We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“High expectations exceeded”
Review of The London NYC

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The London NYC
Ranked #168 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“High expectations exceeded”
Reviewed November 24, 2010

As a travel industry professional, I have both inspected and stayed at many wonderful hotels worldwide over the last 25 years including New York. After reading the reviews, we had some very high expectations in several categories which were exceeded on all counts. The trendy hotel itself, large and luxurious rooms, happy and helpful staff and central location were simply unbeatable. I have previously stayed at the Ritz Carleton Battery Park, Hilton Millenium and Affinia but none came close to the London. The hotel provided a complimentary car service to Penn Station on our departure to Penn Station but for the most part, we had subway access just a block away. The rooms are huge with a large separate living room and extra comfy beds which are heaven after a long day. I can't imagine staying at another hotel other than the London on my next trip.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CindyJF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,435 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,051
    889
    285
    122
    88
See reviews for
735
1,334
149
750
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (814)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta
Level Contributor
89 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2010

The hotel was clean, beautiful, quiet, roomy, comfortable, and professionally managed. The price, amenities, quality and level of service were all exactly as advertised.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JLCAtlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
37 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2010

I came here on business and it was a pleasure. A surprisingly understated hotel from the lobby but the rooms were huge and very comfortable. There's a Gordon Ramsay restaurant downstairs but again it's quite understated. It suprised how few New Yorkers had actually heard of the hotel which is perhaps why we bumped into a certain very well known singer in the lobby. Had no problems with the service as I didn't really require any. I didn't eat there or use any of the extra facilities so I can't really report on that but the huge bathroom and quirky sofa did it for me. Location wise, you're midtown so about 8 blocks from Times Square if that's your thing. If the touristy centre of NYC ain't your thing then look elsewhere.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Homesick_Alien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Junction, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 21, 2010

My room was so small it had no desk and no chair. I had reserved a suite but they were "sold out". I had to ask the front desk to adjust my room rate - they were planning to charge me for a suite anyway. They did adjust the room rate down to $505. The front lobby also has no chairs or sofas - if you're meeting someone in the lobby, you stand and wait. Their on-site restaurant had a breakfast buffet for $28 with no hot food. Cold cereal, fruit, cheeses, and danish. Coffee is extra. My granola with fruit and a coffee cost $37 excluding tip. For $500+ there are much better choices.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rehoboth75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2010

My wife and I stayed for four nights. The staff were excellent, the location very central, and for the room rate decent value considering that we had a suite comprising a good size bedroom, attractive modern bathroom(no bath but large walk in shower) dressing room area, and sitting room.
Complimentary use of their own car serve was appreciated. However two coffees ordered via room service came to $30 (yes thirty!!) so you have been warned!
Other than that we can recommend this hotel on most counts and would certainly return and consider it a good choice for a trip to NYC.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rickylionel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallmadge
Level Contributor
174 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2010

My husband and I visit the city every year on the same weekend and have stayed at varying locations. The London was truly one of the top three hotels we have stayed at in the last ten years. The location was perfect....near Broadway and the Park. Service was readily available without interference and the room was beautiful.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cndyD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2010

The plan was to take my father for a 5 day birthday trip to NY and so I booked a london suite and premium flights on a well known UK website. As we obviously required twin rather than double room, I called the hotel in advance to confirm this. Upon arrival we were told that there were no twin rooms left and that we could only have "a double bed and a cot". When I said that this was not acceptable for >£500 per night, I was referred to a front-desk manager who accused me of being a liar when I told her that I had confirmed a twin room by telephone. She said that she had 2 room suites available but she would not upgrade without very large further payment. I wasn't looking for a free upgrade due to a birthday, just a proper bed for us each to sleep on for 5 days, which didn't seem unreasonable. After much unpleasant discussion, one of the other ladies behind front-desk succeeded in persuading a party of 3 who were checking into a twin room with cot to take our room. It was a very unpleasant start to our stay. Otherwise, room was very comfortable and elegant. Excellent showers. Bar was great and service excellent. Concierge service was top quality. Its a shame that a really excellent hotel can be spoiled by one obnoxious and unhelpful reception manager - don't remember her name but its sad that she is the reason I wouldn't recommend this hotel or return there" - one star.

  • Stayed December 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank EMSLondon18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
the Quin
the Quin
#39 of 468 in New York City
2,638 reviews
Midtown
The Blakely New York
The Blakely New York
#137 of 468 in New York City
1,382 reviews
Midtown
WestHouse Hotel New York
WestHouse Hotel New York
#99 of 468 in New York City
1,539 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Warwick New York
Warwick New York
#90 of 468 in New York City
4,243 reviews
Midtown
The Michelangelo Hotel
The Michelangelo Hotel
#38 of 468 in New York City
3,430 reviews
Midtown
1 Hotel Central Park
1 Hotel Central Park
#26 of 468 in New York City
1,212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The London NYC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The London NYC

Property: The London NYC
Address: 151 West 54th Street, New York City, NY 10019-5302
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#49 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#74 Family Hotel in New York City
#80 Business Hotel in New York City
#127 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The London NYC 4.5*
Number of rooms: 561
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sophisticated urban luxury in the heart of midtown Manhattan, the award-winning London NYC sets a new standard for New York luxury hotels. Named to several "Best of" and "Top 10 lists", you'll find detailed design, attentive service and The London Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TravelClick, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelPower, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The London NYC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The London Nyc Hotel New York City
London Nyc New York City
London Hotel New York
London Nyc Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing