We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Large rooms with large bathroom”
Review of The London NYC

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The London NYC
Ranked #239 of 473 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 8, 2012

We have stayed here for many years. The suites are large, beds comfortable. Large bathrooms as well. Sofa not the most comfortable. Breakfast bar that comes with Platinum amex is Ok but you cannot apply the credit to a regular breakfast. Service in restaurant was spotty. This is a excellent location, close to the theater district and close to 5th ave.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank traveledfar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,722)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,237 - 2,243 of 3,722 reviews

Reviewed November 6, 2012

I had the pleasure of spending three nights here in May 2012. From the minute I pulled up in the cab I was made to feel welcome by the staff. Every single person had a smile on their face and was very personable. The check in staff were wonderful and the process was smooth and fast.

The room was HUGE! I couldn't believe that it was only $399 a night! The couch was comfortable and the bed was spectacular.

The property itself was always in tip top shape and the lobby was extremely elegant. The bar staff were wonderful. The drinks were pricy but no different than any other hotel in NYC.

I can't say enough good things nor can I recommend this hotel enough. I'll be staying here for four nights in December and I can't wait!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Orangeskittle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We recently stayed at The London for a girls trip away, arriving the Thursday after Hurricane Sandy. Apart from cold water on the first night we honestly would not have known that NY had recently experienced a hurricane. The staff were friendly and helpful throughout our 3 night stay - thanks to the concierge for arranging the 40th birthday balloons in our room, and for answering our sometimes silly questions (how to hail a cab in NY!). Sofia, the hotel manager, sent a bottle of champagne to the room to celebrate my friends birthday which we really appreciated. The rooms are lovely - we were in the two bedroom suite and even the roll-out bed was comfortable. You have to try the Gilded Lily cocktail at the hotel bar - very refreshing after a day at the shops. Location wise this hotel is ideal - within walking distance to all the shops. The doormen and bell hops were great when assisting with hailing a cab, and we were also able to use the house car on occasion. We had dinner at Maze by Gordon Ramsay on our first night there - fantastic food and not at all expensive. Overall we had a wonderful stay at this hotel and I will most certainly be returning when next in NY.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NJG_OnTheMove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

I recently stayed at the London and rode out the recent hurricane in NYC. The staff tried their best throughout the event to maintain the very high level of service that this hotel is known for. The entire staff stayed in the hotel as well as did management! By the third day, some rough edges were apparent in the service and food quality, but that was fantastic under this situation. Their desire to keep a high level of service, under the most trying of circumstances was fantastic.
The gym is fantastic - Note, some of the treadmills need service, but it is a five star gym overall!
The location - very hard to beat, especially if your a runner interested in the park. (not recommended in a hurricane however...)

Room Tip: Choose a City Scape room for better views and quieter stay -
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2012

Took the family (kids and husband) here for a NYC Xmas and it was perfect. The fact the restaurant is not really family friendly matters not at all as there are so many choices in NYC. we had a suite, and above all, i recall the receptionist went out of his way to ensure our son's new apple technology acquisition was up and running, using his own software. That was really beyond the line of duty! Warm, welcoming, comfortable, fantastic location. Love it.

Room Tip: i had gone to a lot of trouble to get a family suite. when we arrived they gave us two rooms. But...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pjcp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2012

We booked a room when Superstorm Sandy knocked out our power in our apartment downtown. One day after checking in, the hotel itself lost heat and hot water. We could have just stayed in our apartment! But the hotel refused to let us leave without charging us for the next night and also (at first) did not offer any price break or other concession for operating without heat or hot water. I recognize that this was not their fault, but of course, we would never have agreed to stay there if we knew they would freeze us out and we wouldn't be able to shower. Eventually, they agreed to a small price break -- after lots of discussion and negotiation. Other hotels in the area, we have heard from friends, didn't charge for the nights when they had no heat or hot water. The London put up a fight to give any price break. Shame on them.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank SFreviewGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2012

We had a spacious suite at the end of a hall - quiet and comfortable, with minimal furnishings. The bedroom features an open hanging space for clothes, with the bed facing a large wall, blank but for a small flat screen TV. The living space has an Austin-Powers-gone-wrong vibe - a curvy velvetine sofa, circular coffee table, slump-inducing chair, desk, and extremely awkward light fixtures. A larger TV is wall-mounted in this room (too high up to be visually comfortable). Very nice bathroom (no tub, but a 2-sided shower, one with rain-shower (for all those ladies who love to get their hair wet every day - not!)). Not one piece of art hangs on the walls. As for service - no complaints. I wouldn't say the staff was warm, but they met all requests efficiently. The in-house bar/restaurant seemed very good (but expensive). One has to question what the Gordon Ramsay brand connotes these days given the personality he exudes on his shows - fortunately, everyone seemed calm!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank relaxandread
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
the Quin
the Quin
#39 of 473 in New York City
3,057 reviews
Midtown
The Blakely New York
The Blakely New York
#126 of 473 in New York City
1,488 reviews
Midtown
The Langham New York Fifth Avenue
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Michelangelo Hotel
The Michelangelo Hotel
#44 of 473 in New York City
3,771 reviews
TriBeCa
Conrad New York
Conrad New York
#30 of 473 in New York City
3,525 reviews
Midtown
Lotte New York Palace
Lotte New York Palace
#82 of 473 in New York City
3,755 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The London NYC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The London NYC

Address: 151 West 54th Street, New York City, NY 10019-5302
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#49 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#51 Family Hotel in New York City
#79 Business Hotel in New York City
#162 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $284 - $720 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The London NYC 4.5*
Number of rooms: 561
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sophisticated urban luxury in the heart of midtown Manhattan, the award-winning London NYC sets a new standard for New York luxury hotels. Named to several "Best of" and "Top 10 lists", you'll find detailed design, attentive service and The London Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your The London NYC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The London Nyc Hotel New York City
London Nyc New York City
London Hotel New York
London Nyc Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing