We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great people make all the difference!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hilton Garden Inn New York/Tribeca

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Tribeca
Ranked #189 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great people make all the difference!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2012

My family of four stayed at the Hilton Garden Inn at the end of August. On a previous trip to NYC we had walked by and said that we would like to stay there next time and boy are we glad we did. The location was so convenient to walking around SoHo and Greenwich Village, which our teenagers really enjoyed. The Canal Street subway stop was practically next door which made our trip to the Brooklyn Bridge soooo easy. It was also very easy to get to the park that runs along the Hudson, great for an early morning run or people watching. Our room was meticulously clean and we always had plenty of towels, soap, etc. Plus it was twice the size of the room we had stayed in at another hotel. We ate breakfast twice in the AOA restaurant. All you can eat for $16. A delicious buffet and then made to order pancakes, waffles or eggs. We all started the day with happy stomachs and our waitress (Jayila) could not have been nicer. The guys behind the desk (Edwin, Omar and James) were wonderful -always smiling and offering help if we needed it. The people make the difference in a hotel and these guys were super. We had one dinner at the AOA restaurant and it did not disappoint. It was simple fare but that's what we were in the mood for.

I would definitely recommend the Hilton Garden Inn and can hardly wait til our next stay.

Room Tip: We stayed in a corner room at the back of the hotel which was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank capturedgarden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gayle D, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New York/Tribeca, responded to this review, September 16, 2012
Dear carturedgarden, Thank you for taking the time to write this review! I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us! Thank you for recognizing our staff. We have a great team here. I will be sure to share your remarks with James, Omar, Edwin and Jaylina! Thanks again, please let us know if we can be of service in the future.

Best Regards,
Gayle DiLorenzo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,323 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    591
    537
    124
    42
    29
See reviews for
399
345
84
291
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (198)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
50 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2012

One of these cheapest options we found for a group trip to NYC to watch the US Open. Can not think of a single complaint. The rooms were clean, the hotel has GREAT access to the MTA and to several downtown and midtown sights. Enjoyed the dive bar across the street and the neighborhood in general. Also, the air conditioning was really cold. After a HOT HOT weekend, it was nice to come home to a wonderfully chilly room. Coffee in the morning and cookies in the afternoon! Really a great place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank buckeyechic312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gayle D, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New York/Tribeca, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
Dear buckeyechic312, thanks for the great review! Please let us know if we may be of service in the future.

Best Regards,
Gayle DiLorenzo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
27 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2012

All in all I liked this hotel.

The room was quite spacious compared to other hotels in Manhattan at which I've stayed. It was nicely and tastefully decorated. The bed was comfortable. There was a nice-sized desk area, and a big chair in which to sit. The bathroom had lots of counter space. Also, there was a big closet for clothes like a "normal" hotel room (many Manhattan hotels only have tiny wardrobes or even just hooks on the walls for you to hang clothes).

Having a fridge and a microwave was a giant plus. I shopped at the Whole Foods in Tribeca (a few blocks south of the hotel) so was able to keep juices and prepared foods cold and warm them up. And I was able to warm up take-out leftovers.

All of the staff was very friendly.

Location was just OK. Close enough to walk to the West Village, Tribeca, SoHo and even the Financial District. But, the immediate vicinity of the hotel is kind of a "no-mans-land". And, the hotel is right off of super annyoing Canal Street, which is not my favorite NYC destination.

Minor complaints: one is that the locks on the doors make a noisy clicking when closing, so you're always hearing that. Another is that housekeeping would stick a kind of rude-seeming note under the door when I slept in, letting me know I missed getting my room cleaned. The bathtub/shower was super slippery - I fell one day and hit my face and am lucky I didn't knock my teeth out. And, my room had no view of anything - just another building's brick and windows a few feet away.

But complaints I have are minor. I will definitely consider staying here again if the price is right. Especially due to the size of the rooms and having a fridge and microwave. Although next time I will pay a bit extra for a "Tribeca View Room".

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank keithb789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gayle D, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New York/Tribeca, responded to this review, September 3, 2012
Dear keithb789, thank you for taking the time to share your feedback! I am glad that overall you enjoyed your stay. My apologies for the noisy door! Kindly contact me here at the hotel so that we can discuss the details of your stay. Our guests are valuable to us and it is solely through guest feedback that we improve.

Best Regards,
Gayle DiLorenzo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parker, Colorado
Level Contributor
184 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2012

This is my company's cost-based location for out-of-town visitors. Other than being across the street from Pepolino's Restaurant, there is nothing exceptional about this hotel. The AOA Grill is an improvement over the prior Mexican restaurant on site, but not worth the time. I had a lunch and a breakfast there and regretted spending the money for both. The hotel staff are friendly and helpful, the rooms are comfortable, but if I had a choice, I would stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gayle D, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New York/Tribeca, responded to this review, September 3, 2012
Dear Steve M, Thank you for taking the time to review our property. Thank you for recognizing our staff. Let us know if we may be of service in the future.

Best Regards,
Gayle DiLorenzo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barhaven , Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2012

Took a trip to new york last week and stayed at the Hilton Tribeca. It is a nice hotel located just off Canal St. It is also a block from the Holland Tunnel. It is next to a police station so you have to think your fairly safe.

Stayed on the weekend so parking was not to bad. We street parked only a block from the hotel. If you are lucky you can park almost at the hotel. Did not valet park the car as it can take 30 minutes or so to get your car back, and it was expensive, with no in/out option. Street parking Sunday is free.

The hotel is clean and well appointed. The lobby has complimentary coffee and tea for guests. Not there all the time so ask. In the afternoon and evening there are complimentary cookies, much like other Hilton Garden inns. This is a nice touch.

What the hotel did not have, unlike many Hilton Garden Inns, was complimentary breakfast. There is a restaurant attached to the lobby, and the food was good. The washrooms, just off the lobby were handy and clean.

The front desk staff, (Tim, Joe and Omar on our trip) were all friendly accommodating. Our room was not ready and they offered to text us to let us know when it was done. Nice touch.

The hotel is only 6 floors and 2 elevators. The wait for an elevator was not a problem. Our room was clean and a decent size as far as New York hotel rooms go. The beds were great, but only New York Hotel Queen size.

Our room had a large jacuzzi tub and good size bathroom. It included a fridge a microwave and a flat panel TV. The hotel also includes Free internet. The trade off for the large bathroom might have been that the room was on the back of the hotel and faced a brick wall. Not much of a view.

The hotel is one block form Canal St and all the shopping it affords. Walking is the way to go. There are many small cafes and restaurants in the area and a Subway sandwich shop about 5 minutes walk.

The hotel is located right above the Subway lines with a entrance almost at the Hotel door. Very fast to get around and a great bonus.

Over all the Hotel gets good marks from us. Have stayed at many Hilton Garden inns, and except for the breakfast, this ones right up there. Well priced and well located, we would stay there again.

PS; Depending on the time of day, the lineup to get into the Holland Tunnel to New Jersey can stretch all the way up Canal St and take a while to negotiate.

From the front of the Hotel your are fairly close to the tunnel. You will turn left onto Canal St at the traffic lights and only be a couple of minutes to the tunnel.

Room Tip: If available ask for a room facing the street. Sometimes no extra charge, sometimes a small addition...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StephenJade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gayle D, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New York/Tribeca, responded to this review, September 3, 2012
Dear StephenJade, thank you for your great review! We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Thanks for the shout out to Tim, Joe and Omar! Please come visit us again.

Best Regards,
Gayle DiLorenzo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northern Michigan
Level Contributor
114 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2012

Our stay at the Hilton Garden Inn was overall very positive. The location cannot be beat. A subway stop is immediately outside the door for the A-C-E lines. Other subway stops are easy walking distance for other lines. Many good restaurants are within 2-3 blocks. It is centrally located with Soho to the north for shopping and great restaurants. Downtown is a 10 minute walk with the World Trade Center, riverfront, Battery Park, etc. Crowds are MUCH less than in tourist meccas like Times Square. Taxis were readily available at all times.

The staff was friendly and helpful. The front desk staff always greeted us warmly and they appeared to all have excellent English language skills. They were helpful in answering questions about subway tickets and also made restaurant recommendations. Cleaning staff are mostly foreign and do not speak any English. We did not try the restaurant in the hotel.

Our room was clean and comfortable. We had a nice view of the city streets- we could see to Canal Street, Avenue of the Americas and Beach Street. The room is small but this is typical of ALL New York hotel rooms. It had a small refrigerator, microwave and desk. We had plenty of drawer space. We slept great and especially appreciated that we could set the room fan to run all night as a noisemaker. We did not test the special adjustable beds.

I would definitely stay here again on my next trip to NYC.

Room Tip: Inquire about the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank upnorthjodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gayle D, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New York/Tribeca, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
Dear upnorthjodie, Thank you for the great review! Please do come back and visit us again.

Best Regards,
Gayle DiLorenzo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Alberta
Level Contributor
38 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2012

We stayed at this hotel from July 31 to August 21, 2012. We paid for the first two weeks ourselves and the third week was on Hilton points. The first room we were given was so cramped (we had to stack our two suitcases on top of each other) and dark that after the first week or so, we asked for a larger, brighter room. The second room (430) had a huge stain on the carpet, and beat up furniture. We did stay in the second room because housekeeping was to clean the carpet. Also, my husband didn't want to spend more time moving. Moving to the second room had necessitated repacking all our things and putting the suitcases in storage in the lobby and he did not want to repeat this. It took about a week for the carpet to be reasonably cleaned although it was still splotchy. There was also a big mark on the shower wall but housekeeping was able to remove that promptly. A few days before we left, mould developed in the corner of the shower with a bad smell. Instead of cleaning the mould off, they caulked over it and the smell of mould remained. There was not even a chair to read in, just a large ottoman. At least we were able to place our second suitcase on that. The air conditioning was so loud, it was difficult to sleep. The carpets in the 4th floor hall were dirty, especially in front of the elevator.

I know there are better rooms in that hotel because I saw them when the housekeepers were cleaning. Possibly we were given a poor room because the third week was on Hilton points. I had asked for Room 412, 413 or 414 (I believe those were the numbers) and Perrin was going to let me have one of those rooms. However, Joe said no, that Room 430 was one of their better rooms and that we would be moving there. We have never had a problem with Hilton before so this experience was a great disappointment, especially since we make such an effort to collect Hilton points. I feel that we were treated shabbily despite being loyal Hilton customers.

The good things about the hotel were that the sheets and towels were pristine, the T.V. was great, there were coffee and cookies in the Lobby and the business center was very handy as well as being complementary. Perrin, Omar (reception) and Miguel (housekeeping) were very pleasant and good representatives of the hotel. I really appreciated that there was a microwave and fridge in the room. Also, we liked the location as the subway is just below the hotel. If we could get the room we wanted, we might go back and try again.

Room Tip: Ask to see the room first before taking up your suitcases.
See more room tips
Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank AltaPat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gayle D, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New York/Tribeca, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
Dear AltaPat, Thank you for taking the time to share your review. I'm sorry your stay was a disappointment! We value our guests and we strive for complete satisfaction. Please contact me here at the hotel, I would like to try and make it better.

Best Regards,
Gayle DiLorenzo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
SoHo
Sheraton Tribeca New York Hotel
Sheraton Tribeca New York Hotel
#308 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,822 reviews
Manhattan
Hampton Inn Manhattan-SoHo
Hampton Inn Manhattan-SoHo
#292 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,592 reviews
TriBeCa
Cosmopolitan Hotel - Tribeca
Cosmopolitan Hotel - Tribeca
#224 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,828 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
TriBeCa
Duane Street Hotel
Duane Street Hotel
#119 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 586 reviews
TriBeCa
The Roxy Hotel Tribeca
The Roxy Hotel Tribeca
#24 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 358 reviews
SoHo
The James New York
The James New York
#152 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn New York/Tribeca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn New York/Tribeca

Property: Hilton Garden Inn New York/Tribeca
Address: 39 Avenue of the Americas, New York City, NY 10013-2201
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > TriBeCa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#87 Family Hotel in New York City
#115 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#124 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Garden Inn New York/Tribeca 3.5*
Number of rooms: 151
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Garden Inn New York/Tribeca located in Manhattan’s vibrant Tribeca neighborhood is home to the famous Tribeca Film Festival and features direct subway access to get you anywhere in Manhattan in minutes. Visitors can walk to some of the city’s finest restaurants featuring some of the world’s top chefs or shop at some of city’s finest boutiques.Guests will enjoy the property’s many amenities including onsite dining at the AOA restaurant, spacious rooms with HD TVs, complimentary WiFi and Garden Sleep System® beds for a relaxing night’s sleep. Business travelers will appreciate the proximity to major corporations in Lower Manhattan in addition to spacious desks in each room with secure remote printing through PrinterOn®. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, HotelsforEveryone, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Despegar.com so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn New York/Tribeca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Tribeca Hotel New York City
Tribeca Hilton Garden Inn
Hilton Garden Inn Tribeca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing