We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Met my expectations in every way!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express New York City - Chelsea
Ranked #260 of 473 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed December 12, 2013

First off, my bar was somewhat low in trying to accommodate 4 moms and 4 girls and a whirl wind trip to NYC....however, the hotel proved to be a great location and accommodated us wonderfully. Yes, the rooms are small....but its NYC! Once we figured out the lay of the room, we were fine. All of us raved about the showers...great pressure and nice and hot! We also thought the breakfasts exceeded our expectations. The area got to be very crowded...but again, its NYC!! The staff was very friendly and very accommodating. From the people at the front desk, to the people who kept the breakfast buffet going...all great!

Room Tip: We had 2 rooms, 701 and 703....they weren't adjoining, but we had our own little corner of the f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MissSwissJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maggie H, Manager at Holiday Inn Express New York City - Chelsea, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2013

Dear MissSwissJ,

We are pleased to hear that you and your party of 7 seemed to enjoy a great weekend in NYC! Thank you for complimenting our hot, full breakfast as well as our friendly, accommodating staff.
We hope that you'll come visit us again for another fun mother/daughter weekend.

Season's Greetings,

Maggie Houston
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,106)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

701 - 707 of 2,106 reviews

Reviewed December 12, 2013

Stayed at this hotel for 5 nights between 7th and 11th December. Cannot fault this hotel, room was quite small but as we were out n about most of the time this wasn't an issue. Bed was big and comfortable. The bathroom was small but again it didn't matter. The bath / shower had a curtain which wasn't that good and the floor became wet. Breakfast was served every morning and the choice was wide. The pancakes were delicious as were the eggs. Coffee was plentiful and the best I've tasted. Location was great, we used the subway each day and that was easy as the nearest station is 28th street. Excellent for getting around. The staff at the hotel were very friendly, this was not the same as many of the people in shops, bars stations or in general were quite rude and dismissive. Little bit shocked by this. Overall we enjoyed our stay at the hotel, and New York.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank b_bstephens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maggie H, Manager at Holiday Inn Express New York City - Chelsea, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2013

Dear b-bstephens,

Thank you so much for giving us a "high five" with your five-star review! I am pleased to hear that you found our breakfast full of delicious options. Thank you for complimenting our staff. We work hard to "break the stereotype" and offer outstanding service to all of our guests.

Please visit us again! We'd love the opportunity to welcome you back!

Best,

Maggie Houston
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2013

This is a typical Holiday Inn hotel. Small and dark rooms but quite tidy. The location is perfect though. Times Square or Empire State Building are in the walking distance. And subway is just 5 minutes walk.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
Thank Timur K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shalini S, Manager at Holiday Inn Express New York City - Chelsea, responded to this reviewResponded December 20, 2013

Dear Timur K,

Sorry you find our hotel small and dark, I know our rooms can be a bit tight. In New York City most of the rooms are small, and the building goes up. However we do offer free breakfast and 24 hours free coffee and tea. And we are centrally located as you mention walking distance to most of the train stations and major attractions.

Best Wishes,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights on our first trip to New York. Staff were very helpful and the 24 hr tea and coffee is great. Our room was clean and perfectly adequate. Although breakfast time was busy we never had a problem getting a table and the choice of food was good and set us up well for the day. The location is excellent, good for all the tourist spots, Times Square is about 15 mins walk away and the subway is just round the corner. Try Lindys just round the corner on Seventh avenue for excellent food and superb New York cheesecake! Would recommend a stay at this hotel.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Nick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shalini S, Manager at Holiday Inn Express New York City - Chelsea, responded to this reviewResponded December 20, 2013

Dear Nick S,

Thank you for your review and are very happy to hear you had a wonderful stay with us. Our housekeeping department works very hard to make every room perfectly adequate. Yes Lindys is a great place to get a slice of New York cheesecake!
Maybe on your next visit to NY you will give us a five star.

Best Wishes,

Shalini "Shelly" Sadhu
Front Office Supervisor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2013

Overall this is a clean and safe place to stay in a good location for an affordable price.

The Pros:

My initial experience was great as the front desk staff was very pleasant upon check in, which is always important to me.

The rooms are small but this is NYC and space is a premium everywhere so it's not super suprising. The room was clean and affordable. The location was good - fairly easy to get to anywhere I needed to go and less than a $10 cab ride to Times Square.

The Cons:

The beds weren't very comfortable and my sleep was below average - even for a hotel.

The breakfast buffet wasn't anything special. I ate a banana one day - that was it. The coffee bar was sub-par (see below).

Attention coffee lovers: The coffee pot in my room was NOT clean, it was rather disgusting. I like to have a cup of coffee before bed and most importantly while I'm trying to get ready in the morning. First morning I suffered without coffee until I got to the office. The second morning I ventured down to the lobby in my pj's and grabbed coffee. Note: this might have been one of the WORST coffee bars at a hotel that I've ever experienced. The creamer selction was milk or half and half (none of the little flavored cups) and the sugar selection consisted of standard table sugar and Splenda (no pink or blue or sugar in the raw). If coffee isn't important to you then this part won't matter - but to me - It's a BIG deal.

Room Tip: I stayed in room 1116 and didn't have a view - but I wasn't in the room long enough to care.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kristin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express New York City - Chelsea, responded to this reviewResponded December 26, 2013

Dear Kristin K,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. It is unfortunate the beds and coffee service prevented you from fully enjoying your time at the hotel. We were truly pleased to see your positive comments for our staff as well as high scores for Rooms, Service, and Value. We take all of the reviews we receive very seriously as they allow us to identify areas that may benefit from additional attention. We have shared your comments with the staff and we’re confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction.

Thank you again for your comments, we hope to have the pleasure of serving you again soon.

Sincerely,

Adrian D
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2013

I just spent 3 nights at the Holiday Inn with my 2 nieces. While the room was clean and comfortable, and the breakfast buffet good, our room was located in the basement (!!) right in front of the vending machines, the business center and the gym. Every time people spoke outside the room, they might as well have been in with us. We could hear every single coin entered in the vending machines, and cans or bottles dropped, and this way past midnight. It was extremely difficult to fall asleep at a reasonable hour, even though we were tired from our long days of walking around. The noise would wake us up every time. For an average of $400/night, that was really not what I had hoped for. I am sure that the rooms are fine in the upper floors, but avoid the basement!!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suzmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2013

Stayed here just the other week while in New York. First, the staff wasn't on their 'A' game. They weren't rude or inconsiderate, they just weren't nice. As a rewards platinum, you expect people to be on their 'A' game. Lastly, like most places in New York, everything is so small. Even the lobby is cramped. Normally I'll grab some breakfast on my way out the door, but this place was small and full of people. Panera bread is right around the corner.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank altrego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express New York City - Chelsea, responded to this reviewResponded December 23, 2013

Dear altrego,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our property and being a Platinum Member of our IHG Rewards Club program. It is disappointing that the service received on this occasion did not suit your standards. Your comments will be discussed accordingly with our team to consider for improvements needed.

We hope that you give us a chance to change your perception of our hotel.

Sincerely,

Pam G
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square
Holiday Inn Express New York Cit...
#290 of 473 in New York City
2,238 reviews
Midtown
Holiday Inn Express Manhattan Times Square South
Holiday Inn Express Manhattan Ti...
#201 of 473 in New York City
1,230 reviews
Chelsea
Holiday Inn NYC - Manhattan 6th Avenue - Chelsea
Holiday Inn NYC - Manhattan 6th ...
#335 of 473 in New York City
1,357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chelsea
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Midtown Manhattan/Penn Station
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York ...
#114 of 473 in New York City
1,482 reviews
Financial District
Holiday Inn Express New York City-Wall Street
Holiday Inn Express New York Cit...
#366 of 473 in New York City
537 reviews
Chelsea
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Chelsea
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manha...
#212 of 473 in New York City
2,135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express New York City - Chelsea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express New York City - Chelsea

Address: 232 West 29th Street, New York City, NY 10001-5201 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express NYC Madison Square Garden)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Chelsea , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#63 Green Hotel in New York City
#93 Family Hotel in New York City
#142 Business Hotel in New York City
#177 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $122 - $381 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express New York City - Chelsea 3*
Number of rooms: 228
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thank you for choosing the newly renovated Holiday Inn Express New York City - Chelsea hotel located right in the heart of Chelsea and Madison Square Garden area. We include a complimentary hot and cold Express Start Breakfast for all guests of the hotel. Our recently refreshed 15-story high-rise hotel with amenities include free high speed wired and wireless Internet access, free local calls, fitness center, rear garden terrace and a full business center. We are just ten short blocks from Times Square. Also within walking distance is Penn Station, the Empire State Building, Jacob Javits Convention Center, Fashion Institute of Technology, Theatre District, Macy's, mid-town and 5th Avenue shopping. Rockefeller Center is just one mile away! We are also centrally located to many fine restaurants, entertainment venues and some of the finest shopping the city has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express New York City - Chelsea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Nyc - Madison Square Garden Hotel New York City
Holiday Inn New York City
New York City Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing