We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Almost Great”
Review of The London NYC

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The London NYC
Ranked #181 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Provincetown MA
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“Almost Great”
Reviewed December 29, 2012

We really enjoyed our stay at The London over Christmas. Great central location, very spacious and comfortable suite, fast and free Wifi and an ample breakfast buffet with a wonderful selection to chose from. Why not a 5 star? Well, when we checked in the porters took our bags and said they would bring them right up to the room. When they arrived to our room they had someone else's luggage. We then described ours and they said they would be right back with them. We waited over 30 minutes and no word. We had dinner reservations at Daniel and needed to clean up and change. I called down to them and they seemed not to know where our things were. My partner finally had waited long enough and went down to the lobby himself and found our luggage right next to the check in desk where we had left it. Not a good way to start our stay. We also found a previous guest's half finished salad in our minibar fridge.

Also, the bathroom layout was a bit strange. Had a double shower but only one sink and no hooks to hang things. Kind of a waste of space. It would be better to use the space for the double shower to have a bath tub.

So except for the luggage mishap we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SteveTait
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,497 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,077
    905
    298
    125
    92
See reviews for
758
1,352
152
762
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (823)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Newton, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed December 29, 2012

Location, location, location. Lovely suite, free wifi, but bathroom had pros and cons. Pro: lots of light. Con: strange shower. Staff pleasant and helpful, even gave us the hotel limo for a ride to Penn Station.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charles S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2012

The London is my favorite place to stay in the city - for work or pleasure. Rooms are spacious and serene - perfect if you need to work a lot in the room. The staff are excellent - from the doormen to front desk to housekeeping.
Breakfast in the hotel restaurant is good and can provide excellent opportunities for people watching.

I also love the piped in scent that they have in the lobby!

Room Tip: Book or ask for a room on a higher floor - odd numbered rooms face the park. Most rooms do not have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PhenomDiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed December 25, 2012

This is the hotel for any visitor wanting perfect location coupled with excellent accommodations. My 54th floor Sky suite was unique and sublime.

Nice small gym.

Nowhere to sit in the lobby. You need to attend in the smart bar which isn't half bad. Haha.

Only a couple blocks to Le Bernardin. Exquisite.

It's hard to go wrong here.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Irreverent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicosia, Cyprus
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed December 25, 2012

We stayed for 9 days at this hotel during our honeymoon in July and we loved every minute of it! The room was quite spacious, bed was comfortable and we had no problems with storage. It's an amazing luxury hotel, with very professional staff and excellent concierge service! And its location is its best asset, right in the middle of midtown, a couple of blocks from MOMA and Central Park, and close to two subway stations that take you everywhere in the city. All in all its one of the best hotels we stayed at and its worth every penny!

Room Tip: Try higher floor rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank mevgeniou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 6 Contributor
330 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2012 via mobile

The location for the hotel is very convenient and the room (suite) was spacious. Both times I was here, my wife felt the room was decorated too sparsely and too masculine. The double shower is a nice touch but double sinks would be more practical. The towels were not very plush and were scratchy. The value for the price is excellent but the overall feeling for the hotel leaves something to be desired. Nicer for a business trip than a couple.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Sheldon K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2012

We decided to stay at the London as it came highly recommended by friends of ours, we weren't disappointed one little bit! It is a very unstated hotel and very classy indeed. The reception area doesn't really do the rest of the hotel justice but it does it's job! The bar area was good and the cocktails even better! We also dined in the Gordon Ramsay restaurant which was pricey but a must if you like fine dining experiences!
Our room was lovely, i say room i mean suite! This consisted of a lounge/relaxing area, bathroom with double shower and then the bedroom with King size bed.

The lounge: In the lounge there was a seat and a sofa, a desk, tv and mini bar.

The Bathroom: Double shower, sink, toilet, clean towels every day and lovely toiletries

The Bedroom: Fantastically comfortable bed, draws and hanging space for clothes, tv, iron, ironing board, hairdryer

( electric curtains and net curtains! ( little things! ) )

The location of the hotel was great, could not have been better. It is a 5 minute walk from Times square but far enough away from the hustle and bustle! Only 5 minutes away from all of the shops on 5th/6Th av too! Close to central park and the Rockafella centre, again only a maximum of 10 minutes walk away! Broadway also 5 mins walk away!

There is a good pub opposite too!

Tube/metro stations are close by.

Please try this hotel as it really does live up to expectations. Loved it and would return!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Fiona4333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
the Quin
the Quin
#42 of 467 in New York City
2,748 reviews
Midtown
The Blakely New York
The Blakely New York
#135 of 467 in New York City
1,418 reviews
Midtown
WestHouse Hotel New York
WestHouse Hotel New York
#110 of 467 in New York City
1,657 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Michelangelo Hotel
The Michelangelo Hotel
#43 of 467 in New York City
3,517 reviews
Upper East Side
Loews Regency New York Hotel
Loews Regency New York Hotel
#33 of 467 in New York City
1,536 reviews
Midtown
1 Hotel Central Park
1 Hotel Central Park
#25 of 467 in New York City
1,279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The London NYC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The London NYC

Property: The London NYC
Address: 151 West 54th Street, New York City, NY 10019-5302
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#49 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#73 Family Hotel in New York City
#80 Business Hotel in New York City
#136 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The London NYC 4.5*
Number of rooms: 561
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sophisticated urban luxury in the heart of midtown Manhattan, the award-winning London NYC sets a new standard for New York luxury hotels. Named to several "Best of" and "Top 10 lists", you'll find detailed design, attentive service and The London Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TravelClick, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The London NYC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The London Nyc Hotel New York City
London Nyc New York City
London Hotel New York
London Nyc Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing