We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express New York City - Chelsea
Ranked #273 of 467 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersBronze level
manchester england
Level Contributor
88 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“good location”
Reviewed January 1, 2013

A good standard hotel in an excellent location .it was extremly busy in the breakfast area but the breakfast was varied and of a good standard,the rooms were small but ok,if your at the front of the hotel low down it can be noisy due to the transport premesis opposite ;but its NYC its always noisy,would definetly stay there again

Room Tip: rooms at the front and low down can be noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fennerjames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maggie H, Manager at Holiday Inn Express New York City - Chelsea, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Dear fennerjames,

Thank you for taking the time to review your visit at our hotel. I am happy that you found our breakfast varied and of good value. We are currently in the process of upgrading all of our guest rooms and installing additional sound barriers to help reduce the NYC noise you mention. I hope that you will give us the opportunity to show you the improvements we've made by visiting us again.

Best,

Maggie Houston
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,973 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    607
    915
    316
    74
    61
See reviews for
638
538
136
225
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (316)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2012

Stayed for 6 nights over Christmas and while the staff are fantastic, the service is awesome, the room size is just wrong! It's great for a couple or maybe even a squeeze for 3 people, but for a family of 3 or more or 4 adults - as was my party - it was really difficult. There is no room for luggage and you are constantly bumping into beds, chairs, each other, etc.
On a much more positive note, the breakfast is really nice but another negative is the room to sit in the dining area. You either have to get down there really early - who wants that on holidays - or take your food back to your small room to eat. It's really mayhem down there!
Another positive is the gym and computer area where you can print your boarding passes, travel vouchers, etc. it's a really nice extra that's free, along with free wifi!
I would go back to this hotel, but not with a big group. I was travelling with a group of 7 others, it was a family holiday, and it just wasn't comfortable.

Otherwise, everything else was fine.

Room Tip: Go for a room with only 1 bed so you can move around a bit easier.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kells2503
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
155 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2012

I am staying in this hotel at the moment with a family member. We arrived yesterday. We had paid $2885 to the Holiday Inn Express Madison Square Garden for 8 nights accommodation in a twin room. Bookings were made through www.expedia.com.au and confirmation of the booking was received on 12 November. When we arrived we were informed that they only had a single bed room available and I would have to sleep on the floor. There were no folding beds available, The hotel maid offered us one duvet and two pillows to make up a second bed on the floor. The room measures 4 metres by 3 metres. You try to imagine how much floor space is available for a second bed and suitcases. It has a King size bed. I have just spent my first night trying to sleep on the floor and it was very unpleasant. After travelling a long way from Australia to face this level of courtesy and hospitality from a good hotel is disappointing to say the least. I spent three and a half hours of my first four hours at this hotel yesterday evening trying to sort out the mess. I made the phone calls from the hotel reception. During those hours, I heard other customers trying to check in. One guy had driven six hours, his partner had flown from the west coast to NY only to find this hotel had no rooms for them. But he cursed and swore enough to have his problem sorted. I spoke to 8 people at Expedia during three phone calls. They blamed the hotel for the mix-up, Holiday Inn blame Expedia. One female staff member working on the front desk said they hate receiving bookings from Expedia. The hotel sent confirmation of our booking to Expedia six weeks ago and Expedia passed this on to us. The four front office staff, including the front office manager, found our predicament highly amusing and offered no help at all. So for anyone saving up their hard-earned money for a lovely week in New York,learn from our situation. The hotel staff don't care less, One final comment - the US is the only country I have visited in 42 years of international travel which expects, yes expects tourists to pay tips to their citizens working in the tourist industry. They forget that we expect to receive what we paid for. Our $2885 booking was meant to purchase two beds not a sleepless night on the floor.

Room Tip: Don't stay at this hotel. They will willingly take your money but will not honour the booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank OZtraveller222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maggie H, Manager at Holiday Inn Express New York City - Chelsea, responded to this review, January 5, 2013
Dear OZtraveller222,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback concerning your visit with our hotel. I am very sorry to hear that you were not provided with the room that you had expected when reserving your room with Expedia.com.
I have done a bit of research and note that you reserved a Standard Room via Expedia's website. Unfortunately, this room type does not guarantee two beds and our property was fully committed on Double Rooms at the time of your booking. While Expedia does clearly note that two beds can only be guaranteed by booking a Double Room, I am very sorry if you did not understand that Expedia was not guaranteeing your requested room type.
While our hotel does everything in its power to grant all requests made by our patrons, we must ensure that the guests who reserve our Double Rooms receive the room type that was guaranteed to them upon booking.

Best Regards,

Maggie Houston
Assistant Genearl Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 27, 2012

This hotel was in a great location, right in the heart of New York. Bedrooms were quite small, but if you only plan to use it to rest your head, then this was no problem. Staff very accommodating. Great choice of breakfast but you need to be up early as seating in the dining room is very limited. Overall I would highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Higher rooms are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hillier40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2012

I stayed here for 3 nights total on 2 seperate time during the trip. The hotel is in a great and safe location, very close to the Subway line (less than 5mins walk). Close to Penn Station if you need the Amtrak. Both rooms I stayed in were great, keep in mind this is a NYC hotel so you can't expect large space in the room. Everything was clean and everything worked perfect.

I stayed at the HIE Midtown 31st and I am going to say this hotel is WAY WAY WAY better than that one. The service at this location is AMAZING compared to the other one. I did not encounter one person who didn't say Hi or not willing to help you with your problems and that is a HUGE plus when it comes to staying in a hotel. You can look at my review for that other property.

I took the car service to Newark Airport from this hotel very early morning (3:30am) and it cost $90.

This is a great hotel and I will def stay here again next time when I come to NYC. Customer service is what keep guests and this hotel know exactly what they are doing unlike the other property nearby,

Room Tip: Subway takes you to Times Sq very fast but you can also walk down 7th Ave for about 15mins or so &am...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank west_coast22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridgeshire
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 night at the beginning of December 2012 during a short break away in NYC and we loved it.

We arrived late at night and was exhausted, luckily check in was fast and efficient and the guy on reception was friendly and welcoming. We were travelling with friends and was pleased when we were given rooms next to each other on the 7th floor. The room was lovely, it was clean and cosy with an incredibly comfortable big bed and a great power shower. I was concerned that the hotel would be noisy after reading some negative reviews before travelling but in fact we slept really really well (actually we slept better here than we do at home) and didn't hear any noise during the night.

Breakfast was interesting! The dining room is tiny and if you pick a popular time to head to breakfast then you won't get a seat. It's not really a problem that can be solved as the hotel is more tall than wide and there isn't really any room for a big dining area. To be honest it wasn't a problem for us - we were not bothered about a long leisurely breakfast as we were too excited about getting out and viewing the city (that's the reason we travelled all this way after all). The seating issue aside ... The breakfast was great, a buffet of loveliness!! Pancakes, sausages, muffins, fruit, cakes, yoghurts, cereals ... There was lots of choice and it was restocked constantly.

I would suggest that if you are using a hotel as a 'base' whist sightseeing etc then it's the effect place to stay. It's not luxurious but it is clean, comfy and friendly with a great complimentary breakfast, really nice staff and free Wifi. It's also within walking distance of all the sights of NYC. I would definitely stay here again and would recommend it to friends.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kel-1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2012

This hotel was perfect for a first time visitor to New York - it was well situated as base to explore the city. Breakfast was included in the cost but it was a bit chaotic in the mornings as there wasn't really enough space for the number of guests wanting to eat. Hotel staff were very helpful and gave some good tips about the area.
The room was good but we really didn't spend to much time in it. The big plus was the location - close to everything yet quiet enough. For those who like shopping there are plenty of big store such as Macys close by.
Overall would rate this hotel as a good place to base yourself but don't expect to much more than that.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gael-abroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Chelsea
Hampton Inn Manhattan - Madison Square Garden Area
Hampton Inn Manhattan - Madison ...
#164 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,872 reviews
Chelsea
Holiday Inn NYC - Manhattan 6th Avenue - Chelsea
Holiday Inn NYC - Manhattan 6th ...
#330 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,271 reviews
Chelsea
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Chelsea
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Che...
#124 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 800 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chelsea
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Chelsea
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Chelsea
#154 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,830 reviews
Chelsea
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Chelsea
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York ...
#187 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 794 reviews
Chelsea
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Midtown Manhattan/Penn Station
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York ...
#111 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express New York City - Chelsea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express New York City - Chelsea

Property: Holiday Inn Express New York City - Chelsea
Address: 232 West 29th Street, New York City, NY 10001-5201 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express NYC Madison Square Garden)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Chelsea , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#65 Green Hotel in New York City
#147 Business Hotel in New York City
#182 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#195 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express New York City - Chelsea 3*
Number of rooms: 228
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thank you for choosing the Holiday Inn Express New York City - Chelsea hotel located right in the heart of Chelsea and Madison Square Garden area. We include a complimentary hot and cold Express Start Breakfast for all guests of the hotel. Our hotel is a new 15 story high-rise hotel with amenities to include free high speed wired and wireless Internet access, free local calls, fitness center, rear garden terrace and a full business center. We are just ten short blocks from Times Square. Also within walking distance is Penn Station, the Empire State Building, Jacob Javits Convention Center, Fashion Institute of Technology, Theatre District, Macy's, mid-town and 5th Avenue shopping. Rockefeller Center is just one mile away! We are also centrally located to many fine restaurants, entertainment venues and some of the finest shopping the city has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and HRS so you can book your Holiday Inn Express New York City - Chelsea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Nyc - Madison Square Garden Hotel New York City
Holiday Inn New York City
New York City Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing