We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“World Class”
Review of The London NYC

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The London NYC
Ranked #167 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
220 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“World Class”
Reviewed December 26, 2013

We've stayed at many NYC hotels but this has become our favorite andwekeep coming back. Huge suites, friendly staff, ideal location, fabulous beds and showers. It just doesn't get any better than the London. All the creature comforts of home. We prefer staying in a high floor facing north where we can have a nice view of Central Park. 4th floor gym is huge with great equipment, lots of towels and plenty of water bottles

Room Tip: Welovebeinf high up and facing north where we can see Central Park
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ronk1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,433 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,051
    889
    283
    122
    88
See reviews for
734
1,333
149
750
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (814)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2013 via mobile

Considering how expensive it was to stay at this hotel, I expected a more enjoyable experience. The location is ideal but that's about the only positive I can think of. The breakfast buffet was pretty pathetic (considering it was $28) and didn't include any hot food. My whole family got severe food poisoning from something at the breakfast and were all in bed for over 3 days. The cleaning staff, although friendly and polite, would knock on the door early in the morning and late at night and ignore the "do not disturb" signs. The smell of smoke would often waft into the room and the sound proofing was pretty much non existent as sirens would wake me at 3am and we were on the 30th floor. Do your research because I have stayed in hotels much nicer for much less.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Fionalovescake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Augustine S, London Ambassador at The London NYC, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
Dear Fionalovescake,

Thank you for sharing your feedback with us on tripadvisor.com. I'm very sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your recent stay. What you've described is unacceptable and I'm sorry that we didn't deliver. I sincerely hope that you will give us another chance on your next visit to New York. Please feel free to email me directly at asaylee@thelondon.com should you wish to make a reservation and give us a chance to turn this around.

Thank you again for your feedback.

Best Regards,

Augustine T. Saylee
London Ambassador
T: 212.468.8860
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2013

There is huge gap between high end hotel and this kind of boutique hotel. I think it's modern and stylish, clean enough to stay but service is awful. Wifi service supposed to be included to the package, but surprisingly they had a connection issue whole day on and off. Operator put me through the IT support line and force me to spend more than hour on the phone on my vacation. Just waste of my time. Then the manager told me he will call me back as soon as it's fixed but funny thing was he didn't call me back even after hour they've got connected. I can tell even manager has only this much of capacity, they can't do anything better on customer service. For me, hotel isn't just a place to sleep, also enjoy the experiences but unfortunately this hotel doesn't provide any of it nor solution. Very disappointed at entire experiences.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank aztravel616
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Augustine S, London Ambassador at The London NYC, responded to this review, December 27, 2013
Dear Aztravel616,

Thank you for your thorough and constructive feedback about your stay with us. We are sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations. I will be sure to share your comments regarding your less than excellent experience with senior management. If you would like to speak to me regarding the ways in which we can make your guest experience better in the future, please let me know. You can reach me at 212-468-8860.

Sincerely,

Augustine T. Saylee
London Ambassador
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portola Valley, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 19, 2013

Nice short walking distance to the Theatres on Broadway, to the MOMA, and to Fifth Avenue, but a quiet location. Most of the rooms are suites, with a very small bedroom but a totally separate seating are that opens to the bedroom through large double doors.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PhilStTropez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, La.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2013

This is a great hotel by New York standards. Rooms are all suites and some with french doors between the sitting area and bed. It is also a great location for midtown shopping without all of the Times Square congestion. Gordon Ramsay's restaurant was a spectacular meal and the manager was able to get us a table at the last minute.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lftbush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darrington, UK
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2013 via mobile

Pre stay communication was great!
Hotel lobby small but elegant... And seamless check in and check out!
Bar.... Too small and adjoined to the restaurants but does the job.
Suite... We got a corner suite on the 20th floor.... Was amazing, spacious (massive by NYC standards), living and bedroom, all furnished in a modernistic classical way.
We thoroughly enjoyed our 3 night break, was expensive but worth it.... Thanks guys we will be back .

Final point .... Please note there is an iron and ironing board in the trunk.... We didn't realise this and paid 45 bucks for 3 shirts to be pressed..... Doh


Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Nikkyb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montague
Level Contributor
187 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2013

I was greeted by a very helpful gentleman looking after my bag while the taxi driver struggled with printing a receipt. The gracious woman at checkin recognized it was my birthday and offered me something special delivered to my room. It was a lovely tray of fruit and wine. How cool is that after a long travel day in November? My room had a fabulous view of Central Park and I texted it immediately to all of my friends and family! The location is great for shopping, arts and restaurants. The staff were wonderfully gracious and helpful. The bedding was very comfortable, desk area ample with space and plugs, bathroom lovely. The entire room was spotless. This will be my go to NYC hotel.

Room Tip: While my higher level room was great, my colleague on the 7th floor had a great view, too. I will a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Markey2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
the Quin
the Quin
#39 of 468 in New York City
2,636 reviews
Midtown
The Blakely New York
The Blakely New York
#135 of 468 in New York City
1,382 reviews
Midtown
WestHouse Hotel New York
WestHouse Hotel New York
#98 of 468 in New York City
1,538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Warwick New York
Warwick New York
#89 of 468 in New York City
4,241 reviews
Midtown
The Michelangelo Hotel
The Michelangelo Hotel
#38 of 468 in New York City
3,427 reviews
Midtown
1 Hotel Central Park
1 Hotel Central Park
#26 of 468 in New York City
1,212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The London NYC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The London NYC

Property: The London NYC
Address: 151 West 54th Street, New York City, NY 10019-5302
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#49 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#74 Family Hotel in New York City
#80 Business Hotel in New York City
#126 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The London NYC 4.5*
Number of rooms: 561
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sophisticated urban luxury in the heart of midtown Manhattan, the award-winning London NYC sets a new standard for New York luxury hotels. Named to several "Best of" and "Top 10 lists", you'll find detailed design, attentive service and The London Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TravelClick, Hotels.com, Hotwire, HotelPower, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The London NYC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The London Nyc Hotel New York City
London Nyc New York City
London Hotel New York
London Nyc Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing