We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful NYC experience”
Review of The London NYC

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The London NYC
Ranked #197 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 14, 2013

I was greeted by a very helpful gentleman looking after my bag while the taxi driver struggled with printing a receipt. The gracious woman at checkin recognized it was my birthday and offered me something special delivered to my room. It was a lovely tray of fruit and wine. How cool is that after a long travel day in November? My room had a fabulous view of Central Park and I texted it immediately to all of my friends and family! The location is great for shopping, arts and restaurants. The staff were wonderfully gracious and helpful. The bedding was very comfortable, desk area ample with space and plugs, bathroom lovely. The entire room was spotless. This will be my go to NYC hotel.

Room Tip: While my higher level room was great, my colleague on the 7th floor had a great view, too. I will a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Markey2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,607)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,635 - 1,641 of 3,608 reviews

Reviewed December 9, 2013

American Express recommended this hotel and it was a great selection. I'm not terribly fond of contemporary design but the rooms were large and the beds were very comfortable. A great shower is a real pleasure and this hotel rates very high in this category. My friend says she's going to get a rain shower head after enjoying one at The London. The contemporary sofa is clearly valued for it's design not comfort but as a whole package, I've not found a better hotel. The location is terrific, staff is helpful and the good night sleep and shower are worth it! I suggest you eat somewhere other than the hotel but the bar is tops for people watching and catching a star or two.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cathy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2013

Just wanted to thank all the staff at The London for another great stay. Special thanks to Jimmy at the front desk for finding my husband's hat which fell out of his bag and was then taken by someone walking out the hotel. Jimmy ran outside and took the hat back for my husband. Thanks again. As well, thank you Monica for being so great about switching us back to our regular vista room.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zik17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2013

My stay at The London NYC was transformed by very accomodating reception staff. The room I was originally allocated - on the 25th floor - whilst huge, had very little in the way of a view. A wall of windows across W.54th St was about all I could see. I was offered a room on the 51st floor which would trade some space for a view - and it was well worth it, if like me, an expansive vista makes you happy! With the perfect room (5101 - views to Central Park, across the Hudson and, from the sparkling marble bathroom, Times Square... only one comfortable chair, and stool at the slimline desk, so no settee as in the bigger two-room suites, but it worked for me) it was a flawless experience: Concierge staff were excellent, Room Service fast and friendly, Breakfast at Maze was great, if a little pricey. And whilst I had been concerned that the location was too far uptown (I'd been considering SoHo and Union Square as an alternative to the 'usual' Midtown locations) the LondonNYC is actually in a great spot - easy walking to Central Park, Rockefeller Plaza, even hip 9th Ave restaurants; subways are nearby and cabs are plentiful outside or on 7th Ave. if you're in a hurry to get downtown. I was staying on business and really the only thing missing from this hotel is a lobby lounge for meetings or waiting for clients, friends, dinner guests. But there are plenty of places nearby. I would highly recommend staying here, and hope to do so again myself before long.

Room Tip: As is most NY hotels, the higher the floor the better. Rooms lower down at the front face the office...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 450alexf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2013

Stayed for two nights on business. Perfect location for mid-town meetings. Very spacious rooms, which is a rarity in NYC. Rooms were clean and well designed. Staff was very friendly and helpful from the doormen to the conscierge and reception. Thoroughly enjoyed the breakfast, didn't have dinner at the hotel restaurant, but my colleague did and praised the food from the G Ramsay kitchen. Finally, one of the best fitness centres I've come across in any hotel, spacious and with plenty of apparatus. Would recommend the hotel for any trip to NYC, be it business, family or a romantic weekend.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank knixen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Augustine S, London Ambassador at The London NYC, responded to this reviewResponded December 6, 2013

Dear Knixen,

Thank you for your comments and for finding our hotel to be amongst the top hotels in New York City. We are pleased that we met and even exceeded your expectations.

Kind regards,

Augustine T. Saylee
London Ambassador

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2013

Stayed at the London NYC in November 2013 for the weekend after a conference. Loved the suite. It was spacious and had a feeling of an apartment versus a hotel. Bedroom was spacious and well appointed. The bathroom had a very unique double shower -- fun for a couple. The living area had its own wall mounted flat screen, desk, coffee table, chair AND couch!! All the creature comforts of home. Furniture was surprisingly a little worn though. Staff was especially attentive and the food was top notch. The workout facility was spacious and had enough equipment to get in a productive workout. You're going to have to pay top dollar in NY anyway ... you might as well spend it here and get your money's worth.

Water tip -- Specify "tap" in the restaurant or they'll bring you a $10.00 bottle of water. There's free bottled water in the gym!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kiwindinok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2013

The rooms are spacious, in fact huge considering the awesome location. Central Park, Broadway, MOMA are all comfortably close. The multi-functional breakfast/dinner/bar Maze room was convenient if you were pressed for time... but best for expense account travellers.

The buffet breakfast had limited selection but the items they put out were of good quality, at least judging by the smoked salmon and fruit. The light night cocktails and bar snacks were very good as well. We skipped the much touted "Gordon Ramsay" as the place had just been stripped of its Michelin stars. Turns out that Ramsay is not involved in the day-to-day running of the restaurants or kitchens but had licensed out his good name. The big benefits of The London NYC are spacious rooms and location. Bonus points for free WIFI.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
Thank Jim L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
the Quin
the Quin
#40 of 469 in New York City
2,924 reviews
Midtown
The Michelangelo Hotel
The Michelangelo Hotel
#43 of 469 in New York City
3,663 reviews
Midtown
Warwick New York
Warwick New York
#110 of 469 in New York City
4,449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Viceroy Central Park New York
Viceroy Central Park New York
#215 of 469 in New York City
1,395 reviews
Midtown
Lotte New York Palace
Lotte New York Palace
#81 of 469 in New York City
3,564 reviews
Midtown
Sofitel New York
Sofitel New York
#64 of 469 in New York City
6,627 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The London NYC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The London NYC

Address: 151 West 54th Street, New York City, NY 10019-5302
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#49 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#73 Family Hotel in New York City
#80 Business Hotel in New York City
#145 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $368 - $840 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The London NYC 4.5*
Number of rooms: 561
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sophisticated urban luxury in the heart of midtown Manhattan, the award-winning London NYC sets a new standard for New York luxury hotels. Named to several "Best of" and "Top 10 lists", you'll find detailed design, attentive service and The London Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your The London NYC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The London Nyc Hotel New York City
London Nyc New York City
London Hotel New York
London Nyc Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing