We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Hotel in an Excellent Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Tribeca
Ranked #182 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Beautiful Hotel in an Excellent Location”
Reviewed July 28, 2010

My wife and I stayed at this property during a weekend in NYC. The property looks almost new, and is terrific condition. The rooms are a little small (as expected in NYC), but well appointed. The location is fantastic-- within 2-3 blocks of Soho (definitely walking distance). Our only gripe with the hotel is that it is located near the entrance to the Holland Tunnel and so there can be quite a bit of traffic in the area, especially during rush hour. This made it extremely difficult upon arrival at the hotel on a Friday afternoon (we were stuck in traffic when we were only blocks away from the hotel). On a related note, parking is expensive at the hotel and street parking can be really tough in the area. However, we were lucky and found a spot nearby that had very few restrictions for the rest of the weekend. Beyond that, the property is definitely worth a stay.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank globaltravelbuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NabilaTriBeCaHGI, Guest Service Agent at Hilton Garden Inn New York/Tribeca, responded to this review, August 3, 2010
Hi globaltravelbuff

I am glad you and your wife enjoyed your weekend in NYC while at the Hilton Garden Inn Tribeca. I apologies for the traffic as I understand it can get heavy. Thank you for the positive feedback and we hope you chose us for your next getaway.

Nabila Perez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,393 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    628
    558
    132
    44
    31
See reviews for
423
364
85
312
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (205)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Finland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 27, 2010

Overall experience in this hotel was very pleasant: the room was spacious and clean with a fantastic view towards West Broadway, the location of the hotel was excellent, value for money good for New York, and the staff friendly and helpful. The only negative aspects were rather inefficient elevators and a bell boy who arranged an extremely overpriced car ride to the airport upon departure - take a yellow cab instead! Also, quite noisy during the night due to street traffic but this can be expected in NYC and did not bother me personally.

  • Stayed July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TMakela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
langholm
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2010

I stayed in this Hotel for one week with the family from 26June until 3rd July! we loved it! all the reception staff always spoke when we went out in the morning and came back in at night! they also helped out with a few request's.also i have to say the cleaner was fantastic! we left her a couple of note's with request's on and when we got back we got what we asked for! we loved this hotel was in a great location. just 2 mins walk to Broadway and so close to lot's of great shop's, bar's and restraunts. i would recommend you buy a pass for subway last's for 1 week and we went all over the place was only $27. i would recommend this hotel and have been saying to friend's it's the best hotel we have stayed in when we come to nyc. It was great to have the fridge and microwave in the room the coffeemaker was just bliss. i loved loved loved this hotel very comfortable room's amd very clean! i cant wait to go back.... :)

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank johnstonek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen, Norway
Level Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2010

Good value for location and quality . Nothing really to comment on the hotel itself, clean, quiet and great beds. A bit surprised by the hotel staff's indifference to its guests, contrary to the politeness and friendliness of New Yorkers in general. (I think only one out of ten receptionists greeted us upon coming and going - and the lobby is small!) Maybe they're only forthcoming when they expect a tip? Anyway: just a couple of blocks from Soho, a couple of blocks from Tribeca, with plenty of good restaurants. Particularly liked Bubby's at 120 Hudson st, (where Robert de Niro who lives nearby is said to have been spotted with Al Pacino, no less! ). Plenty of restaurants along West Broadway and Greenwich st, close to the river. Subway right outside the door, bus (M5 or M6) running uptown along 6th ave all the way to Central Park (and further). The bus takes you directly to Greenwich Village, with plenty of good restaurants as well. Also recommend Mott st below Canal for an exotic experience! Also within a short walk is the venue 92Y Tribeca at 200 Hudson st (at Canal), good for comedy and concerts. Would definitely consider staying again, and will absolutely recommend!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TanteTynne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2010

The hotel itself was good; clean, decent size room, good location. The downsides: the wine for sale by the glass in the sort-of-Spanish restaurant was absolutely appalling; and when we needed to catch a cab to La Guardia, the bell captain (or the manager- not sure) put our bags in a car service. We came out and expressed surprise, saying we had wanted a yellow cab. He insisted the TLC was "just the same, only a different color.". He also said "it's better because there is a fixed rate.". When we asked what the rate was he said $55; we angrily pointed out that a yellow cab would run us about $28; he retorted that we'd never get a yellow cab; we retorted by immediately hailing one, and pulling our bags out of the car service. Cab fare? $28. He didn't realize that we were former long - term New Yorkers. I assume there is a kickback agreement of some sort with the tlc operator, as before we called his bluff the manager kept saying "it's a cab connected to the hotel." We left mad. Stop ripping off tourists!

Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Teresa67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NabilaTriBeCaHGI, Guest Service Agent at Hilton Garden Inn New York/Tribeca, responded to this review, August 3, 2010
Hi Teresa67

I am happy to hear that you enjoyed the cleanliness, location and size of our rooms. I want to begin by apologising on behalf of the bell captain. I will discuss this issue with my manager in order to prevent something like this from happening again.

Thank you for your feedback
Nabila Perez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2010

Great location! Very close to subway stations, and the shops and restaurants of funky Soho. Breakfast is a little disappointing, however there are plently of great cafes in Soho nearby. Would recommend staying here!

  • Stayed June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AU-traveller-82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NabilaTriBeCaHGI, Guest Service Agent at Hilton Garden Inn New York/Tribeca, responded to this review, August 3, 2010
Hi AU-traveller-82,

Thank you for choosing our hotel for your trip! We appreciate your business. I apologies for the unsatisfactory experience during breakfast. I will definitely discuss this situation with my manager. We would love to have you visit us again!

Thank you for your feedback
-Nabila Perez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
130 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2010

Very clean and fresh hotel with comfortable beds. In addition, the best location in Tribeca, next to a metro station and perfect for exploring Soho by foot. The only small miss was that the complimentary coffee had run out almost every other day!

Last year I stayed at Hampton Inn Manhattan Soho - almost next door - and this was a very similar experience. And once again it's quite striking that the environmental issues don't seem to be issues in the hotels of New York. But nevertheless a good experience.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alannainen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
TriBeCa
Sheraton Tribeca New York Hotel
Sheraton Tribeca New York Hotel
#323 of 468 in New York City
1,891 reviews
Manhattan
Hampton Inn Manhattan-SoHo
Hampton Inn Manhattan-SoHo
#299 of 468 in New York City
1,657 reviews
TriBeCa
Duane Street Hotel
Duane Street Hotel
#135 of 468 in New York City
599 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
TriBeCa
The Roxy Hotel Tribeca
The Roxy Hotel Tribeca
#15 of 468 in New York City
446 reviews
SoHo
Soho Grand Hotel
Soho Grand Hotel
#165 of 468 in New York City
2,936 reviews
TriBeCa
Cosmopolitan Hotel - Tribeca
Cosmopolitan Hotel - Tribeca
#240 of 468 in New York City
1,904 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn New York/Tribeca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn New York/Tribeca

Property: Hilton Garden Inn New York/Tribeca
Address: 39 Avenue of the Americas, New York City, NY 10013-2201
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > TriBeCa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#86 Family Hotel in New York City
#114 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#123 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Garden Inn New York/Tribeca 3.5*
Number of rooms: 151
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Garden Inn New York/Tribeca located in Manhattan’s vibrant Tribeca neighborhood is home to the famous Tribeca Film Festival and features direct subway access to get you anywhere in Manhattan in minutes. Visitors can walk to some of the city’s finest restaurants featuring some of the world’s top chefs or shop at some of city’s finest boutiques.Guests will enjoy the property’s many amenities including onsite dining at the AOA restaurant, spacious rooms with HD TVs, complimentary WiFi and Garden Sleep System® beds for a relaxing night’s sleep. Business travelers will appreciate the proximity to major corporations in Lower Manhattan in addition to spacious desks in each room with secure remote printing through PrinterOn®. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, HotelPower, Travelocity, Hilton Hotels Direct, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn New York/Tribeca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Tribeca Hotel New York City
Tribeca Hilton Garden Inn
Hilton Garden Inn Tribeca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing