We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, good service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Tribeca
Ranked #176 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 29, 2014

Our overall experience with this hotel was good. The beds are quite comfortable and the hotel rooms are clean. The location is perfect if you want to stay away from the hustle & bustle of Times Square. There are loads of great restaurants and shopping in the area, including the hotel's restaurant. Parking was $55/day which wasn't too bad compared to other hotels. We had an issue on our first night, too much noise since our room was near the elevator and stairwell. However after complaining the next morning our room was changed and we received complimentary breakfast passes. It was handled perfectly. Overall, we would recommend this hotel and stay again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
Thank Sabrina A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,441)
There are newer reviews for Hilton Garden Inn New York/Tribeca
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

724 - 730 of 1,441 reviews

Reviewed April 28, 2014

This is my second time staying at this hotel. I like the location. It's very easy to get to other parts of the city from here. The A,C,E lines are literally right out the front door and another set of lines are 1.5 blocks away.

I stayed here the first time largely because it was a good price and had gotten good reviews on TA and I had a wonderful experience. But this trip things seemed a little different at the hotel. The staff weren't quite as engaging as the first time, albeit still friendly. On my first visit the front desk staff always asked about the day's events, etc and would strike up a conversation if they weren't busy when you came in the front door.

The room rates were up nearly 50% since I last stayed in August 2013.

One of the two elevators wasn't working for the entire 3 days I stayed and the elevators are slow to begin with so you ended up standing in the lobby for quite a few minutes waiting.

I had trouble finding any breakfast at the hotel or even nearby. I probably didn't search hard enough and didn't bother to ask. I usually found something on my way to my destination anyway. AOA next door had a breakfast buffet of sorts but it was about $16 and I was just looking for a cup of yogurt, a coffee and maybe a waffle i.e. quick and inexpensive. AOA used to have an express area with those sorts of items but it was gone.

And the beds, well they're are still firm as ever. Even after dialing the firmness down to the lowest level I thought they were still fairly firm. Street noise was kind of bad this time too even on the 4th floor. Plus a garbage truck banging the dumpster up & down at 5am didn't make for very pleasant sleep.

And finally housekeeping seemed short staffed. I was periodically needing the room for work calls and my Spanish wasn't good enough to work out my coming & goings well enough to get our schedules aligned. I think I only got service 1 of the 3 days I was there.

Overall I still like this place but the rates seemed similar to a lot of other hotels and for that reason I'll probably try something different on the next trip.

Room Tip: get a room away from the street and away from the elevators/stairs. Noise travels down the halls qui...
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hawkeye68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2014

Hotel wonderful for me, as it is on top of the E train, that takes me 1 block from my office. Hotel, is clean and efficient, with very useable, but small restaurant for quick meals. Room was small, but very efficient, providing all that I needed.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
Thank Robin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2014

Pros: comfortable bed with good linens; quiet room; windows open; small but adequate lobby Cons: somewhat difficult location due to Canal Street and bridge access; noisy fan; no breakfast availability

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
Thank Sacto2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2014

Stayed here for only one night. I booked this hotel because the subway to get to JFK was right outside the door (and the rate was great for NYC). We booked a room for 3 adults. The hotel is modern and the room are smaller than what I'm used to for NYC (I've stayed at mostly Marriots in NYC). My one complaint is that they do not seem to have rooms with two queen beds to accomodate 3-4 guests. Double beds only, so it's not a lot of sleeping space if you are in a room with 3 or 4 people. The elevator is painfully slow -- this seems to be a pattern in all of the NYC hotels I've stayed at over the years; this problem isn't this hotel only so I'm not going to knock off a star. We ended up taking the stairs but we were just on the second floor.

The staff was fantastic. When we were checking out and asking them to hold our bags until we needed to leave for our flight. Staff member asked us how we were getting to the airport and told him that we were going to take the subway > airtrain, and we asked for his advice on how long that would take.

He advised us that we would be better off taking a cab, otherwise we'd be commuting almost 2 hours on the train before we even reach JFK. He arranged a driver for us (in an SUV, not a cab!!) for a VERY reasonable price and we got to the airport in no time. Absolutely OUTSTANDING service!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Service
Thank OwlYaDoing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2014

I've typically stayed in midtown, but this hotel is centrally located, a short walk from SoHo and Little Italy, and the quietest night's sleep I've had in NYC. The staff was excellent. Rooms were great and a little larger than the typical New York shoebox. Overall, an excellent value and quite convenient.

Room Tip: Save the money and skip the "Tribeca view".
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hunterzmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2014

All OK. No particularly bad or good things. Hotel sits on top of entrance to A train so it's handy for anyone coming from Howard Beach/JFK SkyTrain. Small shop for bits you might have forgot or snacks in lobby. Overpriced as you'd expect in the lobby of a hotel. China town / Little Italy within 10 minutes walk, as was QNR, 4&5 and 2 Trains. I would probably stay somewhere nearer to Time Square or Central Park next time.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
Thank Paul J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
TriBeCa
Sheraton Tribeca New York Hotel
Sheraton Tribeca New York Hotel
#320 of 468 in New York City
1,974 reviews
Manhattan
Hampton Inn Manhattan-SoHo
Hampton Inn Manhattan-SoHo
#301 of 468 in New York City
1,709 reviews
TriBeCa
The Roxy Hotel Tribeca
The Roxy Hotel Tribeca
#20 of 468 in New York City
515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
TriBeCa
Duane Street Hotel
Duane Street Hotel
#230 of 468 in New York City
626 reviews
SoHo
Soho Grand Hotel
Soho Grand Hotel
#170 of 468 in New York City
2,992 reviews
SoHo
The James New York-SoHo
The James New York-SoHo
#171 of 468 in New York City
1,421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn New York/Tribeca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn New York/Tribeca

Address: 39 Avenue of the Americas, New York City, NY 10013-2201
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > TriBeCa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#85 Family Hotel in New York City
#112 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#120 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $168 - $526 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Garden Inn New York/Tribeca 3.5*
Number of rooms: 151
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Garden Inn New York/Tribeca located in Manhattan’s vibrant Tribeca neighborhood is home to the famous Tribeca Film Festival and features direct subway access to get you anywhere in Manhattan in minutes. Visitors can walk to some of the city’s finest restaurants featuring some of the world’s top chefs or shop at some of city’s finest boutiques.Guests will enjoy the property’s many amenities including onsite dining at the AOA restaurant, spacious rooms with HD TVs, complimentary WiFi and Garden Sleep System® beds for a relaxing night’s sleep. Business travelers will appreciate the proximity to major corporations in Lower Manhattan in addition to spacious desks in each room with secure remote printing through PrinterOn®. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn New York/Tribeca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Tribeca Hotel New York City
Tribeca Hilton Garden Inn
Hilton Garden Inn Tribeca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing