We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The London NYC

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The London NYC
Ranked #136 of 475 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A Great Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014

This was our second stay at The London and our expectations were high after our first stay. We were not disappointed. Our experience was again first class. The rooms are spacious, clean and comfortable. The staff is professional and helpful. The location is convenient to Broadway shows, fine dining, Irish pubs, shopping, Rockefeller Center, Central Park and Times Square. I look forward to my next stay.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank P H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dbeLondonNYC, Director of Sales at The London NYC, responded to this review, February 26, 2016
Sorry for the late response. Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back to The London NYC on your next trip to New York.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,884
    797
    245
    105
    69
See reviews for
644
1,216
135
676
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (747)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014

The rooms were clean and the staff at the hotel itself were pleasant and helpful, however if I compare this to other four plus star hotels in I've stayed in (Trump SOHO, Shangri la, Sofitel) there is no comparison. The small things, attention to detail were just not there. For example, when we checked in the service was exceptional, they were detailed and friendly but upon check out they didn't even ask how our stay was.

On another note the service in the Maze bar in the London was hands down the worst I've had maybe anywhere. On three separate occasions when having a cocktail pre-dinner or post the waitstaff were inattentive, slow and frankly unfriendly or unapologetic if they made a mistake. Examples, bringing two drinks to the table of three and forgetting to bring the third, bringing the wrong drink, and not asking if we needed new drinks in favour of chatting up fellow waitstaff.

Overall a nice place and comfortable stay in a great area, but I wouldn't go back.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RAkimow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dbeLondonNYC, Director of Sales at The London NYC, responded to this review, February 26, 2016
Sorry for the late response. Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back to The London NYC on your next trip to New York.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winter Park, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014

The London's location is so convenient for walking to some of the most popular sights and shopping. It's located in a safe area with an abundance of restaurants nearby. The hotel room is very comfortable and spacious. There is a separate sitting area with double doors leading to the sleeping area, dressing area and bath. I have stayed there a couple of times and would definitely return.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ginny H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dbeLondonNYC, Director of Sales at The London NYC, responded to this review, February 26, 2016
Sorry for the late response. Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back to The London NYC on your next trip to New York.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014

The Pros:

1. Good mid-town location, If that's where you need to be.
2. Very large rooms/suites with extra large working desk.
3. Very comfortable bed.

The Cons:

1. Truly terrible service in the restaurant (we stayed 5 nights so we had 5 breakfasts, included in our room rate, and one extremely overpriced dinner with service so bad that my normal 20% tipping husband couldn't even leave 5%. This is really too bad as the food was quite good and innovative, but utterly ruined by the service. As one example, I ordered a several course tasting menu and the waiter brought a hot course 30 seconds after he brought me a cold course like they were in a hurry to get rid of us even though our reservation was 8pm. When I got the entree, which was good, there was an unidentifiable item on the plate (which was also good). I asked the waiter but he didn't know what it was. I asked the maitre'd and neither did he. I asked him to ask the chef since this was a tasting menu. The now pissed off maitre'd returns and says "It's a tomato." As if. I would never go back to this restaurant.

2. No coffee pot or electric kettle in the rooms though there is plenty of space to accommodate. This is a major inconvenience for a city/business hotel, especially at these prices.

3. Flat, wimpy pillows.

The bizzare:

1. The most segregated work force I have ever seen in an American hotel. The front desk was nearly exclusively African American, the wait staff, exclusively Indian, and the housekeeping staff Hispanic. Just odd and not representative of the general population.

Room Tip: Corner rooms are the largest, though non-corner rooms are quite big.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julestoyou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dbeLondonNYC, Director of Sales at The London NYC, responded to this review, February 26, 2016
Sorry for the late response. Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back to The London NYC on your next trip to New York.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parkland, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014

This was our first stay at the London Hotel. It was recommended by a friend as one of the best hotels in Manhattan. We wholeheartedly agree. The rooms were very spacious - we had a king bed with a large separate "living area" with a sofa, desk, and large screen TV. The bathroom was large and had a shower for 2. There will be no other hotel for us when we are in Manhattan!

Room Tip: Choose a room on a higher floor and not near the elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dbeLondonNYC, Director of Sales at The London NYC, responded to this review, February 26, 2016
Sorry for the late response. Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back to The London NYC on your next trip to New York.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014

Love staying at the London NYC because of the room size, comfortable beds, lovely showers and excellent location. We don't love the restaurant because they seem to focus on style more than substance but there are plenty of great places to eat nearby.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank StephanieOB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dbeLondonNYC, Director of Sales at The London NYC, responded to this review, February 26, 2016
Sorry for the late response. Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back to The London NYC on your next trip to New York.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, California
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014

Wonderful experience yet again at the London NYC! Staying at the London NYC has become an annual event over the Labor Day weekend for my friend and I when we attend the US Open. We love having the sitting area separate from the sleeping area. We found the beds very comfortable, the bathroom great - loved the extra towels and comfy robes, and most of all the hotel staff was exceptionally friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KarenInBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dbeLondonNYC, Director of Sales at The London NYC, responded to this review, February 26, 2016
Sorry for the late response. Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back to The London NYC on your next trip to New York.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
the Quin
the Quin
#46 of 475 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 1,923 reviews
Midtown
The Blakely New York
The Blakely New York
#161 of 475 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 1,240 reviews
Midtown
WestHouse Hotel New York
WestHouse Hotel New York
#80 of 475 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 775 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Hilton Club - New York
The Hilton Club - New York
#144 of 475 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 516 reviews
Midtown
The Michelangelo Hotel
The Michelangelo Hotel
#37 of 475 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 2,692 reviews
Midtown
Warwick New York Hotel
Warwick New York Hotel
#91 of 475 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 3,744 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The London NYC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The London NYC

Property: The London NYC
Address: 151 West 54th Street, New York City, NY 10019-5302
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#49 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#75 Family Hotel in New York City
#80 Business Hotel in New York City
#104 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The London NYC 4.5*
Number of rooms: 561
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sophisticated urban luxury in the heart of midtown Manhattan, the award-winning London NYC sets a new standard for New York luxury hotels. Named to several "Best of" and "Top 10 lists", you'll find detailed design, attentive service and The London Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TravelClick and Jetsetter so you can book your The London NYC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The London Nyc Hotel New York City
London Nyc New York City
London Hotel New York
London Nyc Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing