We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent location for the price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
U Hotel Fifth Avenue
Ranked #286 of 470 Hotels in New York City
Reviewed January 5, 2011

I visited te Hotel with my best friend, we stayed for 7 nights. The staff were very friendly and extremely helpful. The location was excellent, I could see the Empire State Building from my bathroom window!!!
The room was on the smallish side, but not to forget it was a city hotel, there was ample room and lets be honest in an amzazing city like NYC all you do is sleep in it.
Would highly recommend this hotel, would love to go again.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claire230680
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,088)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

573 - 579 of 1,088 reviews

Reviewed January 4, 2011

Myself and my partner stayed here for 5 days before Christmas. The location is fantastic, right across the street from The Empire State and a stones throw from Times Sq and Macys.
However it should be made clear that there is absolutely no amenities. We were looking forward to having a little drink on our arrival but this wasn't possible as the space downstairs is occupied by a very busy Starbucks.
We were disappointed with the size of the room, and the lack of storage space, we had to put our cases on the floor and leave the clothes in as there was absolutely no space to walk around the bed otherwise. Space comes at a price in New York!
The bathroom was a good size, but flooded when you used the shower. The dirty carpets both in the rooms and corridors of the hotel which were quite off putting, but just an attention to detail issue.
if you're not going to spend any time in the hotel apart from sleeping, then this is good value for money. Not the place for a romantic weekend.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aldon1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2010

It is a really nice hotel and we have found great prices on booking.com. We arrived pretty late and had no problem with the check-in. The location is the best you could get, 2 blocks from Empire State Building, 5 minutes to Macy's...and about 10-15 minutes walking to Times Square. The room is small but clean, the shower could be a bit more nice but nothing to worry, its clean! The area is really safe, nothing to worry. We were out day and night. The bed could be a little bit harder, but that's just our taste. Staff is really nice, plus from the entrance of the hotel there is a sliding door, so you could just step into a Starbucks. Highly recommended! Oh, and free Wifi! :)

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Laszlo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2010

We stayed at the Hotel 373 for 1 night as a stop over on route to the main part of our holiday in San Diego, California. Having been to New York on several occassions, we selected the hotel mainly due to its central midtown location and close proximity to Penn St Station. We were flying into Newark Airport from the UK and for a one night stay and did not fancy paying the standard $70 - $80 each way cab fare to and from Newark Airport

For those unfamiliar, the suitable alternative is to take the train from Newark Airport to Penn St Station and from here it is literally a 5 minute walk to the hotel. Sure its is a little more hassle if you have mountains of luggage but you save over $100 and its actually quicker timescale wise than getting a cab.

The Hotel itself was perfectly adequate. As I mentioned, great central location, maybe 1-2 blocks from the Empire State Building and bang on 5th avenue for shopping etc... Walking distance to times square, central park, rockafeller and broadway shows. If you don't fancy the walk then there is a subway 1 block from the hotel which will take you uptown to central park or indeed downtown as far as Brooklyn Bridge, Wall st, staten island ferry etc...

The room itself was typical New York in that it was very small and compact. In terms of decor it was fresh, modern enough and the bed was very comfortable. The vast majority of tourists visiting New York don't want to spend any more time than is neccesary in their hotel room and instead are basically needing a centrally located, clean, comfortable room to crash out in after a long, tiring days sightseeing... If this applies to you then you won't be disappointed in the Hotel 373.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank roeboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2010

First time in New York and we loved the Hotel 373. Yes the rooms are small but it is a boutique hotel and for the price and location you can forget about the room size. Plus you are in New York how much time do you actually spend in your room? Starbucks downstairs is a bonus as there are no coffee makers in the rooms. We had a premium Queen room and we were fine with that even if we had to live out of the suitcase for 4 days. The location is to die for! We were in walkiing distance for most attractions and there is always the reliable transit system which is easy to get around in. The front desk staff were very accomodating and I commend them. I will be back to New York again and will be staying at the Hotel 373.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BobfromOttawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2010

I never stay at chains in NYC, it just seems ridiculous when there are such a large number of funky boutiques hotels all over. Plus it would be like eating at McDonalds in NYC why? why? why? would you, considering all the vast variety laid out at your feet?
But there is one glaring issue with this type of accomodation: size. The room at the 373 was perfectly bright, clean, and well funished. The air conditioner was setable and not too noisy. The front desk staff was so pleasant. The room - as fine as it was - was tiny.
I travel alone so I never complain about the room size - just mentioning that this would never work for two. These hotels are like the old SROs - one person is almost too many.
With rare exceptions, like the Roger Williams, they are all closets. I accept and enjoy it but there is such a thing as too much downsizing, really.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cootmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2010

First trip to New York and would definately stay here again and recommend it to friends. The location is fantastic as it is very central and you could walk to most places. If not the subway is about 5mins away. The room was on the small side but really didn't matter as it was just somewhere to sleep. We were on the 8th floor will a great view of the Empire state building and didn't really notice any city noise. Hotel was very clean and comfortable place to stay. Hotel staff were really welcoming, helpful and friendly. Nothing was too much trouble and they helped us check in online for our return flight home. Starbucks next door is always a bonus as well as some great little places for breakfast and snacks nearby.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JCS82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Chinatown
Hotel Richland New York
Hotel Richland New York
#275 of 470 in New York City
707 reviews
Midtown
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Fifth Avenue
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York ...
#231 of 470 in New York City
637 reviews
Flatiron Hotel
#374 of 470 in New York City
799 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
HGU New York
HGU New York
#234 of 470 in New York City
219 reviews
Financial District
Fairfield Inn New York Manhattan/Financial District
Fairfield Inn New York Manhattan...
#238 of 470 in New York City
419 reviews
The Evelyn
#285 of 470 in New York City
2,171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to U Hotel Fifth Avenue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about U Hotel Fifth Avenue

Address: 373 5th Ave, New York City, NY 10016-3307
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Garment District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#193 Business Hotel in New York City
#198 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#235 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $119 - $481 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — U Hotel Fifth Avenue 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Deluxe boutique hotel on world-famous Fifth Avenue. The hotel features 70 queen-bedded rooms in a sleek contemporary design. We are located at 35th and Fifth Avenue. All rooms feature free WiFi, bathrobes, I-pod docks, on-site Starbucks. Across from the Empire State Building. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your U Hotel Fifth Avenue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
373 Hotel New York City
Hotel 373 Fifth Avenue
Hotel 373 New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing