We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, tight space though”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
U Hotel Fifth Avenue
Ranked #289 of 471 Hotels in New York City
Reviewed March 13, 2014

Stayed here a few years ago on our first trip to New York.

Great hotel, very clean. But tight and compact. Although for all the time stayed in the room it was fine.

Great location, Empire State Building is just across the street.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MrsGDundee_Scotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin F, General Manager at U Hotel Fifth Avenue, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2014

Mrs. Dundee,
Thanks so much for your positive assesment. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,092)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

276 - 282 of 1,092 reviews

Reviewed March 6, 2014

Stayed at 373 5th Ave. several times over the past few years and always a positive experience. Rooms small, but clean. In fact, I'm staying there tomorrow night. Staff helpful, friendly, and professional! Centrally located and a Starbucks downstairs. Parking usually available in a parking garage a few blocks away. Charlene

Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
7  Thank CharleneTerese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin F, General Manager at U Hotel Fifth Avenue, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2014

Charlene,
Thanks so much for your loyal patronage and your kind words. We appreciate your business and we look forward to having you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2014

My daughter and I stayed here this past weekend and cannot say enough great, positive things about this hotel. The front desk staff are so courteous and friendly, very welcoming! We were pleasantly surprised with a king upgrade and our room was perfect. Immaculately clean and comfortable. The bed was great, linens spotless and the bathroom perfect. The extra touches...Philosophy toiletries, complimentary bottled water and Starbucks coffee (in room coffee maker, too) put the icing on the cake! Price, location and quality of service and accommodations will surely bring us back again and again.

*The only negative experience was at the Oxford Cafe's "complimentary breakfast." (The hotel generously provides breakfast coupons for each morning of your stay, if you booked directly through their website.) we ordered exactly what was allowed on the voucher...Create your own breakfast burrito and coffee...the cashier managed to find a way to add out-of-pocket charges to our order and was quite unclear when we asked to explain why. To avoid further embarrassment we paid the difference, but will pass, next time. There are many other great places for breakfast all around that area.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank kpitt12453
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin F, General Manager at U Hotel Fifth Avenue, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2014

Kpitt,
Thank you so much for your kind words. Philosphy is very popular amongst our guests and we are glad you like it. I am disturbed that you had a bad experience at the Oxford Cafe. They are a valued partner and I will speak to them about this issue.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2014

For the price of my room and it's smack in the middle of mid-town, you get to save on subway/cab fares. You can basically walk the equidistant between Columbus Circle (Uptown) and Union Square (Downtown) in approximately the same amount of time.

If you're visiting as a tourist, you could walk up and down on different avenues next to 5th Ave. and you've basically have hit most attractions while on the way! Not to mention that Empire State Building is down the block and shoppers - Macy's is down an avenue.

For those who are here for work, even better, it's 10-mins away from Times Square, same as business district of Bryant Park.

There's a Starbucks conveniently right on the street level. A library is behind the building, in case you need a place to work, faster Wi-Fi speeds, reference materials.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Arnold W M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin F, General Manager at U Hotel Fifth Avenue, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2014

Arnold,
Thanks so much for highlighting our location. You can walk down 5th avenue and hit most major attractions. Nice to hear positive words from a native New Yorker.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2014

We loved this hotel for many reasons. Excellent location, central midtown, 1 block from the Empire state bldg. and 1 block from Herald Square Subway station, very convenient to visit central and upper Manhattan, as well as all lower Manhattan quarters, weather it´s walking or by subway.
Service is good and nice, coffee machine in the room, clean, comfortable and cozy.
Rooms are rather small, but pretty enough decent size to accomodate properly, worth the price.
I liked the fact that this hotel lacks a big lobby and has no big fancy hotel environment, wich made me feel like staying in an apartment.
We would definitely return to Hotel 373, and 100% recommend it.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ClusterOne13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin F, General Manager at U Hotel Fifth Avenue, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2014

Cluster,
Great observation about our lobby! Our hope is that you feel at home. Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2014

We loved the Hotel 373. Having stayed in quite a few upmarket, uptown hotels the last time we visited the City, this time round we opted for a more central location to allow us to visit the lower tip of Manhattan comfortably too. It is basically across the street from the Empire State Building - a short walk away from the peak of Fifth Avenue and a short taxi-ride to downtown Manhattan.

The hotel is a no-frills property, but it offers all you need, even though the room was a tad small - we could not complain for the price.

OK, there is no large, fancy lobby, and the entrance is shared with Starbucks, but it's a very small price to pay unless you have a habit of hanging out in lobbies (I don't). Would definitely return to Hotel 373, and recommend it wholeheartedly.

Room Tip: Ask for 907, you won't be disappointed - it's meant to be the best room in the property and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank iamrik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin F, General Manager at U Hotel Fifth Avenue, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2014

Rick,
Thanks so much for hitting all of our strong point! We really appreciate your kind words and we hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2014

This hotel has a great location. It's located near by lots of shopping opportunities, and the hotel got a deal with the deli in the next door buliding. This gives you free breakfast each day (bagel and a juice), which is okay. The staff was fine, and the room were clean and cozy. The only thing which could be a problem, is, if you're a light sleeper, you may have a problem falling asleep, due to traffic and road works.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sunnark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin F, General Manager at U Hotel Fifth Avenue, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2014

Sunnark,
Thanks so much for your honest words. We are in the middle of the hub so it can get noisy but as you said the shopping makes up for it!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Chinatown
Hotel Richland New York
Hotel Richland New York
#292 of 471 in New York City
706 reviews
Midtown
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Fifth Avenue
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York ...
#266 of 471 in New York City
643 reviews
Flatiron Hotel
#380 of 471 in New York City
805 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
SoHo
Solita Soho Hotel
Solita Soho Hotel
#373 of 471 in New York City
485 reviews
The Evelyn
#283 of 471 in New York City
2,210 reviews
Midtown
HGU New York
HGU New York
#234 of 471 in New York City
237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to U Hotel Fifth Avenue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about U Hotel Fifth Avenue

Address: 373 5th Ave, New York City, NY 10016-3307
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Garment District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#193 Business Hotel in New York City
#198 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $103 - $358 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — U Hotel Fifth Avenue 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Deluxe boutique hotel on world-famous Fifth Avenue. The hotel features 70 queen-bedded rooms in a sleek contemporary design. We are located at 35th and Fifth Avenue. All rooms feature free WiFi, bathrobes, I-pod docks, on-site Starbucks. Across from the Empire State Building. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your U Hotel Fifth Avenue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
373 Hotel New York City
Hotel 373 Fifth Avenue
Hotel 373 New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing