We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“You'll never want to leave”
other travelers have booked this property
Your hideaway in the city.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Your hideaway in the city.
Sidewalk view looking west. Quiet tree-lined historic block.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
16 reviews
Your hideaway in the city.
Sidewalk view looking west.
Quiet tree-lined historic block.
Entry.
Come on in!
Building entry, just outside your apartment door.
Building entry foyer.
Entry foyer and your apartment doors.
Living Room.
Living room gets plenty of sunlight.
Living Room has 12' ceilings.
iPod player has iPod with jazz and blues playlist.
A place to remember.
Super comfortable queen size fold out leather sofa bed.
42' swing out high def TV.
Need some dental work?
View from living room to foyer.
Living Room, facing kitchen.
Dining area.
Eat in!
Dining room table.
Dining area, next to kitchen.
Cook, dine, read, listen.
Dining area, kitchen, bookcase.
Thompson triplets guard the place.
Fully equipped kitchen.
Undercounter lights in kitchen.
Kitchen, looking towards living room.
View from refrigerator.
Dishwasher, microwave, blender, toaster, coffeemaker
Kitchen, look towards bedroom.
Kitchen/Bedroom view.
Private rear bedroom.
Art deco armoire.
12' ceilings and fireplace.
A quiet respite.
Super cozy.
Cool off with vintage wall fan.
View towards bathroom.
Memory foam mattress.
The feel of luxury.
Bedroom decorative fireplace.
View south from bedroom.
Bathroom
All white bathroom with claw foot bathtub.
Bathroom with hair dryer, fan, bath body soap, shampoo, hair spray, room spray and makeup wipes.
Washer/dryer outside of bathroom.
Washing machine comes with washing pods.
Summertime view from bedroom.
Back yard available to all.
Good weather? Dine outside!
Backyard view of building.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
New York City, New York

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 16 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
English first
Italian first
Portuguese first
Any
English first
Dora B
Oswestry, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“You'll never want to leave”
Reviewed February 13, 2016 for a stay in January 2016
2
people found this review helpful

First let me say that my love for New York is indescribable. This was my 8th yearly visit, and each year I try to stay in a different neighborhood so that the experience is something new every time. I have always stayed in an apartment as I love the idea of a place that makes me feel like I live in New York, not staying as a guest. The Harlem Hideaway parlor apartment has captured my heart and I am hopelessly smitten with everything about it. The location is perfect. Just a few short blocks away from the northernmost entrance to Central Park, and a mere three blocks from the subway. The red line 2 or 3 trains (express) can get you to Times Square in 16 minutes. Don't worry about anything you may have heard about Harlem being a rough neighborhood. It's not. People are friendly, and Harlem is really becoming very 'gentrified' and trendy. There are loads of bars and restaurants nearby, a few supermarkets and delis for fresh food, an excellent wine store about 100 meters away. The apartment itself is on the ground floor of a quintessential New York brownstone building, so you get to feel like Carrie on Sex and The City. Dennis, the owner is the nicest, most accommodating landlords I have met on my extensive travels, and he will give you the absolute royal treatment from the moment you enter the building, making you feel as though you are the most important person ever to have stayed there. He lives upstairs and is always available if you need anything at all. The eclectic and delightful decor inside reflects his work as a designer, and the photographs of the apartment are more than true...if anything not doing it justice. It's fully equipped with everything you need to cook, rest or relax after a a big day in Gotham. The Museum of the City of New York to the east on 5th ave is within walking distance, as is the Riverside Church and Morningside Park to the west. Thanks Dennis, this is my new home in New York...thank you for everything and for the coming through on my special request for lots of snow. (The blizzard on 23rd/24th January was the 5th most intense in New York history!)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The relaxed atmosphere and wonderful location
Liked least: That I had to leave
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TerrigalB...
Gosford, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Tranquil”
Reviewed January 13, 2016 for a stay in December 2015
3
people found this review helpful

We loved our stay at Harlem Hideway Apartments. The unit was exactly how we pictured it. It was lovely & quiet and good to come home to after a busy day exploring downtown Manhattan. The subway was easily accessible and took no time to get around the city. Dennis was very pleasant and provided great information for local restaurants and attractions. Would definitley stay here again

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The tranquility
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
catherine...
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A wonderful place to stay while visiting New York!”
Reviewed December 5, 2015 for a stay in November 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We had a lovely time at Dennis' Harlem Hideaway. It really felt like we had found a home away from home in a unique area and a surprisingly peaceful tree lined street. Dennis was very welcoming and gave us lots of great tips for local restaurants and shops. We had a couple of great meals right in the neighbourhood. The local burger joint was delicious and the meal, hospitality and music at Billy's Black were a treat.

The subway was a few minutes walk away and the two lines took us right into the heart of the city, or down to the World Trade Center or Battery Park. Central Park was less than 10 minutes walk as well. We'd heartily recommend Harlem Hideaway!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The comfort of the apartment and warmth and friendliness of the host.
Liked least: More towel rails and a teapot would be appreciated;)
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abbysandm...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic location”
Reviewed September 10, 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We really enjoyed our time at the Harlem Hideaway Apartment, it was exactly as expected. The location is so close to all the subways and great restaraunts within walking distance. The apartment is clean, quiet and very private. I highly recomend, great neighbourhood to stay in.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wendy s
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“GREAT LOCATION TO EXPLORE NEW YORK”
Reviewed July 10, 2015 for a stay in June 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Stayed here with my husband, 25th June for a week and thoroughly enjoyed our experience.
Apartment is in the heart of Harlem, but only 2 blocks away from the subway station which gives access to all of the delights of New York. Was a little apprehensive about booking a private rental as have always stayed in hotels on previous holidays abroad, but after noting the high price and small square footage of many of the central New York hotels , decided to opt for this instead.
Dennis the landlord was there to greet us when we arrived and showed us around the apartment which was equipped with everything required and much more. Even had a washing machine and tumble drier which was a godsend and saved on a lot of dirty washing when returning back to the UK.
Apartment was lovely, plenty of space, lovely bedroom with good sized windows . giving an airy and open feel. It was great to return to in the evening after a long day sightseeing with very tired feet! The large screen TV was super with plenty of channels to watch including many films.
I can't recommend this highly enough and would say go and enjoy!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Felt like home
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megan W
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect Place in Manhattan”
Reviewed August 17, 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at Dennis's Parlor apartment for five nights this summer. Not only was the apartment fantastic, but Dennis was a super host. He thought of every detail, gave us lots of great tips and prepared for everything. The apartment has been restored with much of its original beauty and updated to suit our modern expectations. The whole place was beautifully decorated with the most magically comfortable bed! The shutters kept the apartment very dark in the morning light and there was new air conditioning installed which kept the place so comfortable. It is only a five minute walk from the subway and a couple stops away from everything. We would definitely recommend Dennis' place to anyone visiting New York City.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: It was stylish and comfortable. I could have stayed there for months!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LucBerlin
Berlin, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Everything you could expect”
Reviewed July 25, 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We could not have found a better apartement for our 9-night stay in NYC! Everything was exactly as described. The apartment is charming, calm and clean - the perfect "base" for exploring Manhatten. We would love to come back again, and will surely recommend the Harlem Hideaway Parlor Apartment to all our friends!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing