We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Problems at the London NYC Hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of The London NYC

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The London NYC
Ranked #160 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Problems at the London NYC Hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2011

We stayed at the hotel for four nights recently. The hotel is situated on W54th which is a good location. However, when we arrived we discovered there was a roll-away bed in our room which had not been removed, most likely left from the previous hotel guests. I had to call twice to ask the hotel to remove it. The lighting in the room was a little dim then we had a light burn out. I called to ask them to replace the bulb and was told they would be up immediately. Three and a half hours later it was still not done. I ended up calling three more times before they attended to this matter. On a Sunday we went to the concierge desk to ask for recommendations to a play. We were treated rudely and told that the lights were dim on Broadway on Sunday and there were only two plays available. The concierge simply gave us a Time Out magazine and sent us away. We called from our room again to ask about one play and he simply laughed at us and said, "If you want to pay $1,200 a ticket, I can get you tickets!" We had to book our own play which we did the same evening. When we returned our room was not cleaned properly, the towels were not refreshed, there were yellow rubber cleaning gloves left on my wife's make-up bag and no extra roll of toilet paper left. This is supposed to be a luxury hotel. When I called to ask for the general manager, I was told he was unavailable. Finally, the morning we were about to leave, we got up early and the shower had no hot water.

In general, the bed was comfortable, the room was adequate, but the service could be greatly improved and management much more attentive to the concerns of hotel guests.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Travelsteward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,371 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,026
    871
    269
    120
    85
See reviews for
717
1,310
145
738
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (800)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2011

A stunning hotel with everything you could wish for. We had a double aspect room with amazing lighting and views. The bar was buzzing at cocktail time and the restaurant was superb - ask for a kitchen tour if this interests you.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pinotnoir5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverly Hills, California
Level Contributor
112 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2011

Our first stay at The London NYC was so nice we would definitely stay again; one of our best NYC hotel experiences. The suite was extremely spacious, quiet, clean and modern; the bed was extremely comfortable and gets an A plus; and the bathroon is very large with double showers and is beautifully tiled and appointed. Never once did we have to call housekeeping for service or for turndown -- they are very on top of things when it comes to service. If i could redecorate, I'd replace the curved sofa, the oversized coffee table and giant hanging lamp with something a little more inviting and slightly smaller in scale, but this is just not a big deal. The concierge desk was very helpful and had some great restaurant suggestions. The bar is also an A plus - beautiful, nicely laid out and buzzing with lots of interesting people; we loved having a drink there in the evenings and they happen to make amazing gimlets and bloody marys (!). The hotel was a pleasure to return to after many days and evenings filled with all the excitement and noise of the city. A truly modern and confortable hotel located in the heart of midtown near all the highlighes: the theatre district, Central Park, Madison Ave and Rockefeller Center.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mintchip17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2011

This was my fifth trip to New York. My partner is a smoker and loves to watch TV into the early hours of the evening, so a suite in Midtown at the London NYC was perfect. I could not believe the size of both the bedroom and lounge which are separated by french doors,.It was wonderful, and especially handy for the excessive amount of shopping bags that were parked in the lounge! The location is the best - 5 minute walk to many of the theatres and time square, many small supermarkets handy. It is 2 blocks to Fitfth Ave, 4 blocks to Central Park, you are in the heart of everything. It is one block to subway that takes you down to World Trade Centre stop where Century 21 is located - excellent shopping if you get in at 8.00am and out before crowds arrie by 10.30am, this take abt 15 minutes and the E line stops at all major stations down Manhattan. Hotel staff are brilliant, very helpful and courteous,room service is not a long wait, ice machine just near the lift - very handy for the much needed Vodka and tonic at the end of the day. Maze restaurant is superb this hotel has it all. I highly recommend the London NYC

Room Tip: I booked through Expedia which was good value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leajv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2011

- very well arranged rooms, with lots of space
- excellent value for a suite
- terrific and helpful staff, eg Marianne McCann, Front Office Manager
- great central location
- helpful Concierge staff
- very practical rooms, esp the desk

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TonyTony_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
74 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2011

The London has lovely spacious rooms with excellent closet space and bathrooms. The views are reasonably nice and the windows open a bit to allow some fresh air into the room. The free wireless internet works well. My only complaint is that the bathroom door is a sliding door that does not completely close.

My favorite NY hotels are the St. Regis and the Mandarin Oriental but the London NYC is a much better value without the need to make many sacrifices in quality. The food is excellent thanks to the Gordon Ramsey restaurant downstairs and the location is ideal if you are going to Broadway shows or have business in the Times Square area.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank atw100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pompton Lakes, New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2011

If you are traveling to New York City, stay at this hotel! The hotel itself is gorgeous, upscale, clean and roomy, but the kind and accommodating staff gets the highest marks!! When we stay (and we often do) bellman Mike Hynes makes sure all our needs are met, as well as bellmen Chris (don't recall his last name) and Tony a nice man with glasses! The front desk staff is great! Julio Martell was wonderful when we checked in last. Overall, Mike Hynes and everyone else at the London make you feel as if you are the only guests at the hotel! Stay there next time you are in New York, you won't regret it!!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carm1100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Blakely New York
The Blakely New York
#155 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,338 reviews
Midtown
the Quin
the Quin
#43 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,523 reviews
Midtown
WestHouse Hotel New York
WestHouse Hotel New York
#93 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Michelangelo Hotel
The Michelangelo Hotel
#37 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,312 reviews
Midtown
The Hilton Club - New York
The Hilton Club - New York
#196 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 601 reviews
Midtown
Warwick New York
Warwick New York
#91 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The London NYC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The London NYC

Property: The London NYC
Address: 151 West 54th Street, New York City, NY 10019-5302
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#49 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#74 Family Hotel in New York City
#80 Business Hotel in New York City
#119 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The London NYC 4.5*
Number of rooms: 561
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sophisticated urban luxury in the heart of midtown Manhattan, the award-winning London NYC sets a new standard for New York luxury hotels. Named to several "Best of" and "Top 10 lists", you'll find detailed design, attentive service and The London Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, TravelClick, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The London NYC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The London Nyc Hotel New York City
London Nyc New York City
London Hotel New York
London Nyc Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing