We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Tribeca
Ranked #173 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 4, 2012

I've stayed here twice in the last month. Great location, literally on top of the Canal Street Station, and walking distance to great restaurants and shopping (both Tribeca and Soho). Staff is incredibly helpful, pleasant and friendly. Lobby - while small- is kept spotless, with free coffee and warm cookies. I've never had to wait long for the elevator, and the beds are very comfortable. I highly recommend this place for both business and leisure travel.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank casey66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gayle D, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New York/Tribeca, responded to this reviewResponded December 7, 2012

Dear casey66, Thanks for the great review! Please come visit us again soon.

Best Regards,
Gayle DiLorenzo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,457)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

986 - 992 of 1,457 reviews

Reviewed December 3, 2012

I am at HGI TriBeCa a lot because work chooses the hotel, and i used to live nearby so love the location (my old vet and a couple of favorite restaurants across the street). Cannot imagine feeling more welcome by the staff at a hotel (some even notice when I get a haircut!!), that said the room size is very inconsistent and most rooms are very dark. If I were not here for work, I probably would not care, but lamps are dim and in most rooms there is little overhead lighting outside of the entryway. Food at the new AOA restaurant is pretty good, menu somewhat limited and service is very inconsistent.

All that said, if I'm a tourist who wants to stay in a much better neighborhood than midtown for a decent price by NY standards, this is a great place in a great neighborhood. And, I'm guessing because it is a converted commercial space, you can open the windows, for me, a huge plus.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
Thank stephb20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gayle D, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New York/Tribeca, responded to this reviewResponded December 7, 2012

Dear stephb20, Thank you for taking the time to write your review! Thank you for staying with us! Our regular guests become part of our Hilton Garden Inn family. Please stop by the desk and ask for me next time you are in town. See if we can't solve the lighting issue, give you a brighter stay!

Best Regards,
Gayle DiLorenzo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2012

Travelled with 2 little kids (2 and 4 yr old). Great location! Having lived NY before, we wanted to live by our old neighborhood (TriBeCa /Soho). The staff were very friendly. They let us check in earlier at 12pm. Our room was on the 6th floor with good view of West Broadway. As I was familiar with the area, I found free street parking for the weekend. Street parking is allowed over the weekends especially downtown. May not be that easy for someone traveling to the city for first time.The hotel offers valet service. In general parking is expensive in Manhattan. Really enjoyed the hotel and our stay.

Room Tip: Try getting rooms on the highest floor...6th floor as the traffic noise is loud. Not an easy way to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank World T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gayle D, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New York/Tribeca, responded to this reviewResponded December 7, 2012

Dear World T, thank you for your kind review and for recognizing our staff! Let us know if we can be of service in the future!

Best Regards,
Gayle DiLorenzo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2012

I recently stayed at this hotel for three days week of 21st to 24th of November. The hotel is right beside the entrance to ACE line and just block away from other two entrances so easy to get to Macy's etc. Room was clean and large enough. It was a tad noisy outside the first night but was fine next couple nights. Front desk staff were very friendly - although I missed the cookies in afternoon, i did enjoy the free hot chocolate/coffee....the only downside of the room was that it too a few minutes for the hot water tap.... I also liked having the microwave/fridge in the room to store drinks, lunch etc. All in all, was a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TorontoDella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gayle D, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New York/Tribeca, responded to this reviewResponded December 7, 2012

Dear TorontoDella, Thank you for your review! We are happy you enjoyed your stay. Let us know if you plan to return, we will be sure to save you some cookies!

Best Regards,
Gayle DiLorenzo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2012

My fiancee and I recently stayed here for one night and we really enjoyed it. As Gold HHonors members we were greeted very warmly by the staff and given two free bottles of water and coupons for a free breakfast at AOA restaurant. We had a room in the back of the hotel and it was very new, spotless, and super quiet. The hotel is perfectly located on top of a subway station and in walking distance to Soho. We will definitely be back!

Room Tip: We had a room in the back and it was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laura W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gayle D, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New York/Tribeca, responded to this reviewResponded December 7, 2012

Dear ljerpi, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. Thank you for being a valued HHonors member! It sounds like you had a great stay! Please think of us for your next trip to NYC.

Best Regards,
Gayle DiLorenzo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2012

Stayed here in early October 2012. Had a great time, staff were really helpful especially when asking them about getting around and restaurants etc. Room was clean and free wifi in the hotel was greatly appreciated. Used the subway to get around which was really easy especially as Canal St station is right outside the hotel. Try the Italian over the road - lovely food! Ladder 8 (Ghostbusters fire house) is right around the corner.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emj_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gayle D, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New York/Tribeca, responded to this reviewResponded November 28, 2012

Dear emj_10, Thank you for your review! Sounds like you had a great stay! Pepolinos (Italian restaurant across the street) does have great food; they are one of our top recommendations!
Please visit again should your travel plans bring you to NYC!

Best Regards,
Gayle DiLorenzo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2012

Recently completed a two night stay at the Hilton Garden Inn to attend an event at the Tribeca Cinemas. We had a very clean, standard king room on the 5th floor, and enjoyed having our own mini fridge and microwave in the room. We used the hotel valet parking service for convenience, and never needed a car due to the great location of the hotel. It was an easy walk to dinner in Little Italy and Chinatown, and we enjoyed a few local pubs within the immediate block. The hotel staff was friendly and accommodating, and if you enjoy walking the streets of the city, this area is very safe for exploring the local sites. If you prefer the subway, it is right outside the front door of the hotel. We will stay here again for sure.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OneidaLaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gayle D, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New York/Tribeca, responded to this reviewResponded December 7, 2012

Dear OneidaLaker, Thanks for the great review! Please let us know if we can be of service in the future!

Best Regards,
Gayle DiLorenzo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
TriBeCa
Sheraton Tribeca New York Hotel
Sheraton Tribeca New York Hotel
#321 of 469 in New York City
1,991 reviews
Manhattan
Hampton Inn Manhattan-SoHo
Hampton Inn Manhattan-SoHo
#302 of 469 in New York City
1,714 reviews
TriBeCa
The Roxy Hotel Tribeca
The Roxy Hotel Tribeca
#21 of 469 in New York City
537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
SoHo
Soho Grand Hotel
Soho Grand Hotel
#175 of 469 in New York City
3,013 reviews
TriBeCa
Duane Street Hotel
Duane Street Hotel
#210 of 469 in New York City
638 reviews
SoHo
The James New York - SoHo
The James New York - SoHo
#183 of 469 in New York City
1,427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn New York/Tribeca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn New York/Tribeca

Address: 39 Avenue of the Americas, New York City, NY 10013-2201
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > TriBeCa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#85 Family Hotel in New York City
#112 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#120 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $135 - $475 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Garden Inn New York/Tribeca 3.5*
Number of rooms: 151
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Garden Inn New York/Tribeca located in Manhattan’s vibrant Tribeca neighborhood is home to the famous Tribeca Film Festival and features direct subway access to get you anywhere in Manhattan in minutes. Visitors can walk to some of the city’s finest restaurants featuring some of the world’s top chefs or shop at some of city’s finest boutiques.Guests will enjoy the property’s many amenities including onsite dining at the AOA restaurant, spacious rooms with HD TVs, complimentary WiFi and Garden Sleep System® beds for a relaxing night’s sleep. Business travelers will appreciate the proximity to major corporations in Lower Manhattan in addition to spacious desks in each room with secure remote printing through PrinterOn®. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, HotelsforEveryone and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn New York/Tribeca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Tribeca Hotel New York City
Tribeca Hilton Garden Inn
Hilton Garden Inn Tribeca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing