We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Wonderful weekend in NYC” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The London NYC

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The London NYC
Ranked #138 of 475 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Saskatoon, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Wonderful weekend in NYC”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

I came to NYC for a girls shopping trip with 6 friends. We all loved the hotel and thought the location of the hotel was perfect for our needs. We were able to walk to walk to all our favourite stores on 5th avenue as well as the the theatre district for shows. We stayed in a 2 bedroom suite on the 33rd floor and our room was large and modern. The larger (of the two) bathrooms had a huge double head shower. The beds were very comfortable. The staff was could not have been more friendly or helpful. We even saw several celebrities in the lobby who were also staying there. I would highly recommend this hotel when visiting the city.

Room Tip: Room 3303/3304 was wonderful
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tylernolan2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,891
    799
    245
    105
    69
See reviews for
646
1,218
135
677
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (747)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

I was visiting my sister in NYC last week and stayed at The London NYC. My room was lovely and well appointed. From check-in to check-out every person was helpful and pleasant. The bed was very comfy and the bathroom was above expectations. I felt like I was in a hip hotel that was five star in service and decor.
Great location and some wonderful shopping and restaurants close by. I will be retuning to The London.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, VA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

My husband and I spent the weekend at the London NYC. From the moment we entered, we were given prompt and welcoming service. Our London suite (their basic suite) was on the 46th floor, with large windows in both the living room and bedroom. The décor is very modern and sophisticated, but not sterile: touches of color enliven the neutral decor and fabrics such as velvet add warmth as well. The suite has a doorway, but no door, between the living room and bedroom. It has all the usual features - good work space, free wifi and so forth. The drapes and sheers are semi-automated, so easily open and close. There are also strands of tiny lights edging the cornice. The bathroom had a shower area with 2 shower heads (one a lovely rain shower one), but because there is no door, some water did get out on the floor. Because of the very streamlined decor, there are not enough places to hang towels, and the few hooks do not slant up to keep towels from slipping off. As other reviewers have mentioned, the bed is very comfortable, with a cushy mattress topper and a supportive mattress underneath. The duvet was warm, but not heavy. It would have been nice to have a coffee/tea maker. We ate breakfast in the Maze restaurant Saturday morning. They feature a large buffet, as well as a la carte hot entreés. We were promptly seated and beverage orders were quickly taken. The grapefruit juice tasted fresh-squeezed and the coffee was good. I ordered the buffet and my husband had the "Full London," which is the buffet and an entreé. The buffet offered a lot of options - 4 kinds of cereal, yogurt, a wide variety of fresh fruit, both whole and cut up, bagels with every topping imaginable, several types of pastries (nice and small, so sampling could be done w/out over-eating), muffins, sliced deli meat, cheeses, and bread for self-serve toasting. The assortment was wonderful and the food was good, but not creative as I'd expected it to be, given that the London boasts that the Maze is a Gordon Ramsey restaurant (he's not an active chef there). Another mild disappointment was that bacon and sausage are not offered on the buffet, but only in the a la carte dishes. My husband had the London Breakfast in addition to the buffet. It was rather a let-down, as the scrambled eggs were a bit overcooked and the toast was, again, good but nothing special. The chicken apple sausage tasted very bland - no hint of sage or other seasoning. There was a not-quite-red tomato and a rather over-cooked mushroom as garnishing. This entreé was an additional $11 (ordered w/out the buffet, $22). When staying at a hotel as luxurious as the London, with a Gordon Ramsey restaurant as a big draw, the food was overall a disappointment. I highly recommend the suites, but also strongly suggest that you dine elsewhere.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank law2grace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

I have used the London with great pleasure for the past 4 years on my business trips to New York. The staff and service along with the rooms are second to none; the location is a stone’s throw from the park and the same to Times Sq. On my last visit one week ago I encouraged my staff to share the experience, they weren't disappointed, so much so it has now become the corporate hotel for New York visits.
I like to say a big thanks to Paul, Nicole and Maggie in the bar they made us so welcome and boy can they make a cocktail. Also it was a pleasure to deal with Dimitri the front desk manager, he helped me sort out a small issue without wasting a moment he's attitude was impeccable and typical of the service at the NYC. I highly recommend it, great service and always with a smile.

Room Tip: Most of the rooms are suites except for the flats; they all have a separate living room to chill out...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

A night at the London NYC, on a cold February weekend. The service was great, from the guys who sorted my bags and booked hair and nail appointments, to the room service waiters.
I was in an entry level suite - clean and spacious. The lighting is challenging, not quite enough in the living area and by the desk. No tea and coffee making facilities and no complimentary water. The bed was wonderfully comfortable, beautiful sheets and great mattress.
I ate in the bar on a couple of occasions, and on both cases was unimpressed by the quality of food. Breakfast was poor, cold toast and overcooked and soggy breakfast potatoes, undercooked tomatoes, and terrible coffee, both the filter and the americano. Lunch was also disappointing, the cheese plate had obviously been hanging around for some time and the chicken in my salad undercooked. The food quality has seriously deteriorated in the year since I was just there.
It"s such a pity because the hotel is welcoming, the staff lovely, but hugely let down by the food and the small things.

Room Tip: ask for a room with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bristoltraveller3236
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

This was my first trip to New York and The London NYC hotel was amazing. The hotel was very welcoming and the staff were great. We had a nice clean room and the bed was amazing perfect after being in the cold weather. The location was perfect for me as I was able to walk for most sight seeing and shopping. I highly recommend this great hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stathis S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limassol, Cyprus
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

All the staff were extremely polite and helpful, they couldn't do enough! The room was very spacious and comfortable, but it would have been nice to have tea and coffee making facilities. No complaints about anything and if I were returning to New York it would definitely be to the London NYC!!

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Linda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
the Quin
the Quin
#46 of 475 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 1,935 reviews
Midtown
The Blakely New York
The Blakely New York
#162 of 475 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 1,243 reviews
Midtown
WestHouse Hotel New York
WestHouse Hotel New York
#81 of 475 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 787 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Hilton Club - New York
The Hilton Club - New York
#129 of 475 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 519 reviews
Midtown
The Michelangelo Hotel
The Michelangelo Hotel
#41 of 475 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 2,706 reviews
Midtown
Warwick New York Hotel
Warwick New York Hotel
#90 of 475 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 3,764 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The London NYC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The London NYC

Property: The London NYC
Address: 151 West 54th Street, New York City, NY 10019-5302
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#49 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#75 Family Hotel in New York City
#80 Business Hotel in New York City
#107 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The London NYC 4.5*
Number of rooms: 561
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sophisticated urban luxury in the heart of midtown Manhattan, the award-winning London NYC sets a new standard for New York luxury hotels. Named to several "Best of" and "Top 10 lists", you'll find detailed design, attentive service and The London Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, TravelClick and Jetsetter so you can book your The London NYC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The London Nyc Hotel New York City
London Nyc New York City
London Hotel New York
London Nyc Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing