We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central location, small spaces”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel 373 Fifth Avenue
Ranked #297 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Central location, small spaces”
Reviewed September 4, 2012

As many others have mentioned, the rooms are small but the location is central to mid-town Manhattan! This is perfect for the individual or couple visiting sites like Central Park, the Empire State Building or Herold Square.

However, my husband and I found ourselves down in Union Square, Soho and the East Village on quite a few occasions. As a result, we walked A LOT. It was fine since we're pretty active and we enjoyed the exercise!

Overall, this was a good choice and I would recommend it to others looking for great mid-town spot to crash for a couple nights.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jaya R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gdesoiza, General Manager at Hotel 373 Fifth Avenue, responded to this review, September 9, 2012
Thank you Jaya R,
We really appreciate the great things that you had to say about Hotel 373 Fifth Avenue. Union Square is a really quick subway ride, using either the west side N or R Subway line or the East Side #6 Subway for next time. Otherwise feel free to contact me personally and I can recommend properties in an area that you're going to spend most of your time. We (Hersha Hotels) have many sister properties all over NYC.
Gary Mark DeSoiza, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,053 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    385
    440
    146
    46
    36
See reviews for
87
513
125
149
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 2, 2012 via mobile

I read loads and loads of reviews from different places around Manhattan before I have decided and I must say my pick was perfect. This small cosy hotel is located at the very centre of everything. Empire State Building just rises above and was visible from my room. The noise from the street was part of all that made it perfect. It's New York City after all.
The lobby is technically just a check in desk,but that was fine by me. Starbucks coffee shop just next door if you feel the need to sit and do nothing out of your room. I didn't spent much time in the hotel itself,but I must say the beds are very comfortable and clean. Maybe a bit too short for taller people though. Bathroom doesn't have bath just a shower,but it was fresh and clean.
The staff was fantastic!!!
As I was traveling solo I was a bit nervous about my walks around and I asked the girl at the desk few questions. She explained to me almost all I had to know with a huge smile on her face. As well I needed to print out my return ticket and it was done with no problem free of charge.
Next time when I'm here I will definitely stay in Hotel 373 ..... again.



Macy's - a block away - 10min max
Times square - few blocks away - 15-20 min max
Empire State Building - less than 100m - 5 min max
Radio City Music Hall - about 20 min

I personally walked everywhere and I loved it. Even to Brooklyn Bridge ! Just keep in mind it's good bit of a walk to there !!

Helpful?
1 Thank kateqp
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
gdesoiza, General Manager at Hotel 373 Fifth Avenue, responded to this review, September 9, 2012
Wow!
This review was truly wonderful. It's wonderful to read something from and individual that has such a positive outlook, seeks adventure and appreciates the intrinsic.
We're glad that you picked us after reading "loads and loads of reviews". We want prospective guests to know what to expect when they get to Hotel 373 Fifth Avenue.
Thanks for appreciating our cleanliness, our staff and our location.
Please visit us again and feel free to contact me personally.
Gary Mark DeSoiza, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Calne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2012

Right where you need to be in NYC. Rooms are small but clean and comfortable. No frills NYC hotel perfect for your weekend sight seeing. We were on the 10th floor with only one lift it could be a little slow getting up and down sometimes. Would still recommend.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Ross A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gdesoiza, General Manager at Hotel 373 Fifth Avenue, responded to this review, September 9, 2012
Thank you Ross A!
I love your description of Hotel 373 Fifth Avenue. "Small but perfectly formed" and "Right where you need to be in NYC" really sums us up. We do our best to provide the clean, comfortable rooms that you experienced and we our best to provide friendly, efficient and knowledgable service. We provide only complimentary breakfast, complimentary bottled water, complimentary in room coffee/tea, complimentary High Speed Internet and a discounted daily Ambassador Pass to New York Sports Club ($10 around the corner) in terms of frills, but with a Full Service Starbucks in our lobby and almost every cuisine or type of bar/lounge within a block or two: We agree that we are the "...NYC hotel perfect for weekend sightseeing".
Please visit us again and contact me personally when you do.
Sincerely,
Gary Mark DeSoiza, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittstown, New Jersey
Level Contributor
73 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2012

This is the tiniest room that I have ever stayed in, by some margin. And the bathroom was commensurately compact (without a bath cubicle or tub - so after a bath, the floor was all quite a mess, and I could step in to it only after room service restored it later that day).

Notwithstanding its excellent location in midtown Manhattan, I could not bear to stay in it, and I was glad to be out of the hotel after the 2 nights that my office had already paid for.

For my next visit to NY, I asked my office to find me a larger and better room even if not so well located, and to my surprise, they found me St Giles Court, which was an excellent, spacious, modern room in as central a location. And I understand from my office admin, priced in the same ballpark as 373, so I know where I am staying on my future trips.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank IndianBirder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gdesoiza, General Manager at Hotel 373 Fifth Avenue, responded to this review, September 9, 2012
Dear IndianBirder,
I'm very sorry that Hotel 373 Fifth Avenue did not meet your needs and preferences. Our rooms are often described as small, cozy, and cute in our Trip Advisor reviews. I only wish that your office's admin was aware or had taken the opportunity to reference Trip Advisor; prior to making your reservation. There are pro's and con's to every hotel property in New York City. Most of our guests enjoy our proximity (one block) from both eastside and westside subway lines, being on Fifth Avenue, and being one block from the Empire State Building, Macy's Herald Square/34th Street. Regrettably, there are some tradeoffs; especially if you are planning to spend a lot of time in your room.
Every review helps our future guests choose the right place for themselves and I sincerely thank you for your business and your review.
Gary Mark DeSoiza, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morocco
Level Contributor
28 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2012

My wife, my kid and myself stayed at this hotel for two nights. The location is great and the empire state buiding is just in front. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The rooms are very clean but also very small. I higly recommend this hotel if you are alone just because of the size of the bed.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Najib_EM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gdesoiza, General Manager at Hotel 373 Fifth Avenue, responded to this review, September 9, 2012
Thank you Najib_EM!
I really appreciate the review that you gave our property, in spite of the difficulty of sharing one of our single bedded rooms with your wife and small child. Hotel 373 Fifth Avenue is know for it's cozy, cute, clean rooms, but we're only able to offer the choice of a single full, single queen or single king mattress. Please feel free to contact me personally if you return to New York City in the future. I would be happy to recommend sister properties that have more room and bedding choices.
Sincerely,
Gary Mark DeSoiza, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sutton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed August 24, 2012

My husband and I stayed in this hotel during our trip to New York. The hotel i in an great location: we could walk to most places! The hotel staff were always helpful and very friendly. The room was small, but the view of the Empire State Building and the cleanliness more than made up for it.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louise S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gdesoiza, General Manager at Hotel 373 Fifth Avenue, responded to this review, September 9, 2012
Dear Louise S,
We're so happy that you enjoyed yourselves with us. I'm happy to hear that you found us helpful, friendly, and clean. Many of our rooms do have wonderful views of the Empire State Building. It's exactly one block away from us. Our rooms are often considered to be small (cozy, cute, etc), but we're happy that your experience was great!
Please feel free to contact me personally, should you return to NYC.
Gary Mark DeSoiza, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2012

This is a compact hotel and the location is absolutely stunning. An easy walk from Penn station, and then no problem getting to local sights. Beat all the queues for the Empire State! also found an excellent local steak house.

There is no lobby, or facilities, as such - but that doesn't really matter. My only problem was that, unlike some other reviewers I got unlucky with my room - 3rd floor overlooking 5th avenue. You get to notice that New York never sleeps. Get a room higher up, and facing 35th, and I guess you'll be OK?

Room Tip: Try and avoid a room on the lower floor facing 5th Avenue.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Major_Cholmondeley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gdesoiza, General Manager at Hotel 373 Fifth Avenue, responded to this review, September 9, 2012
Thank you Major Cholmondel!
Our property's location is truly ideal to get around town from and is a great value. I'm sorry to hear that you felt unlucky about your room assignment. Due to our properties architecture many of our rooms are subjected to noise from Fifth Avenue. As an informed and experienced guest, I hope that you will return to us and highlight your need (at the time of your reservation) for a room away from Fifth Avenue. The Queen and King bedded rooms are farther away. The only sacrifice of having a room away from the avenue is the loss of an Empire State building view. Please reserve your room directly with the hotel and discuss our room type availabilty. We will do our best to accomodate you as a loyal guest in the future.
Feel free to contact me personally.
Gary Mark DeSoiza, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Seton Hotel
Seton Hotel
#193 of 468 in New York City
781 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Stanford
Hotel Stanford
#313 of 468 in New York City
1,572 reviews
Midtown
Pod 39 Hotel
Pod 39 Hotel
#191 of 468 in New York City
3,264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Best Western Premier Herald Square
Best Western Premier Herald Squa...
#100 of 468 in New York City
1,669 reviews
Midtown
Wolcott Hotel
Wolcott Hotel
#247 of 468 in New York City
2,280 reviews
Chinatown
The Leon Hotel
The Leon Hotel
#213 of 468 in New York City
379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel 373 Fifth Avenue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 373 Fifth Avenue

Property: Hotel 373 Fifth Avenue
Address: 373 5th Ave, New York City, NY 10016-3307
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Garment District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#197 Business Hotel in New York City
#202 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#240 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel 373 Fifth Avenue 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Deluxe boutique hotel on world-famous Fifth Avenue. The hotel features 70 queen-bedded rooms in a sleek contemporary design. We are located at 35th and Fifth Avenue. All rooms feature free WiFi, bathrobes, I-pod docks, on-site Starbucks. Across from the Empire State Building. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelPower, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel 373 Fifth Avenue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
373 Hotel New York City
Hotel 373 New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing