We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Brilliant property, even better staff!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express New York City - Chelsea
Ranked #273 of 467 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersBronze level
Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Brilliant property, even better staff!!”
Reviewed September 13, 2013

Deciding on a place to stay in New York (stayed in June 2013 for 5 nights) was a daunting task, indeed. Finding a convenient location with amenities was a priority, for us a family of five. We finally decided on this property after the multiple positive reviews on the net. This property offered us free wi-fi as well as breakfast. After doing the booking through the IHG website (got a great deal), we called up the hotel with specific requests, all of which they met. The front desk was extremely helpful and check in was a breeze. The rooms were clean, albeit a little small and had all that one would need on a trip. In one of our rooms we could not set the code on our safe. However this was attended to promptly and there were no subsequent issues. Toiletries including razors were just a phone call away. The beds were quite comfortable and after a good nights sleep it was time to tuck into a hearty breakfast. The breakfast was vast and catered to all (one of my sons is vegetarian). The staff here was very helpful and made us feel very comfortable. There were pancakes, muffins, bagels, various breads, fruits and juices, yogurt, sausages, cheeses, eggs, salami etc. For me the crowning glory was coffee and tea being available in the lobby 24x7. Never needed to use the tea/coffee maker in the room. What a boon, as I was able to catch up with friends in the lobby over a lovely coffee. The wi-fi was good and we could connect to multiple devices (unlike a few hotels where you could only use one device per room). Location was superb and walking distance to all major attractions. Getting back late was also not a problem and we felt safe at all times. Check out was also a breeze and they gave us a late checkout. The staff was brilliant, especially Mr. Dempsey with whom I had a lot of constructive interactions. Would we stay at this property again? Definitely and would recommend it to all.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank miniyoga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MJDempsey, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express New York City - Chelsea, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
Dear miniyoga,
Thank you for a FIVE STAR REVIEW. We enjoyed having you stay with us. We offer complimentary wifi, breakfast, toiletries to all of our guests because it makes our guests happy. We have a hardworking and dedicated staff who love to help our guests. Thank you for letting us know that we did a good job!
We'll see you next time in New York City!
Regards,
Matthew Dempsey/Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,972 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    606
    915
    316
    74
    61
See reviews for
637
538
136
225
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (315)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cobourg, Ontario
Level Contributor
43 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2013

After spending a lot of time searching for a hotel in NYC that was relatively modern with a big bed but also not too expensive for NYC, we stayed at Holiday Inn Madison Square Gardens. We booked and then kept an eye on the HI website. The price actually dropped twice and thus we paid what we felt was a very reasonable NYC price for this modern and very clean hotel. The room was typical NYC size, but we did have a very comfortable king sized bed, flat screen t.v., a chair to sit in and desk; really all my husband and I needed. A breakfast with lots of hot items was provided free daily and coffee and tea was always available. The outside tables and chairs were a nice touch also. The elevators were small but we were on the 3rd floor so could scoot down, grab some breakfast in the busy breakfast area and take it to our room back upstairs. Just a bit noisy outside on garbage mornings but nothing too serious. The location was excellent, kind of in the middle of most things and the subway access was excellent. Staff were friendly and accommodating. I would stay here again for the price we got - just as reasonable or more than many of the hotwire/priceline prices, (which we use a lot) where you do not know what hotel you are getting - too many In NYC to take that risk - didn't want an old hotel room with twin beds! I always complete my reviews based on what I am getting got my dollar and this one was definitely great considering NY prices.

Room Tip: Apparently higher rooms have a view and less noise, but we found the 3rd floor great as we could use...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MHarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MJDempsey, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express New York City - Chelsea, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
Dear MHarry,
Thank you for your stay and giving us a FIVE STAR REVIE! We are proud to offer our guest a "Great Value". We know travelers have many choices in NYC hotels. We are glad you were able to enjoy our outdoor area. It is a jewel in the city and uncommon. Our staff loves to help our guests. Anything you need, just ask!
We hope you stay with us again on your next trip to NYC!
Regards,
Matthew Dempsey/Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maynard, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
149 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2013

Excellent central location with just short walks to key destinations. Breakfast was as expected, did not get to gym. Staff was super friendly. Rooms are as expected quite small, but pretty up to date and clean. Central hallways were very warm, of 85 degrees, so my AC never stopped going. Got the room down to about 71 despite setting thermostat lower. Mind you it was about 90 in NYC, so it was not a big deal.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maynard_Marc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MJDempsey, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express New York City - Chelsea, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
Dear Maynard_Marc,
Thank you for your stay and FIVE STAR REVIEW! The gym is ready for you any time. Breakfast is one our guests favorite ways to start the day. We know it can get hot in the city so we make sure we keep our guests comfortable.
We look forward to you visiting in the fall and winter too!
Regards,
Matthew Dempsey/Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2013

This was our first time in NY, so more or less we were looking for a place to sleep. After the long walks we had it was nice to have a place to relax. People at the hotel were very friendly and helpful. The location is great, near every thing. We will go back again next time

Room Tip: As on reservation to have a front view and higher floor, you can see the ESB.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Monica I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MJDempsey, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express New York City - Chelsea, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
Dear Monica I,
Thank you for your FIVE STAR REVIEW and staying with us. Viiews of the Empire State Building, comfortable rooms and having breakfast included make us a great choice for the first time visitor to New York City. I'm glad that was you experience!
We'll see you next time.
Regards,
Matthew Dempsey/Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
Reviewed September 5, 2013

Let's face it... when in NYC for only 3-4 days, most of us just want to make the most of it and spending a lot of time at the hotel is not a priority. Well, this hotel is in a great location smack bang in the middle of Manhattan, close to all major public transport including the Penn Station for subway and trains. It is close enough to head uptown towards Times Sq., Central Park etc or downtown towards Soho, the villages, Wall St area etc...
The staff was helpful and the hotel is in great clean condition esp' for NY. The room was more than satisfactory for 1-2 people and no real concerns. Oh, must mention the bed which is very comfortable. My room was also right next to the elevator (which I normally do not like), but the noise level was zero. They also have 2 elevators and not a long wait most times of the day or night. Last but not least, they actually do a very decent breakfast (they even provide hot milk for cereal) which was tasty all-round and a great boost to start an energetic day in the Big Apple!
Compared to other similar hotels in the area I reviewed, this one is def' the best value for money. I will definitely stay here again on my next trip.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a king bed, very comfy and relaxing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suky L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MJDempsey, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express New York City - Chelsea, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
Dear Suky L,
Thank you for your review and stay! 'Best value for the money' is very important to our guests and we are proud to offer it. Our location combined with the complimentary breakfast to start the day, really do make us a great way to enjoy the city. Our beds and comfy so you can relax after a day of exploring.
We look forward to your next NYC trip and stay with us.
Regards,
Matthew Dempsey/Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Level Contributor
84 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2013

We recently stayed here for 2 nights, and our stay was excellent. All of the staff were friendly and exceptionally helpful, the rooms are immaculate, and the beds are comfortable. The location of the hotel was perfect for us...just a block or so from Penn Station and walking distance to Times Square and Rockefeller Plaza. The free breakfast was also very nice, and included more items and variety than the "normal" Holiday Inn Express, including healthy options such as Kashi cereal, Greek Yogurt, Fresh Fruit, whole wheat English muffins, etc. Further, they never seemed to run out of anything...there were 2 attendants making sure everything was replenished regularly.

There were only 2 minor negatives. First, as with any hotel in Manhattan, the rooms are very small, so expect this when you arrive. Secondly, although the breakfast was good, it was VERY crowded...again, this is probably expected for a hotel in the middle of Manhattan, so just be prepared for this.

We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank arrosen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MJDempsey, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express New York City - Chelsea, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
Dear arrosen,
Thank you for your FIVE STAR REVIEW and recent stay! We are happy you enjoyed your stay. We have many great new breakfast items so breakfast gets busy! Our rooms are newly renovated and include all the amenities. We really do have great staff. We take pride in helping our guests any way possible. Our location makes it easy to explore all the attractions of the city.
We look forward to your next stay!
Regards,
Matthew Dempsey/Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
116 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Stayed at this hotel recently for three nights. Initially our room was a garden level accessible room, which meant it was larger than a typical king room. However, that room turned out to be a nightmare. Our a/c unit was non functional. The housekeepers congregated outside our door at 7am where they proceeded to spend hours gossiping extremely loud.

After an hour of that and thinking we were listening to other guests who were just plain rude, we opened the door in hopes of asking them to be considerate. This is when we discovered it was the housekeepers! They did quiet down after we asked but that only lasted twenty minutes. They were so loud; when we called the front desk the front desk girl could hear them over the phone!

Since our a/c didn't work we were moved to another room on the fourth floor only to experience the constant slamming of doors all morning long.

The location is superb. The hotel is clean and the rooms are spacious but perhaps they should invest time training housekeeping staff a bit about customer service and satisfaction.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Belle1025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gdesoiza, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express New York City - Chelsea, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Dear Belle,
I can't apologize enough for your experience. As your's was not the typical one that our guests have come to expect: It concerns me greatly and demands an immediate remedy.
It's difficult for me to pinpoint the associates that were speaking outside of your room so early in the morning; as most of our staff is scheduled to arrive a little later in the morning. However, I will take this opportunity to speak with all associates; reminding them of their responsibility to respect our guest comfort (at all hours). Furthermore, I'm not happy to hear that any air conditioner that would be unreliable or defective. I will address this with our maintenance staff. I take this information very seriously.
We are a busy Midtown hotel and occassionally our tour groups are very active on guest floors; visiting each others rooms and not being concious of the door slamming. We only have one or two room attendants on floors, so their contribution to door slamming should have been minimal. However, your review gives me a great opportunity to remind the staff and create more awareness.
You can certainly contact me directly. I would like to apologize personally.
Gary DeSoiza, General Manager
gary.desoiza@hhmlp.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Chelsea
Hampton Inn Manhattan - Madison Square Garden Area
Hampton Inn Manhattan - Madison ...
#164 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,872 reviews
Chelsea
Holiday Inn NYC - Manhattan 6th Avenue - Chelsea
Holiday Inn NYC - Manhattan 6th ...
#330 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,271 reviews
Chelsea
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Chelsea
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Che...
#124 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 800 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chelsea
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Chelsea
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Chelsea
#154 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,828 reviews
Chelsea
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Chelsea
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York ...
#187 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 794 reviews
Chelsea
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Midtown Manhattan/Penn Station
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York ...
#111 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express New York City - Chelsea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express New York City - Chelsea

Property: Holiday Inn Express New York City - Chelsea
Address: 232 West 29th Street, New York City, NY 10001-5201 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express NYC Madison Square Garden)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Chelsea , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#65 Green Hotel in New York City
#147 Business Hotel in New York City
#182 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#195 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express New York City - Chelsea 3*
Number of rooms: 228
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thank you for choosing the Holiday Inn Express New York City - Chelsea hotel located right in the heart of Chelsea and Madison Square Garden area. We include a complimentary hot and cold Express Start Breakfast for all guests of the hotel. Our hotel is a new 15 story high-rise hotel with amenities to include free high speed wired and wireless Internet access, free local calls, fitness center, rear garden terrace and a full business center. We are just ten short blocks from Times Square. Also within walking distance is Penn Station, the Empire State Building, Jacob Javits Convention Center, Fashion Institute of Technology, Theatre District, Macy's, mid-town and 5th Avenue shopping. Rockefeller Center is just one mile away! We are also centrally located to many fine restaurants, entertainment venues and some of the finest shopping the city has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and HRS so you can book your Holiday Inn Express New York City - Chelsea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Nyc - Madison Square Garden Hotel New York City
Holiday Inn New York City
New York City Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing