We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Tribeca
Ranked #173 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 16, 2010

I liked this Hilton Garden Inn very much. The staff (especially housekeeping) really helped to make me feel welcome. I stayed for 5 nights to experience NYC. The location is great, as the hotel is located above the Canal St. subway stop. Buying an unlimited 7 day transit (subway & bus) pass is well worth the $27 cost. My room was right on 6th St. on the second floor above the restaurant. I heard no noise from the restaurant & minimal street noise. The little noise/vibration that there was came from the train, but even this was minimal.

Housekeeping was excellent each day. Towels & toiletries were refreshed & the room was always cleaned. The front desk staff was very accommodating and pleasant.

I've heard quite a bit about NYC hotel rooms being tiny. This was just the opposite. My king bed room was about the same size as other Hilton Garden Inn's I've stayed at in the past. Plenty of room for two people. Only complaint is that the bathroom is pretty small (but functional).

There are many good restaurants within a 5 to 10 minute walk. Greenwich Village and SoHo are both within 15-20 minutes away by foot. I'd recommend this hotel to anyone who wants to stay in a locale that isn't right in the heart of Manhattan (but is very convenient to public transportation).

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank coso333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,457)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,226 - 1,232 of 1,457 reviews

Reviewed April 14, 2010

I stayed here for a week and plan on returning on future trips. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The rooms are big enough for NYC and very clean. The beds are great and are the best hotel beds I have slept in. Location is perfect too, with the subway right around the corner, about a minute away.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank displacedandrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2010

I stayed here for a solo "Mommy's getaway" courtesy of my husband's Hilton Honors points. I was pleased to see that the photos and room descriptions completely matched what we saw on the website. The staff was professional, helpful, and pleasant, as you'd expect from a Hilton. I arrived 2 hours early, but was allowed to check in early and my room was far more spacious than other hotels in this price range. Very airy, pleasant, clean, plenty of closet space, and large windows overlooking the neighborhood. Other pluses were free internet access, the in-room coffemaker, the mini fridge, and tons of premium movie channels on the flat screen TV. Downstairs there was all day coffee and tea at no extra charge. Bed and linens plush and cozy- I had a great sleep, and as a solo woman traveler, also felt very safe in this hotel.

Only disappointment was the adjoining restaurant- wait staff seemed not up to HIlton's standards, both at breakfast and at Happy Hour. I know it's Tribeca, so perhaps only the trendy people get smiles and immediate attention. Brunch was substandard to what I've experienced at a free breakfast buffet, so I passed and asked the front desk for a bakery recommendation nearby and was more than pleased at her suggestion. There are tons of great restaurants nearby, so I'd just avoid the in house restaurant on my next stay here.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LynnKinnelonNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2010

If you're on a budget and you can get a great deal here - the rates seem to vary pretty drastically, but I'd imagine that's relative to the rates elsewhere in NYC, too - then snap it up. I've seem some very reasonable prices here, and the location is perfect. Even if you're not interested in downtown Manhattan (and why wouldn't you be?), the A/C/E trains are right outside the door.

If price isn't a major issue, then this place isn't a slam dunk. The bed was quite literally the most uncomfortable hotel bed I've slept on in at least ten years. The bedding was even shoddy. The blackout curtains in my room didn't actually cover the entire (small) window, rendering them useless. And there's no room service, which under most circumstances wouldn't be that big a deal since the place is surrounded by eateries and bars (and delivery options are plentiful), but sometimes you just want a no-brainer evening with room service and a movie (of which there are none on demand either - standard cable).

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank onthelanai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2010

i visited at september 09 , and i've great deal on net , normally little bit expensive, but my deal is best hotel is New , all things is ok. You can try .

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank drleo66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2010

This is a nice little hotel which is clean, well located and efficiently run. We chose it from Tripadvisor after reading all the reviews and agree with the positive comments posted.
It is not a family run, cosy, boutique type of place, but had more of a busy, slightly businessy feel. There were a few business people heaving heavy sighs at the teenagers on Facebook in the computer room - but it was perfect for us. The location is fantastic and we enjoyed walking everywhere from the front door or alternatively have the option of being able to take a train from right outside. Noise was not a problem at all and I have to say that I have NEVER had such a comfy bed in all my life. Apparently there is some scientific stuff going on with the mattress, and if so my response is that it was pretty brilliant. Hotel staff were friendly and courteous, which is all we required of them. Facilities were good. Look out for the free treat in the reception area. Coffee in the morning, warm cookies in the afternoon. Very nice.
We all agreed that we would return to this hotel like a shot because of:
The location
The comfort
The general standard you get for the price that you pay.
Top tips:
Give the taxi driver the right advice on how to find the hotel just as everyone has mentioned already.
Go for a short stroll down Canal Street to the plethora of market stalls for all your cheap "knock off" souvenirs and genuine imitations.
Visit The National Comedy Theatre for the best family fun night out. Just great! We pre-booked tickets in London to go were there on Halloween and had the best time. They obviously throw themselves into whatever the current seasonal celebration is.
We had breakfast several times at "The Square Diner" just a few blocks away from the hotel, which was perfect in every way and an all round American experience.
Catch the Statin island ferry (free) and go visit a brilliant little authentic Greek restaurant called "Papouli's". Spinach and Feta Omelette - nom nom.
Don't waste your money on any of those "New York Attraction Passes" which we considered for a while. It really isn't worth it. You learn so much more about the city just by walking and looking, and lots of things are free. (Grants Tomb, Brooklyn Bridge, Central Park) Just pay for the things you really want to do. The only entry fee we ended up paying was for the Empire State building.

I looked for some photos of the hotel but we didn't take many mainly because we went there to enjoy the city, which we did. The hotel provided us with a safe and comfortable place to crash out at the end of each day. New York is a fabulous city and we felt incredibly safe whilst there. Police presence was visible all the time. Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Annie2008UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2010

I searched numerous hotels for a decent price for a week's stay and this hotel won because of price, size, and location. It was my understanding that hotel rooms in NY tend to be very small. I found our room to rather large with plenty of space to walk around. The beds were very comfortable and the bathroom was quite ample. The location in Tribeca was good to be in the NYC vicinity without all the noise of Time's square and such. It was very quiet. There is a subway station right next to the hotel which made it easy to get everywhere we wanted to go. The only complaint is that there are not any restaurants for a quick bite nearby. Little Italy is about a mile down the road and is an easy walk, but if you just want to grab something quick, you'll have to go elsewhere or pay for a much pricier meal.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jennifer D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
TriBeCa
Sheraton Tribeca New York Hotel
Sheraton Tribeca New York Hotel
#321 of 469 in New York City
1,991 reviews
Manhattan
Hampton Inn Manhattan-SoHo
Hampton Inn Manhattan-SoHo
#302 of 469 in New York City
1,712 reviews
TriBeCa
The Roxy Hotel Tribeca
The Roxy Hotel Tribeca
#21 of 469 in New York City
536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
SoHo
Soho Grand Hotel
Soho Grand Hotel
#175 of 469 in New York City
3,011 reviews
TriBeCa
Duane Street Hotel
Duane Street Hotel
#210 of 469 in New York City
638 reviews
SoHo
The James New York - SoHo
The James New York - SoHo
#183 of 469 in New York City
1,427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn New York/Tribeca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn New York/Tribeca

Address: 39 Avenue of the Americas, New York City, NY 10013-2201
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > TriBeCa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#85 Family Hotel in New York City
#112 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#120 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $136 - $472 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Garden Inn New York/Tribeca 3.5*
Number of rooms: 151
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Garden Inn New York/Tribeca located in Manhattan’s vibrant Tribeca neighborhood is home to the famous Tribeca Film Festival and features direct subway access to get you anywhere in Manhattan in minutes. Visitors can walk to some of the city’s finest restaurants featuring some of the world’s top chefs or shop at some of city’s finest boutiques.Guests will enjoy the property’s many amenities including onsite dining at the AOA restaurant, spacious rooms with HD TVs, complimentary WiFi and Garden Sleep System® beds for a relaxing night’s sleep. Business travelers will appreciate the proximity to major corporations in Lower Manhattan in addition to spacious desks in each room with secure remote printing through PrinterOn®. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn New York/Tribeca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Tribeca Hotel New York City
Tribeca Hilton Garden Inn
Hilton Garden Inn Tribeca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing