We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent choise”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The London NYC

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The London NYC
Ranked #160 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Helsinki
Level Contributor
57 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Excellent choise”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2014

Hotel London in New York is the very good choise either you want to do shopping or sightseeing. Our room was on 9th floor and still it was silent.Very nice bathroom,excellent toiletteries.
The breakfast was good with everything you need to start a good day in NY.
The service was polite and friendly how it should be in good hotels!
Next time we definaly will return to Hotel London NYC!

Room Tip: Choose a room far away from the elevator!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EijaHelsinki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dbeLondonNYC, Director of Sales at The London NYC, responded to this review, February 29, 2016
Sorry for the late response. Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back to The London NYC on your next trip to New York.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,371 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,026
    871
    269
    120
    85
See reviews for
717
1,310
145
738
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (800)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2014

Stayed there for my 50th birthday. Check in was smooth and efficient and friendly. We had booked a standard room and were amazed at the size of both the room and bathroom. It was stylishly latex out with all the creature comforts. We eat at the brasserie restuarent which was lovely if not a bit pricey. I would highly recommend this hotel purely for its location and comfort .

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dbeLondonNYC, Director of Sales at The London NYC, responded to this review, February 29, 2016
Sorry for the late response. Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back to The London NYC on your next trip to New York.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2014

I wasn’t in this hotel long enough to have taken advantage of all it has to offer. When in New York, do you really want to spend your time in the hotel??
As I travel a few times a year to the city, I love trying different hotel each time.
Location
The Hotel is perfectly located to explore several areas of NYC. It is nestled right between Central Park and Times Square, so quite daytime activities and lively nightlife is right at your fingertips.
For the Retail therapy types, you are a few blocks away from the 5th avenue shops, not to mention that the subway line a block away takes you directly to Ground Zero and Century 21. So the location was perfect if those are your types of NYC activities.

The Rooms

I would like to say the rooms are Huge to New York Standards, but that would be wrong. The rooms are huge PERIOD. At 500ft² there is a lot of room to stretch out, and lots of light coming in from the large windows.

The Bathroom provided no tub, but it was wheelchair accessible which also provided lots of room to move around.

The water pressure was second to none.

The real King Sized bed was soft and very comfortable, and two televisions (one in bedroom and one in living room) allowed one person to rest while the other relaxed. A couch, a coffee table and a large desk rounded out the amenities.

Internet

Finally a hotel that understands that connectivity is no longer an option in this day and age! Internet was included in the price of the room with a router directly in the room to make sure that the connection did not fail. EXCELLENT TOUCH!!!!!!

Late Check-out

As frequent travelers and late night revelers, we really appreciate being able to sleep late when we stay in the city, a simple request and we were afforded a complimentary 2PM check-out. The automatic black-out curtains helped keep the illusion that it was still very dark out.

General

Generally speaking, this hotel exceeded my expectations.

But, there were a few areas that I thought the hotel could have upped its game slightly.

First, I felt that the towels had seen better days. It is not that they were torn or anything, it is just that they didn’t pass the fluffy softness test. They were more in the dried out, washed too many times phase.

Second, the lobby; when you first walk in, the lobby seems sparse and functional, but as soon as you spend any time there, you quickly realize that there is no place to sit….odd.

Anyway, those are two minor points compared to the great stay that we had at this amazing hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rftomie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dbeLondonNYC, Director of Sales at The London NYC, responded to this review, February 29, 2016
Sorry for the late response. Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back to The London NYC on your next trip to New York.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Level Contributor
31 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2014

My friend and I just returned from our third stay at The London NYC. We used to be in love with this hotel. We discovered it in 2008 and back then it was just THE best hotel in New York in our opinion. We stayed at the LNYC again in 2009 with the same perfect-10 experience. Alas, it appears that time has had a destructive effect on things and has turned the prince back into a frog.

No need to beat around the bush, the London NYC is not a bad hotel but it is no longer good value for your money. Especially considering the level of service and customer care that you can get in the other hotels of the same category that we have tried in NYC. The basics are still there : the hotel is ideally located Midtown closeby to many attractions, the rooms (or so-called "suites") are spacious and well-arranged and the gym on the 4th floor is just outstanding. However, the hotel needs some serious overall refreshing. You get the feeling that everything is a little worn out. The same thing goes to the rooms. This time along they gave us a room on the 25th floor which was not up to this hotel’s past standard (or any self-branded luxury hotel’s standard). By that I’m referring to a couple of bizarre holes on the bedroom wall, grease marks on the bedsheets when we checked in our room, unfinished lightning systems with open electrical circuits and missing lightbulbs, ordinary wear and tear on the cushions. Not really a 5-star experience there, you’ll admit.

But the worst part is the service. The service has gone abysmal. I don’t know, maybe the proximity with the so-called « VIPs » and the pseudo-fashionistas with skimpy dresses and even skimpier manners that have been staying at the hotel over the years has caused the staff to somehow identify itself with these people and completely lose sight of the customer-service part of their job. Someone on tripadvisor wrote that the staff at the front desk talks at you, not to you and they have zero feel of friendliness. I could not have put it better. And the bellboys are no better. They often seem too busy chatting and craking jokes to assist the clients. If you want them to hail you a cab then you better send your teenage daugther in yoga pants or be a pretty girl in a tight dress. The whole thing is appalling really. In a nutshell, I felt that there were a vain atmosphere in the hotel entertained by the staff and which has also somehow caught up with part of the cliente as well. All of this made our latest experience at the London NYC disappointing.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Digba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dbeLondonNYC, Director of Sales at The London NYC, responded to this review, February 29, 2016
Sorry for the late response. We understand that your experience was not what was expected at The London NYC. We would appreciate the opportunity to discuss those issues in greater detail and welcome additional feedback and for you to contact the hotel directly. We look forward to welcoming you back to The London NYC on your next trip to New York.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2014

What a great hotel! The London NYC was amazing. I was in room 1009 and it was a suite - so spacious! Nice sitting area under the window, a business desk for working, lovely hard-wood floor in the sitting area, good mirrors and lamps everywhere. Electric shades that truly blocked out any daylight for a good nights sleep. Open, roomy, bright bathroom, with white tiles gleaming and tons of lights to get ready - thank you! Every other NYC hotel I've stayed in are always dark and dingy - not here! There was no bath tub (i didn't miss it) but there was a huge shower with different shower heads at either end. Closet is open style but really functional.

We had a pre-function at the restaurant downstairs, food was good and staff were super helpful. The location was great, walking distance (5 minutes) from 5th Avenue and all the great shops.

Would definitely stay here again and will recommend to all of my friends.

Room Tip: The 10th floor was great, above the other buildings and lots of light coming in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brit_chick98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dbeLondonNYC, Director of Sales at The London NYC, responded to this review, February 29, 2016
Sorry for the late response. Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back to The London NYC on your next trip to New York.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
162 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here several times and never disappointed. If you want a hip, luxury hotel in mid-town, this is the place. The Gordon Ramsay restaurant is average-priced for NYC and the gym is spacious with a reasonable amount of equipment and floor space. The rooms are still the best with a separate sitting area, open closets and spacious (but linear) bathrooms.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dbeLondonNYC, Director of Sales at The London NYC, responded to this review, February 29, 2016
Sorry for the late response. Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back to The London NYC on your next trip to New York.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Level Contributor
102 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2014

Very nice hotel. The room was spacious and clean - no complaints at all other than I wish there was a bathtub (but the bathroom had two different showers, which was something unique). Beautiful view of Central Park. The staff was very friendly for the most part. Bed was very comfortable. I will say the hotel is quite expensive, especially in-room dining for breakfast - but the oatmeal was delicious. Best $85 breakfast I've had at least.

Room Tip: Vista Suite 4201 has a beautiful view of Central Park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank yaaburnee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dbeLondonNYC, Director of Sales at The London NYC, responded to this review, February 29, 2016
Sorry for the late response. Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back to The London NYC on your next trip to New York.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Blakely New York
The Blakely New York
#155 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,338 reviews
Midtown
the Quin
the Quin
#43 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,523 reviews
Midtown
WestHouse Hotel New York
WestHouse Hotel New York
#93 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Michelangelo Hotel
The Michelangelo Hotel
#37 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,312 reviews
Midtown
The Hilton Club - New York
The Hilton Club - New York
#196 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 601 reviews
Midtown
Warwick New York
Warwick New York
#91 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The London NYC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The London NYC

Property: The London NYC
Address: 151 West 54th Street, New York City, NY 10019-5302
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#49 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#74 Family Hotel in New York City
#80 Business Hotel in New York City
#119 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The London NYC 4.5*
Number of rooms: 561
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sophisticated urban luxury in the heart of midtown Manhattan, the award-winning London NYC sets a new standard for New York luxury hotels. Named to several "Best of" and "Top 10 lists", you'll find detailed design, attentive service and The London Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelClick, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The London NYC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The London Nyc Hotel New York City
London Nyc New York City
London Hotel New York
London Nyc Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing