We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Special Stay...”
Review of The London NYC

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The London NYC
Ranked #228 of 471 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 10, 2013

Stayed here in December for 4 nights for my husbands 40th birthday. I had emailed the hotel prior to our stay to ask for a suite on one of the higher floors and also for a room with a bath. I also mentioned that we were travelling from the UK for a special occasion and was told that a bottle of Prosecco and chocolates would be left in our suite.
Reception staff were very helpful and also noticed my husbands birthday when the looked at his passport when we checked in. When we arrived in our room our requests had been met, high floor and bath as well as shower along with the Prosecco and chocolate. Short while later room service brought up a bottle of wine and fruit bowl organised by reception as a 40th treat despite already having had Prosecco already.. The room was lovely and the bed very comfy. The bath was really nice and deep too.
The hotel location was amazing, a few minute walk from so many sights.
We didn't eat in the hotel as so many lovely places to eat nearby. Highly recommend 21 Club and the Capital Grille, Time Life building, both only a few minute walk away and serving amazing food. The old castle pub over the road is also great for a cheaper meal or bar snacks, as is the Irish pub round the corner on 7th Ave (tasty burgers at lunch)
It is a shame about the lack of tea and coffee making facilities but we used to get drinks from the coffee shop on the corner which were really nice, but cheap.. They also do amazing cakes.
In the hotel all staff we spoke to we're polite, helpful and friendly.
All in all we had a fantastic holiday and would certainly stay at the London NYC when we bring our kids in a few years.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lindahowells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,685)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,127 - 2,133 of 3,685 reviews

Reviewed January 10, 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed for 3 nights over New Year and I have nothing but superlatives for the London NYC. The staff were friendly, knowledgeable and extremely helpful (the concierge can get you a restaurant reservation or a show ticket anywhere in town, thanks Jared!). The rooms are sleek, sophisticated, spacious and relaxing (much needed after days of exploring NYC). I never ate within the hotel but did bump into other guests who highly recommended the restaurant and when I go back this year I will be sure to try. In summary, one of the best hotels I have stayed in, highly recommend.

Room Tip: Great location to explore NYC
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hardtoplease_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2013

What more could you ask for?! The rooms, locations and service were perfect. Ramsay's restaurant was superb - although I am glad he was not there, instead we met the manager who after a few drinks took us on a tour of the kitchen. Something which we will not forget!

The rooms were large by any standard - HUGE by NYC standards. The bathrooms too were large. Everything from the rooms to the shampoo and pens in the room made you feel rich and famous!

The gym is good too!

Great value, location and rooms!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jimbob1NZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights in November due to displacement during Hurricane Sandy. The accommodations were spacious, breakfast buffet plentiful and staff courteous. Location was ideal (close to Times Square but far away enough to not be too busy.) We have 2 small children and were treated very respectfully. If you have an American Express platinum card, check out your Fine Hotels and Resorts benefits to reserve a room here.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank beachiefoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2013

We were looking forward to staying at The London just before Christmas. The pros: the rooms are big for New York. The beds were super comfortable and the showers large and powerful. The location is great for the MOMA, Central Park and walkable to shops, restaurants, theatres. The cons: Considering it was Christmas, which normally sees New York at its' best, the lobby was dingy, too small for a tree and the staff on reception certainly lacked any festive cheer. (The staff floating around the hotel/housekeeping staff etc were very polite and helpful). Apart from a small mezzanine (very small for a comparatively big hotel) there is nowhere to meet friends so there are always masses of people and staff standing around the small lobby. We only managed to get somewhere to sit in the bar on one evening and the burger was delicious but the wine was very average without much choice. Surprisingly for American hotels, there is no tea and coffee in the room and they didn't provide any water.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
1  Thank escapeecam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2013

I stayed here for 3 nights in December during a work visit to New York. Location is convenient to Time Square, about 10-15min walk, off the main avenues on a quiet street. Really nice lobby on entry, helpful staff. The room I stayed in was big and spacious suite. Air conditioning was set to very low on entry and I found it a little difficult to get the balance right.

Beds were superb, and toilet/shower space was enormous (two showers with rainforest heads).

The restaurant/bar was busy both nights I ate in the hotel. Great atmosphere although difficult to get a seat, food was good.

I would recommend this for work or for nice retreat from a hectic city break.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Muppet50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2013

Modern and stylish hotel with warm and friendly service. The room was beautiful and the shower was the best! Great location and complimentary ride to Penn Station. We really enjoyed our stay here. We ate at Maze on the lobby level and service was slow at first, but once we told our waiter that we needed to get to a show the pace picked up. The meal was very good and again service was very warm and friendly.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank embc109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
the Quin
the Quin
#40 of 471 in New York City
3,010 reviews
Midtown
The Michelangelo Hotel
The Michelangelo Hotel
#42 of 471 in New York City
3,739 reviews
Midtown
The Langham New York Fifth Avenue
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Warwick New York
Warwick New York
#114 of 471 in New York City
4,517 reviews
Midtown
JW Marriott Essex House New York
JW Marriott Essex House New York
#245 of 471 in New York City
1,854 reviews
TriBeCa
Conrad New York
Conrad New York
#31 of 471 in New York City
3,490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The London NYC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The London NYC

Address: 151 West 54th Street, New York City, NY 10019-5302
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#49 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#51 Family Hotel in New York City
#80 Business Hotel in New York City
#160 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $283 - $702 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The London NYC 4.5*
Number of rooms: 561
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sophisticated urban luxury in the heart of midtown Manhattan, the award-winning London NYC sets a new standard for New York luxury hotels. Named to several "Best of" and "Top 10 lists", you'll find detailed design, attentive service and The London Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your The London NYC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The London Nyc Hotel New York City
London Nyc New York City
London Hotel New York
London Nyc Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing