We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express New York City - Chelsea
Ranked #261 of 469 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed October 17, 2012

We recently stayed here for 3 nights while visiting NY.
The room was small but clean and perfectly adequate. There were the usual amenities, tv, tea/coffee makers, iron, hairdryer etc. The air conditioning although a bit noisy worked extremely well - I do like a cold room and most hotels I stay at I find to be quite warm and stuffy but not here, the air con cooled in no time. The free wi-fi worked well and caused no problems.
I did read some complaints about there only being 2 lifts and it being slow if you were on a high floor - we were on the 12th floor and never encountered any long waits or problems with the lift.
The staff were all very helpful and friendly and were happy to store our bags on the last day due to a late flight.
The location of the hotel is fantastic - a few minutes walk from Penn Station making most of NY accessible from here and within walking distance of so many attractions.
My only slight grumble would be that breakfast was a bit chaotic - there were nowhere near enough seats for the guest and we ended up sitting outside on 2 of our 3 mornings there - it would have been nice in the summer but was quite chilly when we were there. It was often quite hard to get into the breakfast as well due to the amount of people waiting on toast, pancakes etc. I don't know what the ideal solution would be but felt it doesn't work very well as things stand just now. However, on the plus side the choice and quality of the breakfast bearing in mind its complimentary was excellent; it more than set us up for the day and saved having to go out and find somewhere to eat.
Another plus was that tea/coffee was available from the lobby all day, it was great being able to grab a cuppa on the way up to the room.
Overall a fantastic hotel in a fantastic location offering excellent value for money, only minor complaint on organisation of breakfast but nothing that would put me off coming here again or recommending the hotel. Excellent.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 17lbp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maggie H, Manager at Holiday Inn Express New York City - Chelsea, responded to this reviewResponded October 20, 2012

Dear 17Ibp,

Thank you for your review of the Holiday Inn Express MSG! I am very happy to hear that you enjoyed your time with us. Your feedback regarding your stay is very much appreciated and helps us improve the experience that we deliver to each of our guests.

Thank you as well for feedback concerning breakfast. While our space is a bit limited, we are currently exploring some creative solutions that should help improve our morning routine.

Best,

Maggie Houston
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,066)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

916 - 922 of 2,067 reviews

Reviewed October 13, 2012

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank Wolfgang D
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed October 12, 2012

great hotel in the Holiday Inn Express category. Clean, quiet, good bed, good pillows. Free internet. Distances to theaters was very acceptable. Very friendly staff, although they still have to learn how to book tickets for Broadway shows. I can certainly recommend this hotel to all.

Room Tip: My room was on the 11th floor and maybe therefore very quiet. Although, the street is not too busy e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mauritssuper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maggie H, Manager at Holiday Inn Express New York City - Chelsea, responded to this reviewResponded October 20, 2012

Dear mauritssuper,

Thank you for your review. I am very pleased to hear that you were happily accommodated during your visit. Thank you for complimenting my team. I will share your comments and certainly ensure that we do a bit of training to improve our knowledge of Broadway ticket options.

Thank you again for your review. I hope to see you on a return trip to the city!

Best,

Maggie Houston
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2012

Excellent choice for anyone staying in NYC looking for upper mid scale limited service hotel. Free Breakfast, consistent brand, freindly staff, excellent value, and perfect location. Would stay again any day. Highly recommended. Rooms were clean, nice, modern, and well appointed.

Room Tip: My view looking down to 29th was nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hotels234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2012

This hotel was booked for us as part of a New England trip that started and finished in NYC. Location was fine - close to Madison Square Gardens with all you'd need locally. But its noisy, if you have a room on the front they're unloading huge trucks of parcels all night and you'll hear it all too clearly. It also only does naff breakfasts which are a farcical bun-fight when busy. We ate out for breakfast after day one at the Tick-Tock Diner on 8th and 34th, which is ace.

Room Tip: Back of hotel is quieter through the night
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1948Gooner1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2012

Walking distance to Madison Square Garden and the Penn Subway Station. Also very close to lots of retail stores and restaurants. The hotel offers free internet, a gym and a hot breakfast. Our room was on the top floor facing 29th St. The room was clean and the staff very helpful and accommodating. The downside was that the A/C was making a noise and the faucet in the bathroom was loose - things that can be easily fixed. We walked from the hotel to Madison Square Gardens, to Times Square and on to Broadway. Everything considered, I will definitely recommend this hotel to my friends.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zenaida L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2012

I stayed at the Holiday Inn Express – Madison Square Garden from August 15-19, 2012. First off, let me start off by saying that my first impressions were great. Hotel was clean and staff was very accommodating, providing us with 1 room for early check in. After the first night is when things got terribly uncomfortable. My wife woke up the next morning with bites all over her legs. We were not sure what they were or where they came from. As the week/end continued they did not go away but seem to progress. Long story short, we came to the assumption that there were bed bugs in our room. I contacted the GM (James) who conveniently passed off the responsibility to his AGM (Maggie) who had been on the job for 3 days. Clearly, this was not a top priority for James.
My story: I acknowledge that it is very difficult to prove whether or not the bites you receive from staying in a hotel room are from bed bugs. We actually contemplated with not filing a complaint because it’s their word versus mine. HOWEVER, after getting home from our trip and unpacking, I actually found a bed bug in our cooler (it is currently in a plastic bag on our fridge). The very cooler that went from my kitchen prior to leaving for the trip, to my car, into the hotel room where it sat for the duration of our stay.
Their story: They acknowledge my complaint and took the proper corporate steps to have our room inspected. First, a visual inspection, which, I was told, all staff are trained on what to look for and how to look for them. Second, they had a K9 unit come into the premise (room 1511) and no signs of any bed bugs were found.
Here is my problem. It is my understanding there are people out there who will do anything to get a refund, discount, etc. I do not have the time nor the energy to file a complaint to try and get a refund for my stay. I have much better things to do and much more important issues to deal with. I did not go into this trip hoping my wife would be disgusted and uncomfortable for 4 days just so I could spend 4 weeks of my life bantering back and forth with management to try and get my money back. They had one room inspected out of the 250 in the hotel, which equates to less than one half of one percent of their rooms. No, I absolutely cannot prove the bed bug that I found came from that room. What I can tell you is that the bites on my wife’s leg were in the pattern of which bed bugs bite (FACT: they bite in three’s, known as breakfast, lunch and dinner) and I found (and still have) a bed bug in our cooler which sat in the room and was never used.
I thought management handle this situation poorly, however, I understand there is no definitive proof of where that bed bug came from, I just think it is terribly convenient.
So, I will simply let you decide as the next person looking for a place to stay in NYC. The Holiday Inn Express – Madison Square Garden can offer you pretty much everything you are looking for in a hotel but I don’t think it can offer you peace of mind.
For more information or if you would like pictures, please contact jaarober18@gmail.com
Sweet Dreams!

Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
8  Thank Jarrett R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express New York City - Chelsea, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2012

Dear Jarrett R,

Thank you for your review regarding your experience. We greatly appreciate you taking the time to bring this matter to our attention and apologize for any inconvenience your experience may have caused you. We strive to exceed our guests’ expectations and create memorable experiences. We take all feedback seriously, and sincerely regret that we did not meet your expectations.

Once again, we appreciate you taking the time to share your comments with us. We have sent you a private message to obtain additional details about your experience.

Sincerely,

Mia R.
Case Manager
IHG Care

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square
Holiday Inn Express New York Cit...
#290 of 469 in New York City
2,187 reviews
Chelsea
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Chelsea
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manha...
#199 of 469 in New York City
2,075 reviews
Financial District
Holiday Inn Express New York City-Wall Street
Holiday Inn Express New York Cit...
#361 of 469 in New York City
520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chelsea
Holiday Inn NYC - Manhattan 6th Avenue - Chelsea
Holiday Inn NYC - Manhattan 6th ...
#337 of 469 in New York City
1,340 reviews
Midtown
Holiday Inn Express Manhattan Times Square South
Holiday Inn Express Manhattan Ti...
#192 of 469 in New York City
1,207 reviews
Chelsea
Hampton Inn Manhattan - Madison Square Garden Area
Hampton Inn Manhattan - Madison ...
#147 of 469 in New York City
2,009 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express New York City - Chelsea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express New York City - Chelsea

Address: 232 West 29th Street, New York City, NY 10001-5201 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express NYC Madison Square Garden)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Chelsea , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#64 Green Hotel in New York City
#143 Business Hotel in New York City
#178 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#190 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $128 - $409 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express New York City - Chelsea 3*
Number of rooms: 228
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thank you for choosing the newly renovated Holiday Inn Express New York City - Chelsea hotel located right in the heart of Chelsea and Madison Square Garden area. We include a complimentary hot and cold Express Start Breakfast for all guests of the hotel. Our recently refreshed 15-story high-rise hotel with amenities include free high speed wired and wireless Internet access, free local calls, fitness center, rear garden terrace and a full business center. We are just ten short blocks from Times Square. Also within walking distance is Penn Station, the Empire State Building, Jacob Javits Convention Center, Fashion Institute of Technology, Theatre District, Macy's, mid-town and 5th Avenue shopping. Rockefeller Center is just one mile away! We are also centrally located to many fine restaurants, entertainment venues and some of the finest shopping the city has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express New York City - Chelsea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Nyc - Madison Square Garden Hotel New York City
Holiday Inn New York City
New York City Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing