We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Holiday Inn Express New York City - Chelsea
Nearby Hotels
$267
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Hotel Belleclaire(New York City)(Great Value!)
$149
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness center
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel(New York City)(Great Value!)
$153
$134
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Hotel Edison Times Square(New York City)
$177
$135
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness center
$144
$116
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Park Central Hotel New York(New York City)(Great Value!)
$185
$150
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness center
YOTEL New York(New York City)(Great Value!)
$183
$152
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Millennium Broadway New York Times Square(New York City)(Great Value!)
$354
$215
Official Site
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Blue Moon Hotel(New York City)(Great Value!)
$100
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
The Westin New York Grand Central(New York City)(Great Value!)
$305
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Reviews (2,142)
Filter reviews
2,142 results
Traveler rating
658
1,001
338
80
65
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
658
1,001
338
80
65
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmadison square gardenpenn stationhi expressnew yorkthe breakfast areatimes squarefree breakfastbagelsrooms are smallthe empire state buildingtea coffeefront desk staffstayed here for nightsfew blockssubway lineconvenient locationaround the corner
Filter
Updating list...
639 - 644 of 2,142 reviews
Reviewed May 16, 2014

Easy walk from Penn Station and reception staff welcoming and friendly.
Room crisp and clean, new TV, desk and seating area. Quality bed linen and we found the room a good size for the two of us. Bathroom clean and powerful shower.
Breakfast was busy but excellent. The staff worked hard to bring hot fresh food and the choice was good. A great start to the day before venturing out into the big city.
Easy walk to Empire State Building, Times Square and only 30 mins walk to Rockerfeller Centre.
Stayed here two nights and would return. Good bag storage service on the day we left which allowed us to enjoy our last day to the end.

Room Tip: Get a room that does not face onto the street. Not much to see anyway but the garbage trucks were noisy during the night. Not the hotel's fault of course.
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ANW1301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gdesoiza, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express New York City - Chelsea, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2014

Thanks for the brilliant review ANW1301!
I'm very glad to hear that you found our rooms crisp and clean. Our room attendants and inspectors are very dedicated; as are our breakfast attendants and front desk staff. The garbage trucks can be a little noisy. The sounds of the streets can resonate all of the things contribute to the city's moniker 'then city that never sleeps'. However, being in walking distance to so many of New Yorks attractions, we're happy that everyone has such a good time, get's tired and finds comfort with us.
Please come see us again.
gary.desoiza@hhmlp.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2014

Stayed at this hotel in December 2013 during a very cold period. The room was small but functional for 2 adults and 2 children (2 double beds). Free breakfast was adequate and free coffee in the lobby was welcomed because of the cold outside. Paid only US95 which was fantastic value. Reception service was very good. Would recommend this hotel to anyone on a budget.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank xln747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gdesoiza, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express New York City - Chelsea, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2014

Thanks xln747!
Winter is a great time to visit NYC! If you bundle up there are great bargains to have and plenty of things to do. There are at least 3 ice skating rinks within walking distance and the pre Holiday shopping crowds have diminished. We appreciate you giving others a tip about this. We can always use the business in late December (ex. NewYearEve), January, February and much of March.
Please feel free to contact me when you return.
gary.desoiza@hhmlp.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2014

Hotel room was very small for a family of 4 but its what you would expect for NYC. Location was great & we loved the courtyard in front. It was perfect for "people watching". Breakfast was always good and it saved us so much money & we didn't have to hunt for food every morning.

My only complaints are that the hotel has NO decent views of the city & the room was very stuffy. We asked 2x to have someone fix our A/C because it would not cool down the room but they never fixed it.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nikolai N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gdesoiza, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express New York City - Chelsea, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2014

Dear Nikolai,
Thank you for posting your review. I apologize for the Air Conditioning issue. We've just recently installed a new energy management system, designed to cut down on energy costs but still provide the required comfort; by motion sensors. Our engineers are being retrained and this type of experience will soon be a thing of the past. We're doing our part to conserve energy, be sensitive to the environment and on the right side of the global warming discussion with this.
I'm really glad to hear that you enjoyed our patio and breakfast. We have some rooms that offer a view of the Empire State building; but If this is a must for anyone: I would suggest reserving a room at a much taller property.
If you find your way back from Buffalo and care to stay with us again, please contact me.
Gary DeSoiza, General Manager
gary.desoiza@hhmlp.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2014

I'm on the road all year, and as a platinum IHG member, I only stay in their properties. This is by far my favorite, and my go-to in NYC. Fantastic location, top-flight staff and always ready with a clean room when I check in. Special kudos to Tenille, Ula and Frankie. Every hotel should have their front desk staff shadow these 3 for a week to see how it's done.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ERCauswell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gdesoiza, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express New York City - Chelsea, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2014

Thank you ER!
I have a feeling that we spoke during your last visit. Though your name is anonymous, your comments sound very familiar. We love to hear that our associates are making a good impression. I think that our staff is genuinely interested in our guest experience. Furthermore, we take special pleasure in being your "go-to" property in NYC.
Please say hello in person, next time your in. I'd like to shake your hand and thank you personally again.
Gary DeSoiza, General Manager
gary.desoiza@hhmlp.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2014

This hotel is very clean and well maintained.Our room was clean and nice but very small, certainly adequate. The breakfast is large and has different offerings each morning. While large the breakfast room is too small for the size of the hotel although we did manage to find a table each morning. The hotel is near Penn Station so we were able to walk everywhere we wanted to go in Manhattan and we always felt safe. The front desk staff were friendly and helpful and they have a room where you can leave your luggage for sightseeing on your last day in the city.
I would stay here again and would not hesitate to recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sofiegsd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gdesoiza, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express New York City - Chelsea, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2014

Thank you Sophie!
I'm very happy to hear that you found our hotel to be clean, comfortable and safe. Our breakfast can get a little busy. We always recommend that you beat the crowds by getting an early start, but we always have enough food for everyone. This year we hope to enlarge the space; adding to the enjoyment of our property. It's really nice to hear that you found our staff helpful and appreciated our location.
I hope that you stay with us again, the next time you travel from the great Northwest.
Please feel free to contact me when you do.
gary.desoiza@hhmlp.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews