We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best Hotel In NYC”
Review of The London NYC

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The London NYC
Ranked #169 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The Best Hotel In NYC”
Reviewed March 9, 2008

I LOVE THIS HOTEL!!

Service- Excellent

Room- Phenominal!

Resteraunt- Perfecto!

Everything Else- Wonderful

When I woke up I pressed a button on this remote and the curtains opened to a wonderful view of NYC! I would recomend this hotel to ANYONE!!

Chrissy Taylor

Helpful?
2 Thank NYCTraveler752
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,403 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,037
    880
    277
    121
    88
See reviews for
723
1,326
146
744
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (807)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
557 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 803 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2008

I stayed at this hotel for one night and wish I could have spent more time. My room was not really a room, but a beautiful, modern suite with a living room, a bedroom, a hallway and a bath. The bathroom did not have a tub, but had a huge walk-in glass shower with two separate shower heads on different ends of the shower stall: one a regular shower and another -- one of those rain showers (that's the one I tried). The bedding was luxurious and new, the mattress-perfect firmness. There were two flat-screen TVs -- one in the bedroom, one in the living room. The bedroom also had an iPod docking station --very useful.
I tried room service twice -- once at night for tea and dessert (it arrived very quickly and the ice cream -- coffee, salted almond, and ginger --was superb; the tea service included a very large pot of water, which I liked, that was so well-insulated that the water was still very hot the following morning); and once more the following morning. I got an eggwhite omelet and a madagascan vanilla yogurt with tea. The omelet was tasty and kept me full through lunch. The yogurt could have used a bit of sweetness -- it was tasty, but very neutral --other than seeing vanilla specks in it, I could not really taste it. The breakfast arrived on time, which was important for me because I had a pretty busy day.
The checkout -- through the TV in the room -- was quick.
Overall, I loved the modern, sleek decor, and thought the location was great.
Unfortunately I did not get to eat downstairs at Gordon Ramsay's restaurant, but there's always another time.
Give this hotel a try -- you will not be disappointed.

  • Liked — modern decor, very comfortable bed, great service
  • Disliked — a bit hard to figure out the light switches, no tub
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank giulietta429
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2008

We just returned from a weekend at the London Hotel. The experience was wonderful. Our room, which was a Vista Suite on the 45th floor, had an incredible view. We could see Central Park, with the George Washington Bridge in the distance. At night the city lights were beautiful. We had stayed at the Park Hyatt in Tokyo recently, and the view of Manhattan from our room at the London was comparable to the Tokyo view we had from our very high-end room at the Park Hyatt. Our London Hotel room was a suite - a good sized bedroom, well designed dressing area, and separate living room. The large windows overlooking the city added to the expansive feeling. We loved the decor - contemporary but not stark. Also loved the switches which automatically opened and shut the curtains!

Service at the London was flawless and professional from beginning to end. We enjoyed breakfast at the hotel both days. The food was excellent. We are experienced travelers, and felt the service everywhere in the hotel was five star quality. We felt we really got a wonderful value (surprising in NY).

Location was superb - we walked to Central Park, the Frick, an art show at the Armory, and shopping and restaurants. Highly recommend the London, and will stay there again on our next trip to NY.

  • Stayed February 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cath116
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles
Level Contributor
57 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 222 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2008

Nice suites-only hotel in good location, close to central park.

The key to getting a quiet room is staying in the upper floor suites. I stayed in room 3509 (london suite), the vista suites start on the 36th floor and would recommend those if they are available ( they were not when I checked in).

Room service is fast. There was a mistake on my order but they recitfied it quickly (undercooked).

Good value if you don't want to spurge on a suite at the 4 seasons.

  • Liked — the location
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank spurg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago,Illinois
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2008

Our 3 night stay at The London was terrific. We had a suite (3 women) All of the hotel staff were terrific...from the doormen (who recognized us each time we entered/left AND remembered where we were heading so that upon our return asked details about our activity!) to the bellman to the front desk to the restaurant staff. The breakfasts were terrific. The buffet had mounds of fresh blackberries, strawberries and blueberries (and our stay was in January...not the summer fresh fruit season!), fresh dates, assorted melons, a variety of croissants, yogurts, cereals, breads and coffee-cakes etc. We were fortunate to also have the High Tea as part of our stay....What a treat...as good as the High Tea at The Savoy in London, England! The hotel doesn't miss a trick! (Oh, check out the bathrooms in the lounge....for us middle age women who don't go "clubbing"....WOW...how very cool!)
The room: The furnishings in the room were very trendy and did cause the intended "WOW" effect...the round couch (which was directly underneath the bay window) was clearly there for its effect - not for its comfort. Beds were very comfortable (as was the roll-away cot that we needed).....bathroom had a 2 person shower stall.....individual shower heads at each end of the stall.. no tub. Wonderful robes and towels.
Our overall rating for this hotel is excellent!

  • Stayed January 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dbfm1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, UK
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2008

Stayed at the London for two nights in Feb with my husband and we were both really impressed. The staff upgraded us to a suite for our wedding anniversary, and a bottle of wine was waiting for us in the room - nice touch. Really really friendly staff too. Best bit though was the room - for NY standards, well, by any standards, it was huge, with a separate sitting area - handy if one of you is jetlagged and the other wants to watch tv! We didn't have an amazing view, but it was NY enough, skyscrapers etc, and to be honest, it didn't really matter because the room was so good. Small attention to detail was good too - earplugs, slippers, nice toiletries etc etc - we stayed in the Soho Grand for a couple of days too, and you don't get nearly as much value for money. Location is easy, you're a five minute walk from 5th Ave, Rockefeller centre, theatre district etc, or it's just a stroll up a couple of blocks to central park. If you want breakfast out of the hotel, there are lots of diner places around the corner. The London - thoroughly recommended, and would go back.

which is good if one of you is suffering jet lag and wants to goFor NY, the room was huge,

  • Liked — Professional staff, chic design
  • Disliked — nowhere to sit in lobby
Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank HeddiBrighton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
48 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2008

This is an excellent modern hotel, situated in a great location in NYC, with beautiful suite's, very large for NYC standards and excellent service.

We just stayed for one night, but were impressed with everything the hotel offered from breakfast to afternoon tea. The staff were ever attentive always willing to help.

I would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for some class at a reasonable price in NYC.

  • Liked — The suite's - beauitfully decorated, large and a relaxing bathroom
  • Disliked — N/A
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank busjgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Blakely New York
The Blakely New York
#136 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,368 reviews
Midtown
the Quin
the Quin
#40 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,585 reviews
Midtown
WestHouse Hotel New York
WestHouse Hotel New York
#95 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Michelangelo Hotel
The Michelangelo Hotel
#37 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,371 reviews
Midtown
The Hilton Club - New York
The Hilton Club - New York
#191 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 615 reviews
Midtown
Warwick New York
Warwick New York
#91 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The London NYC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The London NYC

Property: The London NYC
Address: 151 West 54th Street, New York City, NY 10019-5302
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#49 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#74 Family Hotel in New York City
#80 Business Hotel in New York City
#125 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The London NYC 4.5*
Number of rooms: 561
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sophisticated urban luxury in the heart of midtown Manhattan, the award-winning London NYC sets a new standard for New York luxury hotels. Named to several "Best of" and "Top 10 lists", you'll find detailed design, attentive service and The London Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TravelClick, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your The London NYC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The London Nyc Hotel New York City
London Nyc New York City
London Hotel New York
London Nyc Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing