We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extra large rooms for NYC standards”
Review of The London NYC

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The London NYC
Ranked #181 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Tampa, Florida, United States
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Extra large rooms for NYC standards”
Reviewed June 25, 2013

Just returned from a stay at London, NYC. Wonderful hotel!!! From the moment we arrived, bellman and lobby was elegant and inviting. Room was above expectations!!! Larger than any other NYC hotel room I've stayed in past visits, and includes a sitting room with closed off bedroom. Bathroom was extra large and gorgeous!!!! Extra clean too with extra large towels (always a plus!). Staff was helpful and prompt when requesting extra towels, pillows and such. Would most definitely plan a return to London NYC.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vanessa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,497 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,077
    905
    298
    125
    92
See reviews for
758
1,352
152
762
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (823)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2013

This hotel was amazing! The suite was beyond perfect and loved the dual shower heads in the bathroom. I am very picky about where I stay and feel most places forget about sheet quality. Not The London, the bed was very comfortable and had high quality sheets. No detail was left undone.
The staff was very friendly both printing out my show tickets and boarding pass. Perfect location with walking distance to everything! My guy has stayed here twice for work and he loves it as well. The only thing that was a negative was since all the buildings in NYC are older, it was harder to keep the room cool even with the AC on the lowest setting of 65. We like it pretty cold, so this probably wouldn't affect most people, but found closing the bedroom french doors at night kept the room colder.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nick_and_Ash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2013

The hotel was in a great location for tourist attractions directly between Central Park and Times Square. The room was a decent size with bathrobes, slippers and toiletries of good quality. The bathroom felt a bit sterile and could do with some improvement. Concierge and reception staff were all very helpful. We went on our honeymoon and the hotel kindly left a bottle of champagne in our room along with some chocolates. Unfortunately we were really ill the whole stay so we didnt really get to see much of New York or much of the hotel. We did enjoy a couple of drinks in the bar which was very nice but didnt manage to eat in the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank melanie_court
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Being a New York Palace regular, I was hesitant change hotels, but was swayed by the need for a suite on this stay. The foyer is just weird - very small with nowhere to sit and with quite indifferent staff, especially by New York standards. Having said this, once you realise there is no foyer to speak of, then everything else is just great. We had a "disabled" suitable room and this meant that we had a HUGE bathroom and plenty of room elsewhere in the suite. We needed twin beds and on the internet the only twin bed suites were those suitable for disabled access - hence how we ended up with this room.

The location is perfect - while you are virtually on Times Square, it is very quiet and very proximate to all levels of dining. Highly recommended.

There is a tine entry area, then a large lounge space with a generous desk area. Then a separate bedroom with a very large wardrobe area and the aforementioned bathroom.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ZigsMum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Espoo, Finland
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is well located nearby Times Square, Broadway and the Central Park. It has an impressive lobby and is home to Maze by Gordon Ramsey. It also has the claim to fame of being the highest hotel building in Manhattan. The standard of service is very high. Our previous hotel had refused to hold our luggage overnight whilst we spent a day in Boston but the staff at The London NYC were only too pleased to help. The real let down for us was that someone managed to get access to our room whilst we slept. The hotel security did a good job investigating this but took no action over the security latch that showed evidence of being forced. I would expect to see lift access restricted to card holders in a hotel of this standing. The security rightly pointed out that deadbolts and security latches are provided on all doors for a reason. This is something that all guests should keep in mind when staying in this hotel. My other tip would be to try to get a room away from the lifts which are very high speed and create unwanted noise in the evenings. Overall, and setting aside what was probably a rare security issue which just happened to occur whilst we were there, this was an exceptionally good hotel choice for those wanting high quality hotel accommodation in a great location!

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Mick189932
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, UK
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2013

Have stayed in plenty of hotels in New York and The London is Definately up at the top of the list for luxury and comfort.

Definitely true what the other writers on here have said about the service on the front desk, its Definitely not the over friendly New York welcome that you receive in other New York hotels in in other New York places in general and is a little frosty and rushed.

The guys on the door however and very smiley and cheerful so don't let the front desk put you off at all.

We booked a London suite and it was very spacious with a lounge area, bedroom and twin beds and a bathroom which was quite large. There were also 2 TVs, one in each room which was handy. The reception warned us not to move anything in the fridge which was electronically charged which was a good thing. We checked the menu and the items in the fridge seemed a little pricey. In addition the room service esp breakfast seemed expensive and we didn't order in anything. Instead I went for morning coffee around the corner at Zibetto and brought this to the room which the hotel didn't seem to mind.

Maid service was very thorough and discreet. Our room was exceptionally clean each day.

The bathroom shower looks small but is quite powerful even though it leaked over the side of the bath, we could have phoned down to let them know, but life and the trip was too short.

Sleep quality on the 40th floor was exceptionally good for such a busy city - I heard no noise any night - even when Brad pit and his many fans were a few doors down at the Ziegfeld.

We had drinks and one time had food in the bar area of the maze. Both of which had great service and were of top quality. I had a London Red Carpet Cocktail and my Mum had a Guilded Lilly, both of which were fabulous, and $19. On the last day we ate at the Maze bar - just bar snacks which were lovely and perfectly seasoned. The bar tenders and waiters were very chatty and told us that sometimes Gordon Ramsey just shows up and talks to the staff and guests which was a very exciting prospect.

In all the hotel was very clean, well presented and had some great staff working there. Perfectly positioned for everywhere you need to go and the 53 ave subway is only a 2 min walk away.

Would stay here again and think you should too!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cocktailess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clearwater, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
186 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2013

This hotel is insanely good! I've only stayed once awhile but it was very memorable. From what I remember, I think all the rooms are suites. Each room has two TVs. One in the living room and one in the bedroom. The suites were very cozy, spacious, and modern. Great hotel in a great location!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
the Quin
the Quin
#42 of 467 in New York City
2,748 reviews
Midtown
The Blakely New York
The Blakely New York
#135 of 467 in New York City
1,418 reviews
Midtown
WestHouse Hotel New York
WestHouse Hotel New York
#110 of 467 in New York City
1,657 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Michelangelo Hotel
The Michelangelo Hotel
#43 of 467 in New York City
3,517 reviews
Upper East Side
Loews Regency New York Hotel
Loews Regency New York Hotel
#33 of 467 in New York City
1,536 reviews
Midtown
1 Hotel Central Park
1 Hotel Central Park
#25 of 467 in New York City
1,279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The London NYC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The London NYC

Property: The London NYC
Address: 151 West 54th Street, New York City, NY 10019-5302
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#49 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#73 Family Hotel in New York City
#80 Business Hotel in New York City
#136 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The London NYC 4.5*
Number of rooms: 561
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sophisticated urban luxury in the heart of midtown Manhattan, the award-winning London NYC sets a new standard for New York luxury hotels. Named to several "Best of" and "Top 10 lists", you'll find detailed design, attentive service and The London Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The London NYC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The London Nyc Hotel New York City
London Nyc New York City
London Hotel New York
London Nyc Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing