel in downtown Manhattan has opened its doors on the historic Bowery ushering in a new era of hospitality in one of New York's most exciting and desirable areas. Room types range from standard rooms to one-bedroom terrace suites, all of which boast hardwood floors, floor to ceiling factory windows and sweeping views of NYC. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, MrandMrsSmith and Expedia so you can book your The Bowery Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bowery Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing