We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Book it if u r into commute convenience & fantastic food service staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express New York City - Chelsea
Ranked #259 of 473 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed November 17, 2013

Due to several positive feedback on this hotel, I booked a 5N stay. With taxes etc, worked out to be an average of USD320 per night. I needed a place with clean rooms, transport convenience and surrounding area relatively safe. This hotel fulfills these criteria. They gave me the room that faced the street...it is a quiet street. But the opposite building was probably doing some refurbishment and the garbage truck came by a few times in the early morning. The dragging and throwing of stuff was loud and one can hardly rest well.

Buffet breakfast included with the price. Spread is pretty decent - bread, cinnamon buns, waffles, cornflakes, sausages, bacon strips, omelettes, coffee, tea and juices. 9 to 10am is probably most crowded, but food constantly being topped up. Kudos to the 3 food service staff ! One day I was seated and having my breakfast...one guest who had wanted to reach the buffet table quicker had the cheek to wave at me to get up to let him cross over. One of the service staff spotted and immediately requested him to take a longer route instead - without me having to get up. Thumbs up to attentiveness!

Hotel is within 3mins & 5mins walk to 28th street and Penn station respectively so getting around is really easy. There are many eateries selling sandwiches, pizza around the area. You can walk to Macy, Empire State Building and Times Square easily.

Room Tip: Don't take rooms that face the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joey A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MJDempsey, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express New York City - Chelsea, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2013

Dear Joey A,
Thank you for your stay and review! Our proximity to Penn Station makes us a favorite for commuters. Breakfast is busy and as you experienced, well staffed and well stocked.
We look forward to your next stay with us.
Regards,
Matthew Dempsey/Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,106)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

722 - 728 of 2,106 reviews

Reviewed November 15, 2013

This is a great place to stay in NYC amazing value for money and the breakfast although very very busy is great and plenty of choice with constant replenishing of food. Very friendly staff who cannot do enough for you, even took my breakfast porridge away to place in microwave for me. Rooms are decent size for NYC and very clean, great advantage having the outdoor space at the front which can be used for breakfast when its warm enough. We had requested two rooms as close as poss which was accommodated and it was the NY marathon weekend so extremely busy but staff never seem stressed or hassled. Great location just 5 mins from Madison Sq Gdns would stay there again and would highly recommend.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank helen ramshaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MJDempsey, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express New York City - Chelsea, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2013

Dear Helen ramshaw,
Thank you for your stay and FIVE STAR REVIEW! We really are a great New York Hotel. Our complimentary breakfast, location and friendly staff make the difference during a stay. We are a busy hotel and we know how to treat our valued guests. We look forward to your next stay with us!
Regards,
Matthew Dempsey/Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2013

Service was excellent. Staff very knowledgeable and helpful. Rooms were very small but clean and met our basic needs. Breakfast was busy, busy, busy! Had to eat in the room 3 out of 4 days but we were still grateful for a great free breakfast to start our day. Free coffee and tea throughout the day and evening was also a nice added bonus after a long day of walking the streets. Would definitely stay here again. Great value for NYC!

Room Tip: lower floor means you don't have to wait on the elevator. There is no view to worry about!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank angelv73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MJDempsey, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express New York City - Chelsea, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2013

Dear Angel V,
Thank you for your stay and review! We enjoyed having you stay with us. Breakfast is very popular and we are glad you were able to enjoy.
We look forward to your next stay with us.
Regards,
Matthew Dempsey/Front Office Manger

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2013

We arrived at this hotel prior to check in time and our room was not yet ready which we expected. They held our luggage for us and offered to call us when it was ready, we opted to not have that call back as we would return later in the day. When we first entered the hotel we could smell chlorine bleach as the breakfast area was being mopped. We were happy to know it was well cleaned. The front desk staff were very friendly and and informative. We were staying here the last night of our trip. It is located about a ten minute or less walk to Madison Square Gardens where we were attending a concert which was so convenient. The room was very clean with crisp, white sheets and bathroom was also clean. The room is not large which I guess is the norm for that area. We asked for recommendations where to eat in the area and they provided us with a list of restaurants as well as a 10% discount card to a local irish tavern which we used. Our night was a short one as we were taking a 7 a.m. flight from JFK and had asked for a wake up call which didn't happen but we had our cell phone alarm set and were awake before we were to get up at 3:45 a.m. All in all it was a great experience and would recommend it.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IslandGirl09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MJDempsey, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express New York City - Chelsea, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2013

Dear IslandGirl09,
Thank you for your stay and review! I'm sorry about the missed wake up call and will follow up with staff. We love to help our guests enjoy the city and our neighborhood. Our rooms are standard sized NYC rooms which are newly renovated and perfectly clean. Thank you for noticing! I hope you will choose us the next time you are in Manhattan so we can point our other great restaurants.
Regards,
Matthew Dempsey/Front Desk Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2013

Returning to this gem of a hotel after 11 months, I was happy to discover that this place hadn't lost any of its appeal. The staff was as friendly as ever and the location is to die for just a couple blocks South of Penn Station. I did have a couple issues during my visit, but the staff was quick to assist and when I commented about them at check out, Arnold and Anais, who were manning the desk were quick to apologize and try to soothe any ruffled feathers. I am sure to go back on my next trip to NYC.

Room Tip: Avoid the Corner rooms and the ones right next to that
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jehenson81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MJDempsey, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express New York City - Chelsea, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2013

Dear jehenson81,
Thank you for staying with us again and posting a review! We work hard to make each stay perfect. I am glad you let us know that you had a problem during your stay. We can fix anything as long as you let us know about it. We love taking care of our guests and especially welcoming back previous guests.
We look forward to your next stay.
Regards,
Matthew Dempsey/Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2013

We arrived at this hotel early in the morning and our room was not ready, even though I am a platinum memeber with IHG.
We were able to leave our bags in the closet and the receptionist told us she would give us a call as soon as the room would be ready.
We went for a walk and the call she promised never came, so we ended-up checking in after 3 PM, which is the regular checkin time for non-members.
The place is in a quiet road very close to the Madison Square Garden and within walking distance to Times Square.
There is a subway station very close on 28th St. with 7th Ave.
The other comment I have about the hotel is how busy it is for breakfast, no matter what time you go.

Room Tip: All rooms are pretty much the same and there is no loud noise even on the ones facing the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bob_Creek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MJDempsey, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express New York City - Chelsea, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2013

Dear Bob_Creek,
Thank you for your review. My sincere apologies for the missed call that was promised to you. As a Platinum IHG Rewards Club Member, you are one of our most important guests. We try to do everything possible to make your stay perfect. I am sorry we failed to call. Please let me know when you are returning to NYC so I can make everything perfect for your next stay. We are committed to providing excellent service to our guests. I feel terrible that we let you down.
I hope you will forgive us and stay with us the next time you are in NYC.
Regards,
Matthew Dempsey/Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2013

This is a relatively new hotel with a good standard of room. The place is clean and well located. The breakfast for a HIE was fab, great choice if a little crowded at times. The seated area outside the front door is a nice place to eat breakfast. They could do a bit more with the paved garden area at the back of the hotel. The wait for the elevators cold sometimes be a little frustrating, but that can only be expected at peak times in a multi-storey building.
However, the most remarkable thing about the hotel is the staff. They are extremely pleasant/ friendly, sincere and helpful. I think that the team (from the front desk to the people that clean the rooms) is the best that I have seen at any HIE or hotel in this market. I am tempted to say that the level of staff performance in this hotel could actually show others at more up-market establishments how it should be done. I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel for this price range/market.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dmun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MJDempsey, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express New York City - Chelsea, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2013

Dear Dmun,
Thank you for your recent stay and FIVE STAR REVIEW! "Best Staff Ever" is one of the greatest things a guest can tell us. We love to take care of our valued guests. We hope you will consider us your home when you visit NYC.
Regards,
Matthew Dempsey/Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square
Holiday Inn Express New York Cit...
#288 of 473 in New York City
2,235 reviews
Midtown
Holiday Inn Express Manhattan Times Square South
Holiday Inn Express Manhattan Ti...
#202 of 473 in New York City
1,229 reviews
Chelsea
Holiday Inn NYC - Manhattan 6th Avenue - Chelsea
Holiday Inn NYC - Manhattan 6th ...
#335 of 473 in New York City
1,357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chelsea
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Midtown Manhattan/Penn Station
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York ...
#113 of 473 in New York City
1,483 reviews
Financial District
Holiday Inn Express New York City-Wall Street
Holiday Inn Express New York Cit...
#368 of 473 in New York City
536 reviews
Chelsea
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Chelsea
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manha...
#212 of 473 in New York City
2,135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express New York City - Chelsea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express New York City - Chelsea

Address: 232 West 29th Street, New York City, NY 10001-5201 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express NYC Madison Square Garden)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Chelsea , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#63 Green Hotel in New York City
#93 Family Hotel in New York City
#142 Business Hotel in New York City
#177 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $127 - $381 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express New York City - Chelsea 3*
Number of rooms: 228
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thank you for choosing the newly renovated Holiday Inn Express New York City - Chelsea hotel located right in the heart of Chelsea and Madison Square Garden area. We include a complimentary hot and cold Express Start Breakfast for all guests of the hotel. Our recently refreshed 15-story high-rise hotel with amenities include free high speed wired and wireless Internet access, free local calls, fitness center, rear garden terrace and a full business center. We are just ten short blocks from Times Square. Also within walking distance is Penn Station, the Empire State Building, Jacob Javits Convention Center, Fashion Institute of Technology, Theatre District, Macy's, mid-town and 5th Avenue shopping. Rockefeller Center is just one mile away! We are also centrally located to many fine restaurants, entertainment venues and some of the finest shopping the city has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express New York City - Chelsea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Nyc - Madison Square Garden Hotel New York City
Holiday Inn New York City
New York City Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing