We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In the Heart of Manhattan”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express New York City - Chelsea
Ranked #264 of 466 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersBronze level
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“In the Heart of Manhattan”
Reviewed January 27, 2013

Stayed here for a night in July 2012. Got a King Bed Leisure Non-smoking room for USD 145.00. Found the room a little cramped for space; there was virtually any walking space between the bed and the TV or between the living area and the bathroom. The overall condition of the room and cleanliness were very good though. The hallways too were very narrow and very labyrinthine.

Big Plus: Location. This hotel is practically next to Madison Sq garden, and therefore in the heart of all the activities. Closeness to Penn Station makes it an extremely convenient stay for those taking the train or bus in and out of NYC.

Staff: Very friendly, courteous, accommodating, and helpful.

Another plus: The buffet breakfast every morning. That's one scrumptious meal they offer for free!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bhuparjatak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maggie H, Manager at Holiday Inn Express New York City - Chelsea, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Dear bhuparjatak,

Thank you for your stellar review! I am very happy to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay and found our hotel centrally located and of great value. I will certainly share your compliments with my team to thank them for the friendly and courteous service they delivered during your visit.

I hope that you will give us first consideration on a return trip to New York City!

Best Regards,

Maggie Houston
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,005 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    617
    932
    319
    76
    61
See reviews for
648
547
137
226
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (320)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Albany, New York
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Very friendly staff always pleasent stay. Hotel is close to major attractions in Mid-town Manhattan. The Hotel is always busy and it is amazing how I never have to wait to get service I need it. Never had a bad stay there.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank S H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maggie H, Manager at Holiday Inn Express New York City - Chelsea, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Dear S H,

Thank you for taking a moment to comment on your visits at the Holiday Inn Express Madison Square Garden! I am very pleased that you note that despite our very busy atmosphere, our staff delivers service without hesitation and with a friendly, genuine smile.

We look forward to welcoming you back on many a return visit!

Best Regards,

Maggie Houston
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2013

My Wife and I were attending a concert in Madison Square Garden and wanted to stay close by. The hotel is approximately 2 blocks away. Although not fancy, it was clean, reasonably priced and had a great breakfast. I like the Chelsea area because of it's proximity to many sites such as Times Square and the Empire State Building. For the money it's a solid choice.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maggie H, Manager at Holiday Inn Express New York City - Chelsea, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Dear Alan E,

Thank you for providing feedback regarding your stay. I am glad that you found our hotel clean, comfortable and ideally located. I hope you and your wife enjoyed the concert at Madison Square Garden and that you will give us first consideration when planning return trips to our area.

Best Regards,

Maggie Houston
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WIRRAL
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2013

Visited New York 03.12.12-07.12.12, with family.

We decided to book The Holiday Inn Express for its central location. I am a firm believer you get what you pay for! But this hotel is good value and includes extra little touches. Our room was on the 11th floor, noise not a problem! I was very pleased with the high standards and service.

It is obviously in constant use. On our day of departure rooms in the basement where being painted and carpets on our landing being cleaned. Have previously stayed at the Roosevelt Hotel paying a lot more and getting less I must say I’d rather stay here!

Location is ideal. We arrived at 3:30pm, and by 4:30pm we were up the Empire State. We purchased tickets from ticket touts outside costing $156.00, they automatically added fast track, was a little concerned, but for once it worked out well as your can also use your ticket to go on the cruise from the ferry which takes you around the Hudson River, seeing a lot of attractions, unfortunately The Statue of Liberty was closed due to hurricane damage. Just make sure you exchange your tickets at the booth before queuing up....

Lots of good eating places nearby, one I wouldn’t bother with is Biricchino not a lot of choice, small portions and expensive! Our favourite place was just around the corner called The Triple Crown.

Would not hesitate to book this hotel again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WirralGirly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maggie H, Manager at Holiday Inn Express New York City - Chelsea, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Dear WirralGirly,

Thank you for your wonderful review of the Holiday Inn Express Madison Square Garden! I am glad that you felt your money was well-spent in choosing our hotel. We pride ourselves in accommodating our guests with a clean, comfortable room and hot, delicious breakfast. Although we are a busy hotel, I am happy to hear that you noted the work we put into ensuring our rooms feel fresh and clean for every guest who visits us.

Thank you for also providing additional advice regarding the city. I am sure your feedback regarding the Empire State Building will be very beneficial for those visiting the area.

Please visit us again. We would love to welcome you back in the near future!

Best Regards,

Maggie Houston
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
1,734 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 620 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2013

This hotel is ideally located in the middle of Manhattan and is conveniently located near two different subway lines. The room I had was a bit small and with only two elevators there is a bit of a wait to get up and down. But the service was excellent. The front desk staff was extremely willing to help (especially when my phone charger decided to stop working and then let me use one of their personal phone charger at the front desk). The lovely express breakfast was hot and inviting, with different options each day (limited options, but still options). The best part was that for being in Midtown, the price was very reasonable and you didn't have to waste time taking a ferry from NJ where hotels are cheaper. So Great Location with a well known name. How can you beat that?

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jehenson81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maggie H, Manager at Holiday Inn Express New York City - Chelsea, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Dear jehenson81,

Thank you for spending a moment to review your stay at our hotel. I am very pleased that you found our "location, location, location" ideal for exploring the city. I am also happy to hear that our staff went above and beyond to assist you.

Please give us first consideration when planning a return trip to NYC!

Warmest Regards,

Maggie Houston
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel twice before and will not hesitate to stay there again. The staff on the front desk are very helpful and welcoming and the rooms are comfortable and clean. They offer free breakfast but because of the crowds we did not avail ourselves of this feature. Aside from having coffee makers in the room, they offer coffee and tea in the lobby at night as well. Lastly, I love the location with the close proximity to 7th Avenue, Macy's, etc and walking distance to Times Square

Room Tip: Try eating at Mustang Harry's at 7th and 29th. Fresh food and good service.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank madrews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maggie H, Manager at Holiday Inn Express New York City - Chelsea, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Dear madrews,

Thank you choosing the Holiday Inn Express Madison Square Garden for a third time! I am very happy to hear that we continue to maintain your business with welcoming, helpful staff; clean, comfortable rooms and hot, complimentary breakfast.

While the third time's a charm, I hope we can have you back for a fourth visit!

Best Regards,

Maggie Houston
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2013

We arrived at this hotel late at night and were quickly checked in by friendly staff. The room had one king size bed which was very comfortable and the room was very clean. The room had tea and coffee making facilities and an ice bucket. The rooms were cleaned each day with fresh towels given. Breakfast is served in the lobby downstairs with a wide range of choice such as cereals, bagels, toast, scones, pancakes, sausage, bacon and cinnamon buns. However it is a small room which made it difficult to find a seat so its best to go down early, although the food can be taken back up to the room. The hotel location is perfect with the subway round the corner and only a few stops away from Times Square. Would defiantly recommend staying at this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a higher level facing the front of the hotel. The Empire State Building can be see...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emma L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maggie H, Manager at Holiday Inn Express New York City - Chelsea, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Dear Emma L,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at the Holiday Inn Express Madison Square Garden. I am happy to hear that you found your guestroom clean and comfortable; the breakfast varied and plentiful, and the location superb.

We hope to welcome you back on a return visit to New York City!

Best Regards,

Maggie Houston
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Chelsea
Hampton Inn Manhattan - Madison Square Garden Area
Hampton Inn Manhattan - Madison ...
#164 of 466 in New York City
1,918 reviews
Chelsea
Holiday Inn NYC - Manhattan 6th Avenue - Chelsea
Holiday Inn NYC - Manhattan 6th ...
#329 of 466 in New York City
1,292 reviews
Chelsea
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Chelsea
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Che...
#110 of 466 in New York City
834 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chelsea
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Midtown Manhattan/Penn Station
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York ...
#117 of 466 in New York City
1,322 reviews
Chelsea
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Chelsea
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Chelsea
#161 of 466 in New York City
1,874 reviews
Midtown
Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square
Holiday Inn Express New York Cit...
#292 of 466 in New York City
2,123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express New York City - Chelsea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express New York City - Chelsea

Property: Holiday Inn Express New York City - Chelsea
Address: 232 West 29th Street, New York City, NY 10001-5201 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express NYC Madison Square Garden)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Chelsea , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#65 Green Hotel in New York City
#145 Business Hotel in New York City
#180 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#192 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express New York City - Chelsea 3*
Number of rooms: 228
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thank you for choosing the newly renovated Holiday Inn Express New York City - Chelsea hotel located right in the heart of Chelsea and Madison Square Garden area. We include a complimentary hot and cold Express Start Breakfast for all guests of the hotel. Our recently refreshed 15-story high-rise hotel with amenities include free high speed wired and wireless Internet access, free local calls, fitness center, rear garden terrace and a full business center. We are just ten short blocks from Times Square. Also within walking distance is Penn Station, the Empire State Building, Jacob Javits Convention Center, Fashion Institute of Technology, Theatre District, Macy's, mid-town and 5th Avenue shopping. Rockefeller Center is just one mile away! We are also centrally located to many fine restaurants, entertainment venues and some of the finest shopping the city has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express New York City - Chelsea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Nyc - Madison Square Garden Hotel New York City
Holiday Inn New York City
New York City Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing