We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful ambiance, a truly unforgetable experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The London NYC

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The London NYC
Ranked #160 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
61 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Wonderful ambiance, a truly unforgetable experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2009

My sister and dined at in the formal dining room at the London. The food was amazing, quite expensive but no regrets.
A special "thank you" to our waiter for touring us through the kitchen and meeting with the chefs. This was something totally unexpected and very much appreciated.
Signed, the two blonde Canadian sisters

  • Stayed February 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank saskgal79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,371 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,026
    871
    269
    120
    85
See reviews for
717
1,310
145
738
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (800)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2009

I stayed in the London between the 16th and 22nd February. On a positive note the rooms are big ( for New York ) and clean and the TV is flat. If you get a high floor 32 or above suite the view is also good.The hallways are dark and the breakfast was terrible.
Beware of the concierge ! These guys have egos the size of the Empire state and attitudes that are the exception to the friendly New Yorkers on the street. We asked where to buy Shrek tickets and were told that they could get "special" tickets through there concierge network unavailable to the public. They wanted $75 for service on top of the $85 per ticket but told us that the only other tickets available were $300.
The tickets they provided were in row x ( back row z ) with restricted view and not special in any way. We refused to pay for them and found tickets in row H online at [--]. The same concierge could not recommend an Italian restaurant in Little Italy or a restaurant with a view of the river.
We booked a special VIP Saks 5th avenue shopping deal which the Hotel also rfused to honour.
If there isn't a buck in it for the crooked concierge dont bother asking for it!

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank pauljessup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
connecticut
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2009

The breakfast in particular was very disappointing. The full english breakfast was very much on the small side, better off crossing the road to an irish pub.

Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank shannonct
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brentwood
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2009

After staying at the Hilton on Times Sq for most of the week, I decided to surprise my girlfriend with a valentines night stay in the London. Now dont get me wrong the Hilton on Times Sq is good but the London is on a totally different level.
Excellent service greeted us at 11am and a Happy Birthday from the reception staff to my girlfriend, was very welcoming. Followed by a complimentry bottle of wine.
We were shown to our room on the 30th floor and were delighted with the size of it. A large well laid out lounge, A big King Bedroom and a huge shower with seperate tub greeted us as we stepped in.
The hotel is situated 7-10mins walk from Central Park and was still only 15mins walk from Times Sq.
We went out for the afternoon,and came back to find another complimentry bottle of wine plus snacks.
A further suprise for my girlfriend was dinner at Gordon Ramsey's in the London.
This was quite simply the best restaurant experience I have ever had and I have been to many many restaurants around the world. Now this was not cheap but you leave feeling you have had great value for money.
If you can stretch the budget then go for it!
We would definitely like to stay here again and would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel. 5 out of 5

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BwdColU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
75 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2009

The resturants were very pricey and a relatively poor value. In additon we were mislead by a waiter in the MAZE and told that they would split a bill, which they did not. I paid over $200 for 5 breakfasts and when I complained at the desk when checking out they claimed there was nothing they could do?! I will not go back, to many other places want the business. They did not stand to loose a dime in the transaction, but they failed to follow thru.

  • Stayed January 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fgcook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham, Washington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2009

I took the red eye in from Seattle and showed up at the hotel before 8am. I was worried since check in time wasn't until 3pm, but the very accommodating staff set me up with a room to sleep in until my room was ready. They couldn't have been nicer! I took a long nap and a hot shower and was good to go! There's a great place around the corner for manicures, pedicures and massages called NY Nails. I highly recommend going there after a long trip! My room was ready in the afternoon and was on the 52nd floor! It was large and beautifully appointed with a very big shower along with amazing views of the city! Free wireless internet too, which is always a plus! I lunched at The Maze restaurant in the hotel and the food was excellent! The best tuna tartare and very nice cobb salad. I also dined at Gordon Ramsey's restaurant for dinner, which was delicious, but a bit too fancy for my taste. Great Italian restaurant down the street called Gattapardo; small restaurant with very nice atmosphere and wonderful dishes. I look forward to staying at The London again and would highly recommend it!

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank thenakedtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2009

We stayed at the London, NY in February 2009 and it was a fantastic experience. A warm welcome, great staff and beautiful surroundings. Our suite was large (particularly for NY) and spotlessly clean with Ipod docker, two flat screens, great toiletries, and soft robes etc. Five minutes from Central Park means morning runs are no excuse.

We ate at Gordon Ramsay at Maze on the Saturday night and had one of the best meals we've ever had. Try the five course tasting menu and ask the sommelier to match your wines by course. At the end we were offered a tour of the kitchen - a fantastic chance to see great chefs at work. After praising the desserts several more were brought over to our table to try free of charge! Great and truly personal service.

No, it's not cheap but for the overall experience it's great value. If you want a special weekend in NY with a loved one this is the place to stay.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cymruLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Blakely New York
The Blakely New York
#153 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,339 reviews
Midtown
the Quin
the Quin
#43 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,526 reviews
Midtown
WestHouse Hotel New York
WestHouse Hotel New York
#91 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Michelangelo Hotel
The Michelangelo Hotel
#37 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,313 reviews
Midtown
The Hilton Club - New York
The Hilton Club - New York
#195 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 602 reviews
Midtown
Warwick New York
Warwick New York
#90 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The London NYC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The London NYC

Property: The London NYC
Address: 151 West 54th Street, New York City, NY 10019-5302
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#49 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#74 Family Hotel in New York City
#80 Business Hotel in New York City
#119 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The London NYC 4.5*
Number of rooms: 561
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sophisticated urban luxury in the heart of midtown Manhattan, the award-winning London NYC sets a new standard for New York luxury hotels. Named to several "Best of" and "Top 10 lists", you'll find detailed design, attentive service and The London Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, TravelClick, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The London NYC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The London Nyc Hotel New York City
London Nyc New York City
London Hotel New York
London Nyc Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing