We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Pleasant Stay In New York”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express New York City - Chelsea
Ranked #273 of 468 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersBronze level
Mission Viejo, California
Level Contributor
46 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Very Pleasant Stay In New York”
Reviewed December 1, 2013

I was so pleased with this hotel. We were in town for a convention at Javits. It is actually walking distance if you want the exercise. The staff were very helpful and friendly. The lobby bright and cheery with a great breakfast spread. A little crowded in the morning but manageable. The rooms were spotless with all the comforts needed. They even had door closers that worked so I was not bothered by slamming doors all night (pet peeve). When I discovered I was across from the elevators I was concerned. I soon discovered there were no dinging bells at every stop. They thought of everything to give you a great night in a busy city.

Room Tip: I preffer higher floors to avoid street noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveler32722
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maggie H, Manager at Holiday Inn Express New York City - Chelsea, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Dear Traveler32722,

Thank you for your 5 stars! We are very pleased to hear that you seemed to thoroughly enjoy your stay at our property. Our location is ideal for those who hope to visit the Javits Center on business as well as those who wish to take in some of the city's best tourist attractions.

We hope to welcome you back for future business or leisure travel!

Sincerely,

Maggie Houston
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,985 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    609
    923
    317
    75
    61
See reviews for
640
542
136
226
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (317)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Albany Western Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2013

I only had one night to stay before setting off on another adventure. the room was tiny and the bathroom even smaller. It is in a good location and the room was surprisingly quiet. I stayed at 2 other hotels in NYC and found both cheaper and preferable. Having said that the staff were great.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cathy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express New York City - Chelsea, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
Dear Cathy G,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us your feedback. Your review is vital for improving the service and quality we offer to our valued guest. I am pleased to know that you found our staff great and superb location. On the other hand, I am sorry for the shortfalls you have encountered. It is always hugely motivating when one takes the time and trouble to acknowledge or give points for improvement. We hope to get the opportunity of welcoming you back in the future. Thank you once again for your valuable comment, and if you might have any suggestions that will contribute to enhancing your stay, please do not hesitate to contact us.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alaro, Spain
1 review
Reviewed November 27, 2013

Excelent situation, very clean and quiet room.
Efficient and kind staff. I would name Sheila and Anais because I got to know their names, but all of them gentlemen and ladies were fantastic ( cleaning, reception, restaurant etc...)

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jacques871
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maggie H, Manager at Holiday Inn Express New York City - Chelsea, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Dear jacques871,

Thank you for taking a moment to review your stay at the Holiday Inn Express Madison Square Garden. I am happy to hear that you found yourself in an "excellent situation" at our hotel and found our staff kind. I will especially thank Sheila and Anais for leaving such an impression on you. We hope to see you again during a future visit to NYC!

Warmest Regards,

Maggie Houston
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2013

The hotel is ideally located; the rooms are clean and housekeeping is effectively done every day. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The breakfast is complete, varied and good quality (the cinnamon rolls are FANTASTIC!). All I have to say is that this hotel has it all....including a good price! Don't hesitate to book your stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank drechani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maggie H, Manager at Holiday Inn Express New York City - Chelsea, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Dear dmr918,

Thank you so much for the stellar five star review! I am very pleased to hear that you found the hotel ideally located and of great value. Thank you for complimenting our team's friendliness and helpfulness. We hope that you'll come visit us again and have more of our fantastic cinnamon rolls!

Best Regards,

Maggie Houston
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2013

This was our 5 th visit to New York and the best hotel to date. Staff really friendly and helpful, rooms lovely and clean. The location is good, nice and central for all the usual attractions Macy's and the Manhatten Mall only minutes away. The complimentary breakfast can be a bit of a bun fight but with a bit of planning ie avoiding peak times this can be avoided, and is delicious setting you up for a days shopping. Nice outside space to have a coffee and a chat and plan your day. When you are planning have a word with the staff as they are very pleased to offer you assistance. My compliments to the management!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debbie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maggie H, Manager at Holiday Inn Express New York City - Chelsea, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Dear Debbie P,

Thank you so much for taking a moment to share your experience with fellow travelers! I am so very pleased that you rated your visit at the Holiday Inn Express Madison Square Garden 5 stars. NYC offers hundreds of hotels to choose from so I am truly honored that you termed our hotel the best you've experienced to date. I believe our staff are key in making our guests' stays, so thank you for your compliments to not only my team but to my fellow managers.

Seasons Greetings!

Maggie Houston
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
Reviewed November 24, 2013

The staff at the Holiday Inn Express NYC - Madison Square Garden certainly started my stay off on the right foot, helpful, positive and personable. Arnold and Frankie were just two of the wonderful staff. The set up may be "express" but they cut down in the right ways. There is still a hot and cold breakfast available each morning, as well as coffee, juice and water available 24 hours. The room was not teeny tiny; there was a full desk, cosy chair, and room to place luggage and walk around, even with two people. Everything worked and was updated. One of the biggest benefits was the convenient location to a multitude of subway lines and Penn Station. Super!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Johanna A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MJDempsey, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express New York City - Chelsea, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Dear Johanna A,
Thank you for your stay and FIVE STAR REVIEW! "100% pleased" is our goal. Our staff is positive and personable so guests can enjoy their stay to the fullest. Our breakfast is a great spread with the menu changing daily. We look forward to you staying with us the next time you are in NYC!
Regards,
Matthew Dempsey/Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed November 24, 2013

We stayed for four nights and we were very happy and comfortable at the hotel although it was not a very large hotel. The staff was the best that we have encountered for a long time. Their helpfulness, assistance and attentiveness were very prominent whenever we had to interact with them.

The breakfast buffet was very welcoming and appetising and included all that one would want to start off their day with, very nicely laid out.

Tenille, Anais and Indira are the smiling faces at the front desk and we are sure that they are the reason why guests choose this hotel again and again. We would like to visit NYC again in the future and would definitely choose to stay at the Holiday Inn Express again. Thanks to all at the hotel, lovely stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VindraK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MJDempsey, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express New York City - Chelsea, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Dear VindraK,
Thank you for your stay and FIVE STAR REVIEW! We are noted for our helpful and attentive staff. Thank you for letting us know you enjoyed our commitment to true hospitality. Visitors have many choices when coming to New York City. We have developed a loyal guests because we provide such excellent service. We look forward to your next stay!
Regards,
Matthew Dempsey/Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Chelsea
Hampton Inn Manhattan - Madison Square Garden Area
Hampton Inn Manhattan - Madison ...
#170 of 468 in New York City
1,894 reviews
Chelsea
Holiday Inn NYC - Manhattan 6th Avenue - Chelsea
Holiday Inn NYC - Manhattan 6th ...
#330 of 468 in New York City
1,286 reviews
Chelsea
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Chelsea
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Che...
#118 of 468 in New York City
814 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chelsea
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Midtown Manhattan/Penn Station
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York ...
#113 of 468 in New York City
1,290 reviews
Chelsea
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Chelsea
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Chelsea
#157 of 468 in New York City
1,848 reviews
Midtown
Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square
Holiday Inn Express New York Cit...
#287 of 468 in New York City
2,092 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express New York City - Chelsea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express New York City - Chelsea

Property: Holiday Inn Express New York City - Chelsea
Address: 232 West 29th Street, New York City, NY 10001-5201 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express NYC Madison Square Garden)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Chelsea , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#64 Green Hotel in New York City
#147 Business Hotel in New York City
#182 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#195 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express New York City - Chelsea 3*
Number of rooms: 228
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thank you for choosing the newly renovated Holiday Inn Express New York City - Chelsea hotel located right in the heart of Chelsea and Madison Square Garden area. We include a complimentary hot and cold Express Start Breakfast for all guests of the hotel. Our recently refreshed 15-story high-rise hotel with amenities include free high speed wired and wireless Internet access, free local calls, fitness center, rear garden terrace and a full business center. We are just ten short blocks from Times Square. Also within walking distance is Penn Station, the Empire State Building, Jacob Javits Convention Center, Fashion Institute of Technology, Theatre District, Macy's, mid-town and 5th Avenue shopping. Rockefeller Center is just one mile away! We are also centrally located to many fine restaurants, entertainment venues and some of the finest shopping the city has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, HotelPower, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Holiday Inn Express New York City - Chelsea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Nyc - Madison Square Garden Hotel New York City
Holiday Inn New York City
New York City Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing