We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great hideaway in celebrity filled neighborhood”
Review of Hotel Hugo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hotel Hugo
Ranked #228 of 466 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
montclair, nj
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A great hideaway in celebrity filled neighborhood”
Reviewed July 22, 2014

This smartly designed hotel is a nice addition to the downtown hotel scene. For those of us that love nightlife, we are very familiar with this neck of the woods. Unfortunately most of my favorite debaucherous places have closed(remember don hills). But sway and the legendary ear inn are still open. West soho is where john Slattery of mad men lives and you can see him walking his dog sometimes at night. Lou reed lived here for 30 years before passing away. The rooms are small, but with great beds and linens. The bathrooms are large. Accommodating staff. The hotel's restaurant has delicious food . A nice place for a romantic randez-vous or a group celebration.
Will definitely return

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank metroscenenster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelHugoManagement, Director of Sales at Hotel Hugo, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your love of the area with us. It was always our first choice and we are proud to call it our home. And we never tire of hearing from people who love it as much as we do. I'm so glad to hear how much you enjoyed the hotel as well. And we look forward to your next visit.

Have a wonderful day,

George Kurth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,234 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    611
    341
    151
    76
    55
See reviews for
213
422
68
312
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mexico City, Mexico
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2014

Really nice rooms, great service and friendly staff. Jose, the doorman was very polite and reception also. Location was perfect for us out of the tourist crowd. It was clean but housekeeping was poor. They left used glasses in the room, and everything as it was. Literally they only changed towels and made the bed. When we came back at 6:00pm the room wasn`t even done. Other than housekeeping this hotel is perfect.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank REJACKSON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelHugoManagement, Director of Sales at Hotel Hugo, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Dear Guest,

I'm so pleased to hear how much you enjoyed your stay. I wanted to take a moment to apologize if our housekeeping was not performing to their usual standards. For this we have no excuse and sincerely apologize. We very much appreciate the feedback because it allows us to continually improve our guest experience. If there is anything we can do to make your stay more enjoyable in the future, please do not hesitate to ask.

Sincerely,
George Kurth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johor Bahru, Malaysia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed July 22, 2014

New small hotel across from UPS distribution center on the West side, maybe a bit too close to Holland tunnel entrance.
Nice decoration at the lobby and friendly personnel.Small room but confortable bed and linen.
Walking distance to Tribeca, Soho, Downtown.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank O W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelHugoManagement, Director of Sales at Hotel Hugo, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Dear Guest,

I just wanted to thank you for taking a moment to share some thoughts about your recent stay. We very much appreciate the feedback and look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Sincerely,
G. Kurth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sea Girt
1 review
Reviewed July 21, 2014

Great location! Walk to Pier 40, Soho shops and restaurants. Beautiful hotel with staff willing to go out of their way to make sure you are well cared for. Restaurant and bar were wonderful.
We're looking forward to a return visit!



  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Deborah P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelHugoManagement, Director of Sales at Hotel Hugo, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Hello Deborah,

Thank you so much for your kind words. I'm so pleased to hear that our staff made you feel so well cared for you. We couldn't ask for a greater compliment.

We very much look forward to your return visit.

Sincerely,
George Kurth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 21, 2014

Great hotel and restaurant. Rooms are very modern, new, and clean. The staff was very professional, friendly, and helpful. Great location near Soho and super easy to get to Holland tunnel. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Aaron H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelHugoManagement, Director of Sales at Hotel Hugo, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Hi Aaron,

I just wanted to quickly thank you for the great review. We very much appreciate the wonderful feedback. We hope to see you again very soon.

Sincerely,

George Kurth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Topanga
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 20, 2014

An overall enjoyable experience. Fantastic accomodations. Geographically desirable location. Amazing view of river from the room. I would recommend this hotel to all my friends. The staff was very friendly.


  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Salvatore T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelHugoManagement, Director of Sales at Hotel Hugo, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Good Afternoon,

I just wanted to thank you, Salvatore, for taking the time to share some thoughts about your recent stay with us. We very much appreciate the kind words. I also wanted to let you know that your recommendation is greatly appreciated. We hope to see you again very soon.

Sincerely,

George Kurth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
1 review
Reviewed July 20, 2014

for a "four star" hotel, the room had issues (bathroom related) which got resolved but with no effort to make "amends" for inconvenience (even after a post check out email to the hotel.) i expect more for the price they charge.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelHugoManagement, Director of Sales at Hotel Hugo, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Hi John,

Though I am pleased to hear that we were able to address the issue you mentioned in your review quickly, I wanted to take this time to apologize if we were in any way negligent in our making amends for the inconvenience, no matter how great or small. Obviously, this shortcoming on our end has left you feeling dissatisfied, and for that I am sorry. We would very much like the opportunity to make this up to you. If there is anything we can do for you on future visits or if you would like to discuss your recent stay in greater detail, please do not hesitate to contact me directly at gkurth@hotelhugony.com.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Manhattan
Courtyard New York Manhattan/SoHo
Courtyard New York Manhattan/SoH...
#195 of 466 in New York City
557 reviews
Manhattan
Arlo SoHo
Arlo SoHo
#66 of 466 in New York City
528 reviews
SoHo
SIXTY SoHo
SIXTY SoHo
#79 of 466 in New York City
873 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
SoHo
The James New York-SoHo
The James New York-SoHo
#164 of 466 in New York City
1,394 reviews
Manhattan
Four Points by Sheraton Manhattan SoHo Village
Four Points by Sheraton Manhatta...
#324 of 466 in New York City
930 reviews
SoHo
Soho Grand Hotel
Soho Grand Hotel
#167 of 466 in New York City
2,953 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Hugo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hugo

Property: Hotel Hugo
Address: 525 Greenwich St, New York City, NY 10013-1002
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #228 of 466 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Hugo 4.5*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked between SoHo and the Hudson, Hotel Hugo is a stylish and sophisticated newcomer in Manhattan's stylish SoHo neighborhood. Echoing the area's rich history and industrial vibe, Hotel Hugo exudes the contemporary luxury and bohemian chic that make Lower Manhattan a modern-day mecca for artists, publishers and design enthusiasts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Agoda, HotelsforEveryone, TravelUp, HotelPower, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Hotel Hugo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing