We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great NYC hotel that won't bust the bank!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hilton Garden Inn New York/Tribeca

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Tribeca
Ranked #189 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Queensland
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great NYC hotel that won't bust the bank!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2013

We searched hard for a more affordable hotel in NYC for a six-day stay. A friend recommended this hotel and the price was as right as it was going to be so we booked there. Well, it was perfect. Right next to the Canal Street subway stop. Super friendly and helpful staff, homemade cookies and fresh coffee, clean, neat and tidy, great location, nearby restaurants.... everything you need for a visit. Oh, and FREE WIFI! Woohooo! We would definitely stay here again AND recommend it to friends.

Room Tip: Our room had a view of a wall but hey, who needs a view when you are in NYC? We were out of the roo...
See more room tips
Green Features: We were happy to keep the same towels but despite us hanging them up each day, they were always changed...
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jenjwms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gayle D, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New York/Tribeca, responded to this review, June 1, 2013
Dear jenjwms, Thank you for your great review! Please let us know if we may be of service again.

Best Regards,
Gayle DiLorenzo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,323 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    591
    537
    124
    42
    29
See reviews for
399
345
84
291
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (198)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
90 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2013

If, like me, you favor downtown Manhattan over Midtown, this mid-priced hotel on the edge of Tribeca offers the perfect location. It's within easy walking distance of Soho, Chinatown and the Village, and has every subway line you could ask for at your fingertips, plus a sea of cabs going by day or night. Our room was clean and well-appointed, spacious by New York standards (though I did pay a few dollars extra for two double beds and a city view), and with comfortable beds (though the too-fluffy pillows could use an upgrade). The staff (particularly Tim at check in) could not have been more helpful, somewhat of a rarity in New York, which made our stay all the more enjoyable. We will definitely return.

Room Tip: If you want a city view, ask for a room on a higher floor to cut back on street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 1morefoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gayle D, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New York/Tribeca, responded to this review, June 1, 2013
Dear 1morefoodie. Thank you for your review! Thank you for recognizing our staff, Tim in particular! I will be sure to share your comments with him. Please let us know if we may be of service in the future. We look forward to welcoming you back!

Best Regards,
Gayle DiLorenzo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2013

This is an excellently placed hotel. Clean, has all the basics and very friendly staff. The staff should be commended for maintaining a friendly and helpful disposition. Room was fine other than a carpet stain. window view was unfortunately typical of new york - another building. Lots of typical new york street noise.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gayle D, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New York/Tribeca, responded to this review, June 1, 2013
Dear David M, Thank you for staying with us! Thank you for mentioning our team! They work hard to make our guests happy. Please come visit again.

Best Regards,
Gayle DiLorenzo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2013

We had a great time at this hotel. The location was perfect. We used the subway the whole time we were there and there is a station right outside the hotel. The hotel is clean and the staff were very friendly. I would definitely stay here again if I went back to New York.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gayle D, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New York/Tribeca, responded to this review, June 1, 2013
Thank you for your review! We are happy you had a great stay.

Best Regards,
Gayle DiLorenzo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2013

This hotel is ok..just ok. The location is the best thing about it, close to subways and many good restaurants in lower Manhattan.
My room this visit was not great ( a 'deluxe 'king facing Tribeca), the bar on the door for security had been replaced by a chain, that was so insecurely attached that I could have broken it with a push, the door didnt close unless you pulled it very hard. The shower curtain was ripped and shredded along the top.House keeping never came my first day there ( I left the hotel before 10 and wasnt back till close to 6, at that point I needed to shower and get going to dinner). The air conditioner sounded like a rocket taking off whenever it went on, to the point I had to turn it off to be able to sleep.Last time I was there, there was water in the lobby all day, this time there wasnt.
One of the most disturbing things was that while the housekeepers were cleaning a room, they left the door propped open with the security bar when they left to get more supplies, I saw this several times ( they were occupied rooms), anyone could have pushed open the door and gone in and taken things.
I was very disappointed in my stay here.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SRtheBrave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gayle D, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New York/Tribeca, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Dear SRtheBrave, thank you for taking the time to write this review. Kindly contact me here at the hotel so that I may hear the details of your visit. I have shared your comments with the Engineering Department as well as the Executive Housekeeper so that they can correct any issues. It is through feedback such as yours that helps us improve the property as a whole. It is always helpful for us to receive the feedback prior to your departure so that we can rectify any issue before you leave.

Best Regards,
Gayle DiLorenzo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2013 via mobile

Great hotel with a verry helpfull frontdesk. Great service. The location is good and with the subway nearby it's a perfect startingpoint to explore New York.
The room (219) was nice but needs some improvements (the ceiling in the bathroom was bad and you could move the frontdoor while it was closed). The cleaning of the room was good.
The included breakfast in the nextdoor restaurant was fine.
Overall a hotel to go back to.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank C K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gayle D, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New York/Tribeca, responded to this review, June 1, 2013
Dear C K, Thank you for your review. Thank you for mentioning desk team! Thank you for your feedback regarding room 219; I will definitely have our engineering department inspect the room. Please let us know if we can be of service in the future.

Best Regards,
Gayle DiLorenzo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
222 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2013 via mobile

Looked at many hotels before choosing this one. Extremely pleased on arrival. Smart hotel, spotlessly clean, modern rooms with afternoon tea, coffee and cookies as a bonus. I read good reviews on the AOA restaurant next door, but this was not our experience. I would recommend venturing out to find a fabulous breakfast. We discovered Bubbys . I would def pick this hotel again. Felt safe around Tribeca and even on subway.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Baohx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gayle D, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New York/Tribeca, responded to this review, June 1, 2013
Dear Baohx, Thank you for reviewing our hotel! Please accept my apologies regarding your poor experience at AOA. I will be sure to share your comments with the Management team there. Happy you found Bubbys! It is one of our top recommendations. Please come visit again.

Best Regards,
Gayle DiLorenzo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
SoHo
Sheraton Tribeca New York Hotel
Sheraton Tribeca New York Hotel
#308 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,822 reviews
Manhattan
Hampton Inn Manhattan-SoHo
Hampton Inn Manhattan-SoHo
#292 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,592 reviews
TriBeCa
Cosmopolitan Hotel - Tribeca
Cosmopolitan Hotel - Tribeca
#224 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,828 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
TriBeCa
Duane Street Hotel
Duane Street Hotel
#119 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 587 reviews
TriBeCa
The Roxy Hotel Tribeca
The Roxy Hotel Tribeca
#24 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 358 reviews
SoHo
The James New York
The James New York
#152 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn New York/Tribeca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn New York/Tribeca

Property: Hilton Garden Inn New York/Tribeca
Address: 39 Avenue of the Americas, New York City, NY 10013-2201
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > TriBeCa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#87 Family Hotel in New York City
#115 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#124 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Garden Inn New York/Tribeca 3.5*
Number of rooms: 151
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Garden Inn New York/Tribeca located in Manhattan’s vibrant Tribeca neighborhood is home to the famous Tribeca Film Festival and features direct subway access to get you anywhere in Manhattan in minutes. Visitors can walk to some of the city’s finest restaurants featuring some of the world’s top chefs or shop at some of city’s finest boutiques.Guests will enjoy the property’s many amenities including onsite dining at the AOA restaurant, spacious rooms with HD TVs, complimentary WiFi and Garden Sleep System® beds for a relaxing night’s sleep. Business travelers will appreciate the proximity to major corporations in Lower Manhattan in addition to spacious desks in each room with secure remote printing through PrinterOn®. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, HotelsforEveryone, Orbitz, Despegar.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn New York/Tribeca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Tribeca Hotel New York City
Tribeca Hilton Garden Inn
Hilton Garden Inn Tribeca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing