We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will DEF Be Booking Again”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel 373 Fifth Avenue
Ranked #299 of 466 Hotels in New York City
Greenock, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Will DEF Be Booking Again”
Reviewed October 9, 2012

Stayed in this hotel in November 2010 and absolutly loved it !!

Rooms are tiny but you can't even complain that much because the location of the hotel is fabulous !!!! Beds are comfy, bathrooms an ok size ..... cleaned everyday and hotel was spotless !

Our room was on the 5th floor and had a marvellous view of the Empire State Building ! The starbucks is great, especially for the early morning caffeine before a long day exploring.

We visited the ESB the day we arrived around 1pm and we queued for about an hour - next time we go, we'll visit early morning as it was always quiet.

The bus tours are a must - book the 3 days and use to get your bearings, we were never off it aha.

Sex and the City tour was great, went to Magnolia Bakery which has the most amazing cupcakes i have ever tasted. Also stopped in at Steves bar for a cosmopolitan ot 2 ;)

We were going to book into The Plaza for tea and scones but didnt have time to do everything, next time its a must.

Hoping to go back to NY next year if not the year after - and will definatly book 373 again ! Staff were really nice, location is fabulous - all in all a great first time visit to NYC.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SSCB1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gdesoiza, General Manager at Hotel 373 Fifth Avenue, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Wow Steph! You really had a good time and made some excellent suggestions for others in your review. I agree that a bus tour is a must and getting to the Empires State building early in the morning is the best! We're really happy to hear that you would return to us again. Please contact me personally when you do.
Gary DeSoiza, General Manager
gm@hotel373.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,060 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    387
    443
    147
    46
    37
See reviews for
87
516
126
151
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Moscow City, Russia
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights and it was the perfect starting point for exploring Manhatten. You simply have all main city attractions in a short walking distance which is great! And if you want you can choose a room with a Empire State bld view. Rooms are really tiny, but clean. There is no lobby, but you have a Starbucks instead and a lots of cafe in a close vicinity. Bed was not large but comfy. The only real flaw is a huge A/C unit right inside the room. It takes a lot of space (and your remember i said "tiny room"?) and produce some noise but if you want a place to sleep in the heart of Manhatten this hotel is a good option. Will defenetely consider it for our next NY visit.

Room Tip: Remember that 5th avenue is a noisy place (cars are driving all the night). Consider higher floors a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anton Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gdesoiza, General Manager at Hotel 373 Fifth Avenue, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Thank you Anton!
I agree that we're the perfect starting point for exploring Manhattan. You can get to everything easily from our door step and you can return to a brilliant and safe Avenue to stroll, shop, dine and enjoy nitelife.
Please do consider us again, when you return to NYC.
Gary DeSoiza, General Manager
gm@hotel373.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2012

Reading all the reviews and especially the responses from Gary ,The General Manager,makes me really look forward to staying at this very fine hotel .As you can see, I haven't stayed here yet but am so Impressed with the GM responses and reviews.See you in November!

Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Bobby T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gdesoiza, General Manager at Hotel 373 Fifth Avenue, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Bobby T! I can't believe I'm responding to your posting so late. I really appreciate your comments about my responses. I feel like I may have disapointed you now and I didn't get the chance to meet you. The fall season was very hectic and as you can see, I'm just catching up on it now.
Please contact me at the email below and let's talk about your stay at 373. I really hope we met your expectations.
Gary Desoiza, General Manager
gm@hotel373.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2012

This hotel gets a 4/5 from me even though it should address a few issues because relative to your alternatives in the area it is one of the best choices in it's price range in Manhattan
Location: Fantastic. One block from Empire state, 10 minute walk to many major attractions including Times Square, Central Statioin, Penn station.
Design lobby: very small, however half of it is a starbucks which is brilliantRoom color & style: ok, very small, would say to small for 2 but I was alone. Free wifi. 2 free bottles of water, free coffee.
Reception: very helpful. I checked in very late and my room keys were ready for me to go.
Bed: Bed was good, pillows soso.
Desk: none, only micro desk on a chair. Was useable with a laptop though
Internet: free,Wifi speed was adequate. Could be better
Airco: pretty good. Good cooling power, constant fan. Slightly annoying compressor that kept turning on and off infrequently.
Curtains: bad. Just blinds and when it's light outside, it's light inside. I hate this as it wakes me up way to early.
Noise: pretty low for in a city.
Shower: good enough. Temperature constant. Could be a bit more generous with quantity of water
Soap: fine. Quantity a bit low, on day 2 my shampoo was not replace
TV: plenty of channels, good image quality.
Minibar: n/a
Restaurant: none but plenty good food in the area
Repeat visit: Yes. Good value for price, potentially best option in Manhattan for me.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelisMyMiddleNeme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gdesoiza, General Manager at Hotel 373 Fifth Avenue, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Thanks for you comments Travel! I appreciate your thinking that we're perfect for business and that we're the best option for you. You should definitely contact me and stay in touch. We have rooms with full desks and we can so something about those window shades. I just have to get my maintenance guy on it. If you come to New York often, we have loyalty rate programs.
Gary DeSoiza, General Manager
gm@hotel373.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2012

As several other reviewers have stated, the rooms are a bit on the small side but other than this we had no complaints whatsoever. The location of the hotel is excellent with the empire state building being just across the road and lots of other attractions easily within walking distance providing you are reasonably fit. There is also a subway station only a 5 minute walk away.
The hotel itself is very clean and the rooms are visited every day. All the staff we encountered were friendly and helpful and the rooms amenities were excellent. All told we would have no hesitation recommending this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CarolHilton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gdesoiza, General Manager at Hotel 373 Fifth Avenue, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Thank You Carol! I really appreciate your outstanding review of us.
Your recommendation means a great deal! My staff will be proud to hear that you found them helpful and friendly. I know that this is thier intention. It's great to be recognized.
Please contact me personally; whenever you or yours return to NYC.
Gary DeSoiza, General Manager
gm@hotel373.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2012

We were there last Christmas and enjoyed every piece of it. Yes, the rooms were small but I didn't care since the location was great. It was right next to the Empire State Building. The price very reasonable for a location like this! Would go there again.

Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Necati K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gdesoiza, General Manager at Hotel 373 Fifth Avenue, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Thanks Necati! I hope that you are enjoying this Holiday Season as much as you enjoyed the last with us. Please contact me when you return to NYC. I really appreciate you taking the time to review us so favorably and remembering us so fondly.
Gary DeSoiza, General Manager
gm@hotel373.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, New Hampshire
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2012

We were in the city for a wedding. The bride and groom recommended this hotel with their invitation. We booked it sight unseen. What a lovely surprise! We dropped off our bags early and hit the sights. Its location right next to the Empire State Building was so convenient to Times Square, the subway, and the wedding, of course. We made it back from our Broadway matinee within 10 minutes. We were pleasantly surprised to find that our bags had been delivered to our room before we arrived. The front desk staff was remarkably friendly and helpful - especially for NYC. The room was tiny, but well laid out and well equipped. It was nicely decorated, maintained and very clean. We had a great night's sleep there. We would definitely stay there again on our next visit to the Big Apple!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dfries10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gdesoiza, General Manager at Hotel 373 Fifth Avenue, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Thank you dfries10,
I'm very happy to hear that we fulfilled the bride and grooms wishes and provided you with comfort and service. New Hampshire is not that far away. So we will expect you to come back again soon. Please feel free to contact me personally and I'll see what I can do to put you in a slightly bigger room.
Gary DeSoiza, General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Hotel Stanford
Hotel Stanford
#307 of 466 in New York City
1,584 reviews
Midtown
Seton Hotel
Seton Hotel
#196 of 466 in New York City
788 reviews
Midtown
Pod 39 Hotel
Pod 39 Hotel
#195 of 466 in New York City
3,291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Wolcott Hotel
Wolcott Hotel
#242 of 466 in New York City
2,300 reviews
Midtown
Best Western Premier Herald Square
Midtown
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Fifth Avenue
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York ...
#210 of 466 in New York City
608 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel 373 Fifth Avenue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 373 Fifth Avenue

Property: Hotel 373 Fifth Avenue
Address: 373 5th Ave, New York City, NY 10016-3307
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Garment District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#195 Business Hotel in New York City
#200 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#237 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel 373 Fifth Avenue 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Deluxe boutique hotel on world-famous Fifth Avenue. The hotel features 70 queen-bedded rooms in a sleek contemporary design. We are located at 35th and Fifth Avenue. All rooms feature free WiFi, bathrobes, I-pod docks, on-site Starbucks. Across from the Empire State Building. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel 373 Fifth Avenue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
373 Hotel New York City
Hotel 373 New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing